Mother's Day, Homesteading Style

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Happy Mother's Day to all the mommas out there!! I wanted to share the funny "about my mother" questionnaire that Pixie completed at preschool, because the Homesteaders will get a kick out of the uniquely homesteading event that is immortalized for posterity toward the end of it....

IMG_6892 copy.jpg
Chickens!! Also fitting the theme of Mother's Day homesteading style: flowers from the Husband in the form of a sprig of lilac picked off the massive bush behind the barn. So romantic :)

Transcribing for anyone who can't read what is written on it (Pixie's words are in bold):


"My mother's name is Sarah (last name). She is 36 years old and weighs about 12 pounds. My mom spends most of her time doing things like chores--put things up.

Her favorite TV show is America's Funniest Videos and her favorite food is cooked beans. [Note: neither statement is remotely true.] My mom likes to wear dresses. Her favorite thing to do with me is to go out and check the chickens. It bugs my mom when I hide instead of getting dressed.

My mom is always nervous. [Huh?] I wish my mom could do chores like Daddy. I show my mom I love her by cleaning up my toys. I like to help with the chicken with my mom because it has a sore bottom. I love my mom. She is always bringing us to school.


The story behind the chicken with a sore bottom.... When the Husband and Little Man drove up to visit the inlaws one weekend awhile back, Pixie and I were dealt an unpleasant surprise one day when we let the chickens out and saw that Ethel had a "prolapsed vent." (Don't google that if you are at all squeamish.) After my initial horrified and unbelieving reaction, I jumped on Google, and Pixie and I gathered the necessary supplies. I proceeded to doctor Ethel while Pixie intently watched. She wasn't grossed out at all, and insisted on handing me things and patting Ethel's towel-swaddled head. (There are times it wouldn't surprise me if she becomes a veterinarian, because animal ailments, and how to fix them, really intrigue her.)

When it happened again, several weeks later, I had a proud Momma moment: I was gathering supplies, and said aloud, "I already have the rubber gloves and paper towels out here in the barn, so I need to get warm water and an old towel from the house." Pixie exclaimed, "And the witch hazel!!" She remembered the thing I totally forgot. Isn't that the best kind of trusty helper and mini chicken mama? Well, Ethel had it happen yet again the week the kids did these questionnaires at school--hence, the incident was fresh in Pixie's mind!

Ethel is doing fine, by the way :)))

Quite the subject for Mother's Day, but it suits our life now, haha! This is my entry to @knowledge-seeker's weekly Homesteading Photography Contest! We don't have anything special planned for the day, but I'm happy to just hang out at home with my family <3

Happy Mother's Day!

Sort:  

The things that come out of the mouths of babes. So cute.

Little Man's was funnier in a way because he's more literal. His begins with "my mothers name is Mommy" and ends with "She is Mommy." ❤️

oh ...that is so precious. I just love it. I miss those moments. My son did remember to call me AND he called his grandmothers as well which I think is lovely.

Happy Mother’s Day! I wish I could be 12 lbs...well ok maybe not that light ;) Oh my goodness, a prolapsed vent?! I will not be googling that and I hope it’s something I won’t have to see in person. Eek! That is the only thing about having animals that makes me nervous. Glad you have a brave and awesome helper on your hands!

Oh, Little Man said I weighed 1 pound, haha! I'd love to lose 12 pounds but oh well, it ain't going to happen😂 Hopefully you don't have to deal with a chicken's "broken bottom" because it sure looks creepy!

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

I wish you a Happy Mother’s Day! Enjoy the time with your family. Thought it was a pretty creative task for the kids to fill in the blanks about their Mom. Wish you would write a post regarding prolapsed vent of a chicken. A good how to kind of post. 🐓🐓

If I wrote such a post I'd have to put a big "Warning! Graphic! TMI! Don't read if you're squeamish!" disclaimer on it. But if Ethel gets a "broken bottom" again maybe I just might do it!

It sounds like you had a very nice time with the family. When you live on a homestead, things like this can happen and you came prepared. I agree that you have a future vet in training on your hands. Haha! Great Job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10