My homestead guilty pleasure is also my Mom guilty pleasure: a DAY OFF!

IMG_6790.jpg
All photos are mine. Grab some coffee or milk or sweet tea, and a pretty cupcake, to enjoy with this post, shall we?

"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a quiet person in possession of a good moment of silence, must be in want of incessant conversation." (.5 SBD to whoever gets that reference first without googling it--honor system applies!)


"Stay at Home Moms don't get vacations"

I was rather scarce lately because the Husband went out of town on a golfing trip with a friend for nearly six days. I obviously wasn't going to advertise to the Internet that I was holding down the fort alone (praise God for watchdogs and the Second Amendment), and I obviously was a very busy woman while he was gone, so Steemit fell by the wayside a bit.

IMG_6498.jpg
Dinner and a movie = popcorn and Moana. The kids were clingy and seemed to need to just be up against me that evening.

Circling back to my opening quote, it is A Thing, I swear it is! that if there's just one person in the household who actually likes to be alone sometimes, and wants to be alone and quiet sometimes, every single other member of that household is inexorably attracted to their presence, and persistently desires their interaction, like demented moths to a light.

I should feel flattered by my popularity, and revel in being the nurturing, empowered woman around whom the household revolves, I know, I know. Normally I do! But after six days, my brain felt overloaded from the unrelenting onslaught of nonstop stimulation. The only time I got any peace to "just be," and actually think, was late at night, and you can only indulge in so many late nights before that takes a toll, too.

It definitely wasn't all bad, or bad at all really, just tiring. The upshot is that by some odd twist, having one less adult in the house makes life easier in a way, sort of in the "while the cat's away the mice will play" way. The kids don't care if I make pancakes three nights in a row, haha.

IMG_6710.jpg
Hanging out on the porch, after having eaten a lazy picnic-style dinner on the porch. See how I'm being watched?

The danged dogs drove me exponentially crazier than the kids ever did. Big Guy was freaked out that the Husband, the Love of His Life, had gone away, and made sure I knew it. He'd be lying near me and it would suddenly occur to him "OMG I have to tell her the Husband is gone!!" and begin his "HUH-HUH-HUH-HUH" heavy steam engine style panting, and if he could do it in my face while begging to be petted, all the better. So then of course the other two would be all "Oh! We're supposed to be panicking about something?! OMG OMG OMG ARE WE GETTING PETTED NOW?!?!" and leap up to create a wholesale panting and prancing tizzy. This happened many times a day, whenever they weren't staring at me, or milling around my feet and tripping me. (Generally, abruptly bellowing "DOGS!!!" serves to scatter them, but I try to use that sparingly, so as not to wear out its effectiveness.)

IMG_6483.jpg
These little pterodactyls have discovered the joy of kicking shavings into their water, when they aren't knocking it over.

The kids were quite good overall. They helped me out a lot, which felt like a wonderful luxury compared to past stints alone, in which I had to do absolutely everything for helpless infants. We had to have a recalibration talk at only one point, regarding paying attention to me. Unfortunately they have learned, whether at school or by figuring it out themselves, how to be obnoxious for the sake of it, so my usual long patience was sorely tested when they would get all wound up and then start competing to see who could be more aggravating--and apparently, who could first make Mommy lose her cool over something dumb.

Cracked fingertips and an Etsy custom order added the biggest layer of stress...but more about that on Monday!

At any rate, I took a mini vacation from the bigger house chores, and the kids and I overall had a nice time puttering around together. The Husband got home on Monday. By today, I was more than ready for a rare, and therefore hugely enjoyed, Mom's Day OUT!


Make your own vacation, where you are

IMG_6795.jpg
First, have another cupcake, appropriately named Sunshine Lemon, for making it this far.

Why OUT? Well, if I didn't leave the house, I would get sucked in to doing chores instead of actually taking a day off. The Husband originally said he wanted my help planting potatoes tonight--then changed his tune and insisted I not hurry home.

@borrowedearth started a "guilty pleasures, homestead style" topic (her post is here) and I have to say my biggest guilty pleasure is dual: Mom's Day OUT from both the family and homestead obligations. I feel a little guilty for wanting to abscond from my daily duties and the life I love, but at the same time, it feels so good to flit away for a short time and come back with my mind refreshed, ready to settle into the routine again. Some people just need to do that periodically, for their own mental health!

Today, therefore, the Husband and the kids planted the potatoes without me :)

I also like to go somewhere else, somewhere different, for a day out, for the "change of scene" effect @bboyady wrote about in a post about regaining perspective when you're feeling stressed:

The most best suggestion for you is go out and travel. Dont limit yourself at your own places. When you are going out to travel, you really will find out your life not too sucks at all and outside world still a lot of things for you to explore. Just go, whether near or far, as long as you going out, I surely you will know what I am saying, your perspective will surely be different and you will be more relax than before.

Well, when you can't travel far, traveling somewhere different close at hand will do just as nicely, to have the same effect. Today, I drove an hour away to the quilt shop--I haven't been there since January or February. It's the greatest color therapy, craft therapy, and oh glorious quietness therapy. Spending a couple hours just soaking in beautiful colors and patterns in silence...it resettled my mind into a much happier place!

IMG_6785.jpg
Appliqué on a wall hanging quilt....now that is impressive work, rather beyond my level.

Of course, I was tempted beyond resistance, and had to wanted to buy unnecessary fabric to expand my stash fuel my obsession. I may have done so ;)))

I enjoyed a very, VERY leisurely lunch at a local pizzeria while out and about. I reveled in being responsible for only Me, Myself, and I, and taking as long as I liked to eat. In fact, I dragged it out, just because I could.

IMG_6782.jpg
Pizza and sweet tea. I'm really living it up!

On the way home, I got off the exit for the town near ours, and went to a cute little bakery I've always wanted to check out, just so I could eat a cupcake!

IMG_6787.jpg
How to choose???

I also stopped at the Mennonite-owned general store for a pint of strawberries, which was supposed to be for my morning smoothies. Instead, I indulged in the most guilty pleasure ever of eating them while driving, and pitching the tops out the window along our #countryroads. Living on the edge, I tell ya!

IMG_6798.jpg
I may have gone a bit overboard. The Husband polished off the rest!

It felt so good to have had a nice chunk of "Me Time" off today to be a bit selfish. I came home at dinnertime with extra cupcakes for the Husband and kiddos, and then went forth to the garden and learned to use the weedeater for the first time in my life. I might post about it, because I haven't seen the Husband laugh like that in years....

Sort:  

You are a smooth and clever author, I often laugh at the situations you are faced with. The DOGS starring at you, like they just realized your husband is not there. How familiar it is.

I am so glad you had some time to get out and enjoy some time for yourself. It does look decadent and the cupcakes are lovely. 🐓🐓

Why thank you! I appreciate that a lot! Haha at DOGS...they were indeed DOGS!! :)))

Pizza...alone? And cupcakes? You are living the dream.

Just a little break close to home does the trick for me too :)

Pizza, alone! felt so decadent. It was the cheatingest of diet "cheat days"! :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T03:41:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 196.60/200.00
Total Photos: 31
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Sweet. "Me time" is never selfish though - makes you so much kinder, productive and easy to be around!! Consider it an essential service you are obligated to provide to the family!! As an entrepreneurial mom living above mu biz in the same building, I HEAR YOU about the challenges of downtime. I am inspired to create some later today. :)

I like your way of looking at it! I guess that's where the "guilty" aspect comes in and makes you feel selfish for running off, after you get used to your job in life being taking care of everyone else.

Did you get some time off for yourself today, too?

I DID!! Unplanned... haha... I had a whiskey on ice at 5.30pm to celebrate a new client, and then suddenly felt SO EARTH-SHATTERINGLY TIRED that I lay down on the sofa and slept for 2 hours solid. Haha.... I could create more "me time" by way of a pre-emptive strike so the fatigue isn't so brutal next time. :)

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I love everything about this post.

2nd amendment,! Yeah, baby! Just one reason why we left California!

Pizza with pineapple? Yes, please!!

Strawberries on the road! My daughter is allergic so I don't eat them around her, though they are in the garden, but her siblings usually eat those in hiding, lol!

Cupcakes! Oh my word, that Sunshine cupcake? Mmm....

I'm living vicariously through you right now, lol! 😍

Are we food sisters? LOL😋 I'll almost always pick lemon if it's an option, unless I'm particularly craving chocolate. And our house is a mini arsenal! Glad you enjoyed the post :)))

Wow, thank you for mentioning me. I am glad i inspire you a bit. I truly feel you for being full time mother and wife. Its not easy and a lot of struggle u need to go through. But i can surely know you can go through it.

All the best and great to know you here. Cheers..

Thanks, and thank you! It was what I needed to read, when I needed to read it ;)

This is wonderful! I'm not sure which part I like best, the fabric store or the pizza. There is something so relaxing being in a fabric store. Touching all of the beautiful fabrics and textures. Then of course it's hard to choose which fabric you "have to have" for your next "project" And then, "personal" pizza. Gee. I remember the first time I went into the grocery to get groceries for myself ( when the kids were grown and the hubby was out of town )and I thought to my self, hmmmm what do I want to buy? I don't know, I always buy for them lol. Pretty crazy being a mom. Amazingly wonderful, but it does take all of you. Great to see you survived!

Oh, YES, the textures!! It's why I avoid buying fabric online--it has to pass the "nice to touch" test. I think only a fellow seamstress can relate to literally hugging a bolt of especially silky smooth cotton😂

I absolutely love this! ♥

Feels so good to clear some of the "noise" clutter out of my brain😉

Thanks for sharing your Guilty Pleasure and for the mention and link!

Back when I wore my mom hat I ran away twice a year to a cabin for the weekend
..just me and a dog....quiet off grid woods time...
...and once I was done with those mom years I made it my life!! Now I struggle to find that quiet time again... But with no desire to leave just transcend...

You're welcome! It was a great idea that you invented there😃 Ohhhh, running off to a cabin sounds glorious. I'm actually beginning to brainstorm a similar getaway for myself later on this summer...it's giving me something to look forward to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85