Homesteading With Parakeet: How Hard it is to Learn about Feeding Pattern

in #homesteading6 years ago

If you have any type of pet bird at home. I am sure you can understand that they are supposed to be raised with a pattern. And if you don't follow that pattern, then you may notice that the bird is likely to have an issue with health. So you have one of the interesting time around them as you learn about them. And start to take care of them. I think I am learning a lot from this type of the approach.

Why I think feeding pattern is an Issue?

I kept lovebirds aka parakeets and they used to have random feeding pattern. And this was when they were in group of 5 and more. Then one day I had to keep only one and rest were gone due to some natural cycle of life. As you can see keeping one parakeet is not that easy. Here they are focused on you and they keep an eye on what you do and what they want you to do. They ask for food some of the times and also they demand water or so. I had those days where essential parakeet food was not in my home. And I had to go in the market and collect some till then I was keeping them on carrot and the corn.

What not to feed?

There are type of food that you can give and some of the food that needs to be excluded. Like say dairy products, chocolate and few vegetables. Those are strictly no in that case.I think lot of budgies are dying due to people not feeding them the right things and keeping them on wrong things. Also parakeet Teflon toxicity is another health issue to watch out. Just keeping them on seeds is not a good idea either. So on that note you can see that feeding pattern is a bit tricky to understand.

budgerigars-659249_1920.jpg

Image Credit: Greentigrate

That being said, I think parakeet feeding pattern is something is harder to learn. I have spent this weekend learning about the parakeet.

I hope you like some of these ideas. Do let me know in the comments if you like some of them.

Rydhi
xox



Sort:  

This post has received a 1.33 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @myscrible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74