A "VIKING FUNERAL" ON THE HOMESTEAD - WHAT IT IS AND WHY WE DO IT

in #homesteading5 years ago

This can be hard, but it's one of the better ways to deal with it.


Periodically, animals can be lost on the homestead. When illness sets in, a quarantine is best, but if the animal dies, what should you do with the body?

After losing one of our rams recently, I decided to give him a "viking funeral." Burning the body, especially with hot-burning wood like cedar, can completely eliminate the entire animal. This cannot only help keep the rest of your herd or flock safe, but it can also help prevent scavengers. The same technique can also be used on animal carcasses after harvesting wild game or livestock.

VIKING FUNERAL VLOG

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-viking-funeral

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Shit happens...

I don't like losing animals but if they die of unknown causes it is better to give them a Viking Funeral. My grandfather taught us how to do this too.

Yeah man. I always hate to see them die, and when they do you have to do something with them. Nice one!

Thanks man! I hope you are well!

Sad to lose an animal. Safe and respectful way to say goodbye.

Yeah, it was a nice goodbye, considering the situation

I hear that when sheep they get sick they can die rather quickly without much warning.

Thanks for the tip @papa-pepper. Something to consider in the future.

You're welcome, hope it is info you never need!

It kind of solves the problem of what the heck to do in the winter, too.

Good technique, the plague does not expand

Good call. The coyotes keep digging up my quail that have passed away. This is more honorable and safe for the other animals too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Say goodbye to the quail with a campfire.

That would be the safest way to prevent the virus to spread further.

Posted using Partiko Android

I learn something new today.
Good deed and respect for all creatures.
Keep on postin'

Thanks man. I had to learn the hard way, but now you know!

Very logical and respectful, @papa-pepper.

I love the practicality of all of this. You can't eat it, you can't really dispose of it without creating other unwanted issues, so the best way is to eliminate it entirely.

I did learn that cedar burns hotter than other wood. I did not know that, since cedar is a wood that is generally sought after for its appearance and aroma.

I know what parts of the house I probably should avoid if it were to ever catch on fire. Bedroom closets. Good to know. :)

Thanks man. Glad that you appreciated it.

So, now you've got me thinking about just what did kill the ram, and whether or not it may have infected other animals. And if not, why not? And what kind of preventive things can you do?

And when you say quarantine, there must be a fenced off area, corral, paddock, where you can isolate the animal? Is that a fair distance away from the rest of the animals, not to mention the house?

And just how likely is something that killed the ram to be harmful to humans? I mean, I agree it's safer not to eat it when you don't know what it is. I'm wondering along the lines of a milder strain of it being in the other animals which may be stronger or something where they don't die or show the same symptoms.

Seems like all kinds of possibilities here, but somehow you're able to keep them in check or mitigate the risk beyond the Viking Funeral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73