"FREE-RANGING" GOATS TO HELP CARE FOR THOSE HARD TO REACH PLACES

in #homesteading6 years ago

I like risky experiments!


Sometimes you just don't know until you try. When you try, you only regret it sometimes. After briefly calculating the risk verses the potential benefits, I went for it this time, mostly because I had a three year old to help.

"FREE-RANGE" GOAT VIDEO

THREE YEAR OLD SHEPHERDESS AT WORK!

IMG_4702.JPG

That's "Sweet-Pepper" there, the youngest girl of the @little-peppers. While the older children were doing some schoolwork, this little cutie was helping me. I had a ton going on down on the land, but I noticed that all sorts of undesirable plants were growing up next to the driveway. Since goats eats weeds and we've got goats, I got to thinking.

At first we jut released the four bucks; Crockett, King, Of and The. They are the tamer ones and I figured that Sweet-Pepper could keep a good enough eye on them. Sure enough, it went pretty well. Here are a few more photos.

After that small success, we let the girls out; Daisy, Wild, and Bonita. These ones are a little more rambunctious, but I went for it anyway. Thankfully, after a while of grazing, we were able to get them all back in the pen.

I enjoy things like this. First off, it allows our animals to get some free snacks while doing some work. Also, it lets even the smaller of the @little-peppers enjoy having some responsibility while accomplishing a worthwhile task. This went very well, I was able to get other things done, some unwanted plants got mowed back, and Sweet-Pepper had a great time working the animals. Eventually we will have more fences and such, but for now we make do and having fun doing it!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-goats-doing-yard-maintenance-outside-the-pen

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Haha, Sweet Pepper did great!

I remember when we had milk goats. We would take them out twice a day to eat the weeds. We had long leads for them. Usually they behaved. But once or twice they got spooked and took off running. They were too strong for us. We didn't lose them though, they came back when my dad (@em3) went out.

They would eat poison ivy, green briar and any tree that had low branches. And then they made it into great milk!
|/,,

you are a shepherd? wow .... i like that

My three year old is!

What ? it has been a long time ago?... cool 😁

I am very proud of @papa-pepper, you taught them since childhood and they will live independently and soon.
they are all very diligent children, they always help you in your daily life.
They are really great kids like you @papa-pepper.
Success is always for you and for all of them, greetings from me @jasonmunapasee from Aceh for all of them, hopefully healthy.

So cute, papa. She's getting some good experience and learning from one of the best. Thanks for sharing, man

Yeah, we live and learn, with an emphasis on both!

couldn't agree more with @krytonika, a 3 yr old Shepardess! that is priceless. Like someone else said, you kids will be able to handle anything when they grow up, it's amazing. thanks for the great photos.

Thanks man! You have no idea how much the encouragement means to us!

wow... great job dear @papa-pepper. I like your awesome and amazing project. I think you are fully prepared about this project. I hope you will be success.
just keep it up...
best of luck

Great experiment, @papa-pepper! It's obvious Sweet-Pepper loved being in charge of all the grazing goats!

Here in Jamaica many use goats to weed and 'mow' high grass, especially out of the two main cities. As you said, free natural food for them, they get to 'work' and help you and Sweet-Pepper enjoys knowing she helped her Papa finish his hard work.

Thanks for sharing. I haven't petted nor had goats around for awhile, so it was great to see these fairly up close through your pictures.

Wow ...its actually very entertaining and keeps you so busy . i will no forget to commend your little peper ...that girl is super brave ,why i said this is because its hard to see a little girl having that courage to come near to any animal but was as she was properly ,she deserve pizza and Ice cream.... Lol.
Its really good to tell a child when he or she is still young the importance of being productive... Nice one @papa-pepper

Thank you! Our little ones are great helpers indeed!

Yeah you can say that again ... And before I forget she's very pretty and will make a very beautiful woman in the future... Say hello to her and tell her its from me

I am amazed with your life with berhewan, hopefully your day is fun, I want to be like you, hopefully you always success yes.
I will upvote and restem

Diggin the post brother - Love seeing the little ones being raised by an inventive father - Rock On!

LOL - It's the only father they get here, so I'll do my best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87