HOW TO BUILD A ROCK PILLAR FENCE

in #homesteading5 years ago

We've certainly got the materials!


Around here, I view just about everything as a resource. With enough thought and creativity, it all can have a purpose. Literal tons of rocks on property would be an issue for many, but we like to find them good homes and purposes!

Having a practical fence that is also aesthetic is a reasonable enough goal. Many people have commented on the one that I am building, and after a request from "artonmysleeve" from steemit, I thought I might as well show you how I'm making it.

By creating a hollow cylindrical shape around the T-posts with some wire fencing, I can simply fill in the centers for a visually pleasing and sturdy rock column. The look is attractive and I don't mind having somewhere to put all these little rocks.

I've got plenty of rocks to use anyway, so this is a great way to help solidify the fence and aid in keeping out the wild animals. It'll be a while before I am completely done with this project, but as rocks show up during other things I'm working on, it is encouragement to collect them and put 'em to use. I hope you like the video!

HOW TO BUILD A ROCK PILLAR FENCE VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-rock-pillar-fence-in-progress

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

That is actually quite pleasing to the eye! What a great way to use all those extra stones.

I am from New England and everything has a stone wall in it, on it or under it. But, it cleans the land and is used for a purpose. Thanks for posting this! Another great idea!

!tip

Yup, it cleans up the land rather nicely. Less stones for the @little-peppers to fall on!

Looks Good! Well done, Peppers.....:)...

Thank you very much!

Damn swEet idea and an even better FeNcE! Nice job brother! It's some work for sure but rewarding feeling that comes along with it is pRetTy satisfying! I like it.

Yeah, it's work for sure, but it does look pretty!

We have a giant pile of rubble on the back end of our property where a house use to sit. There are huge blocks of concrete, and I've been trying to figure out how I can get rid of them.

I've also been trying to find a cost effective way to secure our barbed wire fences for when we get goats.

I think you've helped me kill two birds with one stone!

Oh yeah, those stones will work for killing birds too if you need.

This is really cool! And you've used fencing that will last for years, so replacing it soon isn't an issue. I love the way this looks! Says she who must import small stones for grit for her chickens, as we literally have NO stones...

No stones? I cannot even think of such a place.

Yes, this whole valley in Mass has no stones, unless they were imported. 7th best soil in the world, per National Geographic survey.

Very pretty. I've also seen those rock pillars with wooden droppers in between. Which gives more privacy. Now I remember one of your first posts I read about getting loads of rocks from your neighbour. You can still collect from us @papa-pepper but it'll include international shipping ;)

LOL - I can't imagine international shipping on a load like that!

That's using your noggin. I think you've shown videos before about your fence-creation project. It's smart to use the resources you have though. A lot of people just go to Home Depot and buy a bunch of supplies, but you're using rocks that you would otherwise have to pay to have hauled away. Saving money on both ends of the equation.

Yup, plus, no gym membership! LOL

Hey, there ya go!! That's pretty cool.

First I wondered how you got the columns to stand up. T-posts make sense.

Yeah, they are the "spine" of the project!

Wow that is a pretty cool idea! Looks good in a country type area too!

Nice job! This is a very creative way to use the materials you have on hand. I love it! 🌴🌈🦋💛

Yeah, it's a good place to keep them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28