SHE ASKED PERMISSION TO MAKE BUTTER

in #homesteading5 years ago

What's this world coming to?


Now the Little-Peppers have actually been making butter "the hard way" for years now, but so far we'd only made butter from cow milk. Pinkie-Pepper has been milking our goat for a while now, but we'd never tried making butter out of it. Today she had a jar with a good amount of cream in it, so she requested permission to try to make some butter from it. I gave her the green light, and soon we had our first goat's milk butter ever. After she finished making it, she added some herbs and soon we were enjoying it on some bread. Very tasty indeed!

GOAT MILK BUTTER PHOTOS

Until next time…

Bless others and be blessed!!!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

That's so awesome... I'm seeing a start of this kind of thing with almost 5 year old now! The little homie listens to everything and he is always watching, so in turn he wants to male his own whatever it is! It's so amazing to see the growth happening like that, but you probably have seen this sort of thing a while now!

Did the butter taste anything like goat cheese slightly? Impressive work Little Pepper!

That is great @papa_pepper! You should do an instructional video. I recently dicovered some milk at whole foods that has a cream cap and a lot of cream in it. It is expensive, so, I have I ly gotten it twice. I wonder if I could make butter from it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet you could easily make butter from it. Perhaps we should do a video on it. Thanks!

What's the"hard way" to make butter? An old-school butter churn? Never used one of those, but I wwoofed at a place once where they had a pedal-powered churn. The same bike contraption could also be hooked up to the washing machine, the knife sharpener, the blender, the soda maker (to put CO2 bubbles into water), and of course a battery charger.

Posted using Partiko Android

Shaking it in a jar. (personally I think it's harder to go earn some money, drive to the store and then buy butter, but opinions vary)

You literally just shake it and that’s it? Mmm, I bet fresh butter tastes delicious!

shaking it in a jar! I never even thought about churning butter like that. Thanks for the idea... I think I can find some raw milk near me (goat and cow).

Haha excellent! Would love to see the plans for something like that! I guess I could eventually figure something out too.

Yeah, me too! Unfortunately that was BEFORE I learned to look at pedal mechanics with a careful observant eye...

that's right mr bike man... I forgot you must understand the sruff so much!

Well done Pinkie-Pepper, that is definitely the hard way to make butter, good on you for persevering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28