Any tree/shrub experts out there, have any idea what this is?

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I was doing some exploring or walking out back in my yard the other morning. A rare treat while the kids were gone to the grandparents for the weekend.

While I was out I stumbled upon this interesting small tree/shrub that was full of these beautiful pink berries.

IMG_6991.JPG

I feel like it's quite a old growth based on the amount of lichen that was growing on some of the branches. So it's full height is around 6-10 ft. It was hard to judge for sure, since I was standing on a rock and it was down in a bit of a gully. So it's growing in a pretty wet area but with full sun.

IMG_6992.JPG

Now I don't know for sure if the pink is the final colour or if perhaps the berries are going to turn red in the coming days/weeks but I do hope to make it out back and take another look.

IMG_6993.JPG

It has simple alternate leaf pattern. I did come home and pour over my plant identifying resources for quite a while and my closes guess is some variety of dogwood, based on the red pedicels, but the leaves should be arranged opposite and the veins don't seam right compared to my reading. I also haven't seen reference to the pink berries.

My second guess was some sort of mountain ash, since I've read about them having pink berries, but otherwise there is much more wrong about this suggestion, so I'm really leaning towards the dogwood.

Anyways please let me know what you think and I'll try to head back out there in the coming weeks to see if the berries change colour, but even if they do turn red, it still doesn't fit perfectly with either of my current guesses.

Oh yeah I'm in Northern Ontario Canada, so this plant would need to be hardy to zone 3, and I'm sure it's had some pretty bad winters over the years.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

It could be an Everlasting Sweet Pea or a Broad Leaf Sweet Pea. I remember my grandpa talking about them. Not really sure, but I would have to guess at one of them.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

have a chew, report back if you get a buzz or not ;)

If those berries turn red then it kinda looks like a Red cushion... or perhaps it's the Canadian cousin of the Red cushion:
https://www.gardenia.net/plant/Pyracantha-coccinea-Red-Cushion

Congratulations @phelimint! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15