On the Farm we do things a Bit differently to town folk . . .

in #homesteading6 years ago

Three generations on one Yamaha TW 200! A common sight on the farm

The youngest is about to be dropped at home on the farm for breakfast
The next in line will be taken to bale hay on one of the distant pastures
And grandpa will do a circuit of about 20 km checking animal health, water troughs, dams and fences

I somehow think the local traffic officers might object to this kind of behavior in the city center!

20160919_155028.jpg

This, believe it or not was what the feed mill supplied for my day old chickens and quail to eat!! And I discovered it during the weekend!

We have an Afrikaans saying in South Africa "n boer maak n plan" Which means, a farmer WILL make a plan!

I did!
I got a five pound hammer, an empty grain bag and a few kilograms of chicken growing mash and battered it to tiny pieces inside the bag

After an hour of sweat and toil I had bashed about 3Kg of feed into chicken acceptable size and in the process learnt three things;

a) The bag didn't last very long

b) By my calculations it would take me 496 hours, 37 minutes and 42 seconds (providing the hammer held out) to pulverize enough feed to supply a few hundred starving chicks. By which time most of them would have died of boredom waiting for their food to arrive

c) I realized to my surprise that I was extremely accomplished and skilled in a language that would have made the most hardened sailor blush and my mom go sprinting to to the bathroom for a bar of soap with which to wash my mouth out, had I still been a boy

20170428_154615.jpg

Friends in need are friends indeed!

A man. A parrot, found on the farm some years ago, wild, starved and half dead. And my rescue pup!

(My apologies for my old cell photo quality)

20170209_061901.jpg

Carols by candlelight singing hymns on the farm is now a regular yearly feature

20161213_195443.jpg

Yours truly returning with the dogs from a mountain bike ride over the lands before breakfast

20160625_110235.jpg

Hound dog bedtime!

20170114_190638.jpg

Oh, by the way, I nearly forgot to tell you. . .

I didn't leave hundreds of quail and chickens to a grisly death . . . I simply used a sieve, the chicks got the small bits and the big birds what was left in the sieve! Simple as a pimple!

Ps. I also applied a warm compress and vast quantities of Arnica oil to my right hand and a cold beer to my mouth

Problems solved!

Sort:  

You and your son-in-law better use less F-lowering language in front of your grandson or your son-in-law may wish for granny's bar of soap....

HA HA HA!!!! I love it! Excellent chirp my child

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78