Fresh Marigold Flower Tea

in #homesteading6 years ago

_DSC0866.JPG

These bright, orange flowers are a pleasure to look at during the summer. Marigolds are easy to grow and can be very beneficial. In the garden they are known to repel certain pests, and can be used for certain health benefits.

Marigolds are native to the Americas and were first used by the Aztecs for their healing and "magical" powers. They were bred for larger and more brilliant flowers. The Spanish took the seeds back home with them to trade with the French. From there, the plant was bred and eventually traveled to Africa where another variety was created.

The plant contains compounds that are known for their antiseptic, antiparasitic, anti-inflammatory, and sedative properties. It can be crushed and used as a topical ointment, or made into a tea to treat humans internally.

In the garden, the plant is known to repel many pests. Marigolds produce pyrethrum, which is a known insect repellant. They can also remove harmful nematodes that may be in the soil. Their large orange/yellow flowers will attract many beneficial insects to your garden.

This variety I'm growing is the African Tagetes erecta variety. I initially had purchased these seeds hoping the plant would help repel some bugs near our tomato plants. The beautiful flowers, interesting history, and health benefits have me more interested in the plant now, and they may become an annual favorite here.

I started germinating the seeds back in mid-April with some tomato plants. I had lost an entire setting of tomato plants to frost and decided to start these to fill in the area. The marigold seeds had excellent germination rates and seem fairly hardy. I will probably wait to transplant into the garden until they are a bit bigger next year. Cutworms will damage or kill the plants if you set them out too early and they do not have a thick enough stalk.

_DSC0871.JPG

Marigold Flower Tea

Equipment and Ingredients

  • 1 Fresh Marigold Flower
  • 1-2 Tea bags, your choice
  • 1 tea kettle
  • Coffee/tea mug
  • Saucer plate
  • Tea kettle
  • Sweetener (optional)

Start by bringing some water to boil in the tea kettle. Place the fresh flower, tea bags, and any sweetener in the mug. When the kettle whistles, pour the hot water into the mug.

Cover the mug with a saucer plate and allow the tea to steep for 6-8 minutes. The longer the tea bags stay in the cup the stronger the tea will be. Remove the bags after steeping.

I like to leave the flower inside the tea while I drink it. The warm water will extract the beneficial oils from the marigolds allowing you to drink them. Caution before taking this tea with any sedatives or alcohol as it can have a calming/sedative effect. Enjoy!

Rakkasan.jpgvet tag.png

witnessvotes.png

Sort:  


Photo By @sgt-dan Using His I-Phone 7 Last October

Thanks again for another fantastic tutorial. Marigolds are probably my favorite flower and I normally have many of them growing outside my apartment each year.

This is a picture I took last year with my cell-phone. I plan to plant some more this year, though it is a bit late in the summer. I will see if they come up.

If they do come up, I will have to try out your tea recipe! I prefer natural sedatives to taking Lithium and such!

Have a great week Doc!

Thanks I'm growing them because of your suggestion. They are growing very well here and I should have flowers all summer.

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


it is very beautiful flower!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71