Summer Garden Progress

in #homesteading6 years ago

_DSC0768.JPG

This is my summer garden. We decided to try the "back to Eden" style of gardening on this plot after hearing about how great it can be for building soil and suppressing weeds. After spreading at least 6-8 inches of mulch over this entire plot, I can tell you it has done absolutely nothing to suppress our bermuda grass. Did I mention I hate bermuda grass? I HATE bermuda grass. Everything here was grown from seed, either directly seeded or transplanted from germination trays. I won't be mentioning the winter peas you can see growing between the rows, as they are just there to help suppress weeds and add nitrogen to the soil.

_DSC0769.JPG

This is one of our African marigolds I interplanted with the tomatoes this year and other random places around the garden. Marigolds are supposed to help suppress pests in the garden, including nematodes in the soil. They can also be used medicinally to treat skin infections or internally for colds and as a diuretic. Their large abundant yellow/orange flowers attract beneficial insects and can used to make a dye.

_DSC0770.JPG

Above is one of my tomato plants. I believe these are mostly Sun Gold cherry tomatoes. My entire tomato crop was wiped out in mid-April after a very late unforecasted frost. Fortunately I had some backup plants that were kept inside and escaped the frost. Some of these are looking pretty rough still from a light frosting in late April. Another big problem I've faced is losing many of them to cutworms. Cutworms are evil little bugs that chop your seedlings down at the base of the stalk and make you want to scream out in anger.

_DSC0772.JPG

These are some kidney beans I planted for fun. The beans came from a 25lb bulk bag we bought from the grocery store. I direct seeded these in early May and germination has been pretty good. They are doing better than the Roma green beans which have been attacked by bugs already. We plan on direct seeding more occasionally to fill in bare spots and have a steady supply all summer. That is, until the deer or bugs find them and eat all the leaves off. Did I mention I hate bermuda grass also?

_DSC0773.JPG

Pictured above is some of my lovely bermuda gra... I mean melon seedlings. I had planted cabbage in this spot earlier this spring but they were mostly wiped out by bugs. This is a type of canteloupe called Sarah's choice. I'm not feeling too optimistic about them as last year my zucchini wiped out by squash bugs, and I'm sure they'll love the melons too.

_DSC0775.JPG

This is a zucchini seedling called "spineless perfection". These grew really well last year until I was overwhelmed by squash bugs. I'm hoping that planting less of them with a larger gap between will help keep the bug population down. We love to put zucchini in a lot of dishes so maybe we will be able to enjoy them for a while. The large yellow/orange flowers are nice to look at too.

_DSC0776.JPG

It's not salsa without cilantro. We LOVE to put cilantro in many dishes and it really makes a big difference. I've been struggling to get some going in the garden this year, because the cutworms like to chop them down as well. It's ironic, because they are actually supposed to repel some harmful insects. With my luck, they will begin bolting before I'm able to enjoy the leaves. Last week we had highs near 90 every day with lows around 70. And yes, we were fighting frost last month.

_DSC0777.JPG

This is one of my best looking napa cabbage plants that's survived the frosts and bug. I had an entire 100' row of cabbage planted and am down to around 10 plants now. Cabbage is one of the most nutritious cruciferous plants and can be used many ways in the kitchen. I love to make sauerkraut and kimchi with napa cabbage, and it can be pickled with many other veggies as well.

Thanks for reading my summer garden update. Walking through the garden this morning reminded me to start getting on top of the weeds before it turns into a weed garden. The most frustrating thing about bermuda grass is that when you pull it out, it generally just breaks off above the ground and will regrow from that point. Most weeds you can pull the whole plant out by the root. We will probably try adding a thicker layer of mulch out late this fall and hope it suppresses more of it.

Rakkasan.jpgvet tag.png

Sort:  

Super photography

I’m always looking for ways to be a better more lazy gardener 😂

What a pain the bugs are. Is there any natural pesticides you can use? I had gardens for years and i remember that frustration!

Yes, I've been using a mix of neem oil and some other essential oils that work on some bugs but not all. I also mix in a little bit of pepper extract to keep the deer and rabbits off. Thanks for stopping by!

Uh oh, I'm planning on deep mulching my berry patch with straw, but your bermuda grass invasion makes me wonder if I should lay plastic weed barrier along just the edges as a kind of barricade.

Your cutworm observation made me giggle, just because the wording was funny :) Maybe you need some chickens! Ours did stuff like pick potato beetles off the tater plants, and surprisingly, they left most of the produce alone.

I have chickens but they would have way too much fun digging up the mulch and my plants lol. I let them out in the evening to freerange but have to keep an eye on them so they don't get in the garden. Later in the year when the plants are bigger they might help. I heard that putting down a layer of cardboard under the mulch will help keep the grass down too, but its too late for that.

My danged chickens decided to do some mulch digging today!!! With a whole garden and lawn area to explore, they were determined to get at the sawdust and straw I was putting on the berry patch. Freaking dingbats. With your experience in mind I changed my mind from just straw to layering straw over weed barrier and heavy paper bags :)

Wow, that cabbage plant is kicking butt. Good idea with the marigolds.

Did you spread the mulch by hand or did the truck do that sweet drive and spread thingy they can do?

I just had them dump it all in one spot last fall. I was planning on just letting it compost in place til I heard about back to eden and decided to try it. We got it all for free since they were clearing out trees on our nearby highway for new power poles.

your every photo express the great progressive work.....you must be gain your goal......

so sweet garden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86