Tangwystl Cottage - Ch-ch-ch-ch-chive talkin'

in #homesteading6 years ago

The unassuming CHIVE has a lot to offer the gardener.
pic.jpg
image source
(fyi: Latin - Allium schoenoprasum)
Fun fact: Chives have been cultivated in Europe since the Middle Ages (fifth until the 15th centuries), although their usage dates back 5000 years. They were sometimes referred to as "rush leeks". source

I wanted to define the space around my new fruit trees as well as begin a bit of companion planting in my organic system, and found an old wooden frame to kick things off. It's not a permanent solution, as I am looking to put in some proper edging with espalier fencing for all the trees but I haven't found the right design inspiration yet.

So in the meantime ... I chose one of my young apple trees (its either a Lady Sudeley or an Alfriston variety) and popped the frame over it after clearing away the grass & weeds.
DSC02814.JPG
p.s: apple trees do not like grass growing up around them, so using the opportunity to underplant with helpful & supportive companions is so much more effective

I then back-filled the space with fresh soil, and while I was breaking up the lumps & evening it all out I accidentally scraped the trunk with the spade, taking off some bark and exposing the underneath.
This wasn't good, as its an easy route for diseases and rot to get in and destroy the whole tree.
DSC02815.JPG

Dr Raven to the rescue! I grabbed some comfrey salve and some clean strips of cotton and bandaged the area right up.
The material will eventually rot away so I don't need to do anything further to upset the tree's healing process.
The comfrey is a favourite healer of mine, as it is packed full of silica and other goodies which supports cell repair.
DSC02816.JPG

I finished adding the necessary soil and then began to plant some young Chive plants around the tree as they are known companion plants for apples.
Chives, and other members of the Allium family are said to aid in the prevention of mildew, fungal infection and scab in apples, and also repel pests; while beneficial insects can enjoy the flowers, as well as its culinary uses by us humans.
DSC02817.JPG

Watered and left to settle in.
DSC02819.JPG

After a while I can begin to see that most of the seedlings have accepted their new home.
DSC02818.JPG

And after even more of a while ... looking good!
Just be aware, chives will spread so keeping them contained is a good idea. They will pop up year after year now, making them a very easy herb to maintain.
DSC02982.JPG

Last summer we suffered through a rare drought. The local council had us on tough water restrictions which meant I couldn't water the garden nearly as much as it was gasping for. But the chives continued to do really well, thank goodness!
DSC02983.JPG
Come next spring I should be able to divide the plants up and transplant some around my other apple tree.
The lazy gardener finally works smarter.
One day I might even remember to harvest some to use when I'm cooking.

enter image description here
image source


Tangwystl Cottage banner small.jpg

ravenruis.png

banner2.png

Mannabase UBI - sign up via referral link, and help spread the word:
mannabase referral invite

(extra tags: #harvest #garden #organicgardening #organic #selfsufficiency #photography #newzealand)

Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on .
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

awwww I just want to tickle under his (or her) chin and give him (or her) a scratch behind the ears! <3

at least this one hasn't got his tongue poked out at you.

I kinda miss it :P

Useful thing to know with chives, though I'll probably forget by the time we need to design a garden XD We used to have a basil forest in our aquaponics back when that was up and running. So defintely don't forget to harvest and/or transplant them around ;D

goatsig

I've not had any great luck growing basil but I live in hope!

It rains a lot in New Zealand. I collected a lot of it in my hair walking home as a high school student, but it's great for growing things

lol @ collecting it in your hair

I grew up in the Waikato, and while there are frustrating things about the weather down here (Southland) I do not miss the depressing fog, and loads of garden creepies and crawlies, lol.

Plus, you don't get snow. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64804.67
ETH 3109.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27