Homemade Paint From Flour

in #homesteading6 years ago

01.jpg
Google Images

Who would ever have thought you could make paint using flour? A friend posted it on Pinterest and I didn't believe it so I did some digging and not only is it true, it's supposed to last between 5-10 years!

Ingredients:

8.5 Qts - Water (8 Litres)

23 Oz. - Flour (650 Grams)

5.5 Lbs - Pigment (2.5 Kilos)

9 Oz - Iron Sulfate (250 Grams) Kills moss on exterior surfaces

1 Qt - Linseed Oil (1 Litre)

3.4 Oz - Clear Dish Soap

Directions:

Bring 7 Qts of water to a boil.

Mix together flour and remaining water (make sure there's no lumps)

Pour into boiling water and cook for 15 minutes stirring.

Mix in pigment and iron sulfate.

Cook 15 more minutes and continue stirring.

Add in linseed oil and cook an additional 15 minutes.

Remove from heat and add in dish soap.

Allow to cool... If mixture is too thick add water until desired thickness.

I'm going to try this- I'll let you know how it turns out!

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

I like the fact that it's water based. Let us know how it turns out!

I'm going to make it now... It's gray to match the house. I'm going to try to cover up some red shutters. We hired a guy to "stain them naturally to match the screen door." He painted them red!

Sounds so interesting!

I probably has less chemicals and is more healthy for you than normal paint you buy from the store today just let us know how it turns out thanks so much @richq11

Huh I've never heard of this before, but it sure sounds like a fun thing to try (not to mention useful!).
Would much rather put the flour in a cake, though :P

Flour is pretty cheap so... I'm going to make some today- I went to the store early this morning. I'm doing a gray that matches the house, some dude we hired painted them RED!

Well, maybe he wanted to give the place a bit of color :P Anyway, I'm curious how it comes out!

Who can resist the beautiful colors in the picture you posted. Easy recipe an artist’s dream to mix and natch. Nice to see you post something a little lighter than usual. Are you behaving yourself? 🐓🐓

I have no choice... every time I try to be bad I run out of wind and my heart starts pounding. I'm going to make some today and paint some shutters somebody ruined. I'll post some pictures.

Definitely one of the stranger uses of flour I've come across. I dont think it's something I'm too eager to try

Gratefulness for share Ingredients & Directions with us....its really really great job.

homemade paint its a interesting matter for us! thanks to shared

Be very careful with BLO! If you leave some rags that are soaked in it unattended or don't store it properly it can spontaneously combust.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79