Harvest Time!!!

in #homesteading5 years ago

I spent the last few days tending to my mini garden. It has been seriously ignored for a while already. Seriously, aside from regularly watering my plants, I haven't really done anything special to them for quite some time. Sure, I still continue throwing stuff into the compost pail but that's all the job done in there.

I guess I'm just confident that my plants may have already reached maximum sustainability, they have not that much need of my attention anymore. But when you're doing urban farming, you should definitely have a regular check on your plants. Apparently, wild grass still grows on pots and there's not much nutrients that can be spared when your plants are not directly planted on the ground. So basically, I had to pull out a lot of unwanted wild planta around my plants. It's a good thing they haven't rooted deep enough yet, it was still easy to pull them all out without damaging my crops.

When I have finished cleaning up, I went ahead and harvested the ginger. My, oh my! That was so much more exciting than I anticipated! I thought I'd just oull oyt the olant and out comes the ginger. But no! I needed to really dig deep into the pot to really get the good stuff. It was exciting.

When I realized I would need to really get in there and get my hands dirty, that's when the fun all began. It was really messy. There's soil all over my spot. This is kind of the second time I've done this and the last time was a long long time ago and I have my phone with me back then to guide me. Now, my hands were all dirty, I couldn't reach for my phone even if I wanted to.

When I have pulled everything out, I sorted those that can be harvested, and selected a few that can still be planted again. Now, it's cleaning time. For the ginger, not for me.

I actually enjoyed removing the roots from the ginger. But then, there was a root that wasn't exactly a root. I pulled it and it twitched and moved. And it was slimy. For the love of me, I panicked amd flushed it down the sink. It was too late when I realized I should've placed it back into the soil. But in my defense, I was caught off guard. I was gentle to the other one I found. That other guy was luckier that his precedent.

I harvested quite a lot of ginger. I gave some to my mother in law, some to my neighbor and will give some to my sister when she comes over this weekend.

It was just so fulfilling to see the fruits (or rootcrops) of my labor. I'm glad to have taken on the road to urban farming. And will continue to do so. Until such time when my family reaches self sustainability. There's no comparison to the joy you feel when you pick your ingredients straight feom your garden.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

congrats fo that ginger,nice for soups..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Tamang tama sa tag ulan. Pwedeng pang arroz caldo at pang tinola. :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.818 which ranks you at #13174 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 156 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87