Homesteading | Recycled Plant Nursery and New Seedlings

in #homesteading5 years ago

6bsy9kvxyy.jpg

My mom gave me seedlings I could plant in my mini garden at home. And I've accummulated enough cans and paper cups to be recycled so I went ahead and prepared the nursery for my new babies.

I plan on not removing the plants from the nursery once they start sprouting so I poked holes all over the cans and paper cups from the bottom to the sides. This way, the roots will still grow through the holes when I transfer the entirenthing into their pots. I figured those paper cups will just decompose so I thought that's fine. I think the cans would do the same too so I'm just gonna give this a try. Everything I'm doing here anyways are just experimental and so far, everything's working out fine.

9iqt0ln85h.jpg

My chilli plants are still bearing fruits, I have already replanted the mung beans as well as the rice. My tomatoes have given me fruits too, replanted them as well. I have also been able to give away several pots of oregano plants for my in-laws to care for too. I believe that homesteading should also be a trend so I give out plants and seedlings too. :-)

So far, only the amplaya plant has died and that was because of too much heat. The spot where I had the vine set up was taking in too much sunlight in the afternoon and the sun is still really scorching at around 3PM. I'll try planting ampalaya once again some other time.

I still have two more crawling plants to take care of, the long beans and the pumpkin. These vines are really tough to maintain! They kinda have their own mind, they tend to go on their own way when new leaves grow.

I saved some of the seeds my mom gave me since I am still experimenting on these new seeds.

Everything I used on these planters are recycled. It's about time I use the soil from my compost pail - I already lost count of how many batches of soil and kitchen scraps I've used on this tiny little pail. I've been using the soil too as topper for my already existing plants.

For now I am excited to see how these new seedlings would turn out.

Sort:  

Interesting. I'm using egg cartons for my seeds - they should dissolve fast enough in the final pots or in the earth.

A friend of mine also uses egg cartons. I guess that's the best bet for plant nurseries.

Nami-miss ko na ang garden ko sa Pinas. Marami akong recycled stuff na gusto kong taniman. Pero sa pag uwi ko na lang muna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11