Homesteading Thursday

in #homesteading5 years ago

trs3thl3et.jpg

Last year, I found a way to make a compost pit to take care of my kitchen scraps. I have been doing it ever since and our trash really was reduced. I lost track of how many batches I have done already with this compost pail but so far, it has sustained my mini food forest.

My husband raided our drawer full of documents and warranty papers from the appliances we bought. He discarded those that were already expired. I shreded them and dumped them all in the compost pail. That's gonna take some time to decompose so in the meantime, I tried a sorta kinda hydroponic gardening style.

Still, of course, using recycled materials. I am getting a bit worried though with the amount of plastics we are accummulating over the past few months. Anyways, I have used this method for my water spinach or kangkong and so far, the plants are fine. I have cooked a couple of meals from these kangkong.

This time, I'm trying it on lettuce and pechay. My mom gave me a lot of seedlings the last time so I'm still working on them right now. These will be planted on PET bottles, using just a little amount of soil and a lot of water on the base. I think it's a good idea since the sun always dries up all my plants. The water under these plants will keep them hydrated. Hopefully this experiment succeeds.

Aaaaaand I just realized my mini food forest is f growing. I now have Ginger, sweet basil, green amd red bell pepers, siling labuyo, green chilli (the one we use for sinigang), calamansi, monggo, palay, kangkong, oregano, pechay, long beans, and avocado. I'm expecting lettuce in a few weeks maybe. It needs a lot of work organizing and cleaning but maybe this weekend I can dig deeper into this little forest.

It really feels good to just go outside of the house to pick an ingredient for the dish you are cooking. I used to laugh at my mom before when she talks to her plants. But now, I just caught myself asking permission from my bell pepper plant when I picked from them. I guess I'm weird too.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 123 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much. :-)

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.936 which ranks you at #10910 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 34 places in the last three days (old rank 10944).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #77.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36