ALASKA: Homesteader Paradise

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hello steemians, We’re Going To the Kenai Peninsula!IMAG1169.jpg

So I like to think that when I travel, I’m usually lucky enough to find myself doing what most tourists don’t do or think of doing. Maybe I just look for these off the beaten track adventures, I don’t know.


This time around I find myself married to someone who has family on the Kenai Peninsula. My wife’s uncle Garry was imported from the lower 48 at a very young age and became a marine biologist, working for the department of Fish and Game.

He spent most of his life amongst the trees, rivers, salmon and bears. Like a lot of Alaskans, he is a passionate fisherman and an avid hunter... The difference is that Garry is a walking encyclopedia, especially when it comes to biology!

So now you can see why my wife, our little homie and I had a bit of a different trip than most tourists...we had our own personal guide!


Alaska-Zoo.jpg

I’ve been looking for zoo pictures, but I guess we didn’t take any except for the two wolves!

First stop was the Zoo in Anchorage. I don’t usually like zoos, but this one seemed friendly to the animals, the cages are very close to the (human) path and the whole thing is set up in such a natural setting it felt really good.

Goats 1.jpg

*Live mountain goats, that could be *

On the way to Kenai, wild goats high above the road, YEAH! Garry managed to spot them as we were driving so we pulled over and soon after we did (pointing, looking up and taking pictures) more cars jumped into the shoulder to gawk at whatever we were gawking at. It was well worth it and there was more goats than the picture tells. I can only do so much with a cheap LG phone (everything else is kind of fuzzy)!

20160727_172010.jpg

Proud Alaskan uncle made us take a picture!


I had never really gone fishing… apart from trout or carp fishing in a lake off of a small rowboat with my grandfather many years ago. I also had no real idea that Alaska was a fishing destination.
There is a whole business here for freezing, storing and sending fish back to the rest of the world. I’m not talking about commercial fishing and all the industry that surrounds it, this is for the little guy who wants to bring all the salmon back home away from Alaska!

frozen.jpg

We did not catch an entire cooler of reds and silver, but almost!

So one of the great things that come out of the freeze and ship tourist industry, there is plenty of rockfish and it is god damn delicious!

You see, rockfish does not freeze very well (of course it does, but it loses a lot of it's flavor once thawed. I suspect it also doesn't have much of a resale value). But what you do is bring it home the day you catch it, fillet it, cut it up, prepare the lemon juice and whatever else you like to have in your ceviche and Voilà!

IMG-20160801-WA0003.jpg

Silver... Kind of my first time fishing, I'm very happy!


So, I could keep going on and on and I should brake this up into several parts. Maybe I will, but for the moment let's talk about Alaska as a Homesteading Paradise.

IMAG0872.jpg

A good old Alaskan Homesteader's caribou BBQ

  • Fishing and hunting is a need, so a lot of people have the skills. It's a good place to learn the ins and outs of processing food. My family fills up a deep freezer (or two) full of fish and game, they smoke salmon and make jerky for that long winter. They personally do a very good jog at having protein left over from the previous year and they share a lot.
  • Those who have acreage are given a monetary incentive to build high tunnels (I believe it is $7000 per and you can have up to 5, depending on the acreage) . This was at the time of the trip which was July and August 2016. The Alaskan government wants people to make use of the long summer light to feed themselves.
  • There are also un-incorporated areas in Alaska where codes are... well let's just say local gov'ment only cares about an assessment on your house to collect taxes... A thief that leaves you alone mostly

So because of these three reasons, there are a lot of functioning homesteads which we had some first hand experience with. The neighboring homesteaders, off gird recluses, and fishing nuts helped make Alaska a really really tempting place to build a life of self reliance and be one with nature.... I'm just not so sure about the cold long dark winter!

Here are a few more pictures:
20160731_145221.jpg

20160809_160007.jpg

20160731_144403.jpg

20160809_130012.jpg

IMAG0947.jpg

Until Next time...Fish ON!!!

Thank you for reading
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and please give me some Feedback

Sort:  

Congratulations @senorcoconut, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2476 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3168.37. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I don't know what happened there but it is great. Thank you so much!!!

What is a 'high tunnel'?

Sorry, it's a green house shaped like a tunnel.

Alaska pays peeps to build those? $7k x 5 ? Nice.

i am also not familiar @haveyouvisited.... @senorcoconut what is hight tunnel?

When I get back to a computer, I will look for a photo example.

Beautiful country! I've been tempted to head to Alaska in the past because of the freedom and beautiful country however the long dark winters have detered me also. Seems like a walapini earth insulated style green house would be optimal there.

Lots of freedom! The walapini greenhouse you speak of is something we want to build here in NY on the Homesteade. I will post about it when it happens!

Wow, great photos of a wonderful experience. Fish looks incredible. That is definitely a great part about homesteading in Alaska!

Thank you @mountainjewel. It was one of my top experiences and words or pictures don't quite tell it all!

That fish you caught is ready to get cook @senorcoconut. Followed you sir 😊.

We had that fish on my birthday a couple months later!

Hey, I am following you because you seems to be an interesting writter. Please visit and follow my blog too as I am new on Steemit and need some good writters along my side. @timesedge

Thank you so much

such an excellent narrative. nature at its best. thanks for sharing this wonderful trip us. you guys really had fun time

Thank you so much. I wish I could write these posts a bit faster....with practice I will! There is so much more to share.

Sure. Steemit posts usually takes time especially posts with so much details like yours. Keep it up and do find time to check my blog posts too 😎

Thanks. Going to check right now

Hi @senorcoconut, glad you found the list useful. You will be on the next version. Thank you.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for posting in #naturephotography.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:01:47
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @senorcoconut to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17