Primitive Engineering: Moving Felled Trees by Hand

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

When a tree is in your way and you don't want to cut it up with a chainsaw!


Leverage… It's a very powerful tool everyone should remember exists.

Last Saturday, we were getting our new Off-Grid Mansion delivered, we were also supposed to have a couple strong friends to help with a few things we wanted to do to prep for our move, including a tree that fell right in the way! They had car trouble and couldn't make it that weekend, but we made due.

You see that forklift to the right in the background? Yeah, that’s just there for good looks. A friend of mine bought it to move some of the things he wanted store on the land and it broke… there’s a massive leak in the hydraulic system and the breaks also don’t work!

An oldie and a badie!


When I woke up that saturday morning I had an idea that may help with moving this tree which had fallen the last time a big wind storm come through. We have a chainsaw but I really didn't want to cut it up… it could become a precious beam or some other long and expensive material to build our ctrazy traveling artist homestead with anarchist tendencies with.

(It's a good example of Meterial Capital.)

Jessi-K (my lovely wife) had showed me a video of a guy who moves these enormous concrete blocks on his own with leverage and the help of just a couple pebbles. He believes this technique was used to make Stonehenge:

My immediate question upon seeing the video was about the hard surface he moves these blocks on… surely some 5000 years ago, the people who build this monument didn’t have concrete foundations! I thought I could give it a try with this tree using bigger rocks that hopefully wouldn’t sink into the ground!

And it worked!!! Here's what I did:

The tree had fallen on the top of the forklift and basically broke in half, leaving the crown of the tree somewhere out of the way!

  • First I tried to lift one end of the trunk with a 2 X 4 so I could put a rock under it. To have enough leverage to lift the weight of it, I needed to have a long piece of lumber and in return was standing too far to throw a rock in right spot!

If I had someone helping me we could have done it, but I didn't want to wake up Jessi-K, it was still pretty early. Thankfully my friend, who is storing some things here (along with his broken forklift), has one of those hand cranked hydraulic engine hoist!!!

Not so primitive with the engine lift, I know...!

  • Next I looked for the perfect rock to place under the tree.

  • I placed the rock under the tree, about a third of the way towards the center to create a fulcrum effect, to pivot the tree.

  • I pulled the engine hoist out of the way, pushed down on the tree slightly and started turning it. It was as easy as pie to push, as you can see in this video:

  • Than I simply repeated the process, alternating two rocks from one side to the other (keeping in mind the stone should be placed off-center) "walking" the tree where I wanted it to end up.

Here's a failed attempt... I placed the stone (the fulcrum) a little too far off-center:

This is one of those time when I wished I weighed a little more!

  • Before giving up on the placement of that stone, I tried a different approach. What if I lifted it from the other end instead of using my weight to push down on it? Yeah, that worked pretty well.

Eventually I walked the tree trunk over to where I wanted it (more or less), out of the way so we could get the new RV delivered! I learned quite a lot about leverage and moving heavy objects somewhat effortlessly. I definitely want to experiment with this again. Being able to figure out how to move something that big by myself was very satisfying.

If you've tried something similar, I would love to hear about it.

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @senorcoconut
In the End, it Always works out
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please tell me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Oh wow... this is pretty awesome @senorcoconut it reminds me a bit of the Paul Seller videos.. if you are working super hard, straining yourself then you are not doing it right... its all about finding "the trick" the smart way of working..

Sounds like I should take a look at Paul seller's videos!

Thank you @meno, it feels good to see people liked the post!

We loved your great content so much we wanted to showcase it in our weekly curation report where you will be paid from the post payout. Thank you!

You can find the post here
https://steemit.com/helpie/@helpie/helpie-s-homesteading-curation-report-10-by-helpie-curator-llfarms

Oh you guys are super sweet! Thank you so much.

I take pride in this new found passion of mine... writing! I've known that I wanted to homestead and live off the land in a permaculture state of mind for a long time (wich I will be documenting as we move forward in out homestead build), but I didn't know how much I liled writing.

Thank you for the showcase! I'll check it out right now.

I love how well you documented this whole experience, taking us along on the adventure with you! It’s funny how we get so caught up in advanced technology that we forget how our ancestors did things. These are skills that are so important in my opinion and wanted to thank you for giving us such a great lesson on it ❤️

Ah thanks @llfarms, I try to document as I would like to see it!

You know yea we always forget about how things were done before the industrial revolution.

One day when I build it, on the land, I want to show people how to build a wood lathe that doesn't require electricity. Seen that in england at festivals and it's really cool!

You're welcome for the lesson, I'm happy to learn and teach

Great thinking!
When we were cutting our timbers for the cabin Jay had built a log skidder that could be pulled with the quad.
IMG_3785.JPGIMG_3784.JPG
The blue hook is attached to a hand winch, it can be lowered, hooked on to the log, then winched up off the ground and easily pulled with the quad or argo.

Oh my god, this thing is really awesome he built! I'm definitely going to try to remember that one and weld something up once we have a metal shop going!

Thanks for the idea, I love it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been rewarded with 30% upvote from @indiaunited-bot account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

If you are from India, follow @indiaunited and Join us in

to get community support and guidance

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

love your ingenuity man! thanks for sharing this trick with us! :)

Thank you so much. I like sharing, especially when I learn something new!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10