The Building Inspector came by today...

in #homesteading5 years ago

20190908_135221.jpg

Steem line 2.png

Everytime I hear someone say Can you dig it, I am reminded of the movie Warrior...! I here by the way, there is a remake in the works. Well wr'll see how they do.

So I called the town to ask if they could come to see the holes we had dug a couple weeks ago, to get the ok to move on. I would hate to have to show they if we dug the four feet they wanted (just below our frost line) after having poured concrete!

Last week's failed attempt at raising a barn was for sure a blessing a disguise.

At least I thought so, untill the inspector showed up. By the way the guy showed up the day after I called and a couple hours early! Efficient town I guess. He came out of his vehicle saying he grew up in the area and had never thpught there was such a property! A pretty hidden spot I guess...

So he took a look at all the holes (nothing to measure with in hand) and saw that I hit bedrock pretty much everywhere. He then asked my opinion on the average depth for all ten holes and gave me a paper that gives me the ok to continue building.

20190908_142022.jpg

It was all so easy and fast, I guess this is something I could have done mucj earlier on in the year but hey that's how we did it this time.

I was afraid of the inspector and the whole building permit process really, so I started late! I do now realize how easy it kind of is to do what we did and I didn't need to freak out about any of it... well, I know better for next time!


QUOTE OF THE MONTH: @NotConvinced

When we judge others through a subjective lens, we are no better than the negativity we fight.

(If you want your quote featured here, lookout for the next contest!)

THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED

Steem line 2.png

coop-logo-1.png

Join Us On Discord

If you want to know what really is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

And don't forget… Dreams Come True!

Sort:  

Yay!happy to hear! Building in places with supportive local inspectors is so helpful! Sounds like u got it licked! In earthship sheppey Uk we had similar experiences, indpector was so supportive and helpful, No hint of unecessary hassles!

Onwards and upwards!

oh yes, I hope it continues this way. This town we're in was the one where the head of the building department told me New York had adopted the international codes of building and that there is, in it, a chapter on strawbale structures. Though it was a new concept to him, he saw no problem as long as we brought him plans that make sense!

I was asking about building a strawbale home before we bought the land.

Same to you Alex,

Onwards and upwards!

Our town building inspector has been very helpful for us. We've reached the point of building walls now....

That's awesome, I have to be as well organized of a worker like your husband... setting up a workbench and all that! I kind of do things indian style, on the ground 😁.

Great job you guys

Always such a relief when the dragon turns out to be a pussycat. :) GREAT to see you have a green light to move forward to the next stage! Loving the formality (or not) of your documentation, LOL.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

heehee, Thank you @Artemislives! I love that:

Always such a relief when the dragon turns out to be a pussycat.

Could I use that as the quote for my posts???

It is a great relief, for sure 😁.

Oh I am so happy to hear that you have the go ahead, you never can tell what way it can go. Looking forward to seeing this barn Rise xxx

Thanks dear, I am very happy as well and also looking forward to this thing going up! I did one footing so far... but now we're on our way to England!

I am in Ireland now for 2 weeks, how close we will be, I'll wave over the sea at ya xxx

Keep strong while you're there... I know it must be tough to go back that way. I read your last post about your sister.

I'll sure wave back at you too 😁.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39