Can you squeeze a goat and make it pop?! Sheesh!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Quick update: Pixie Popped!!!!!

Lemme tell ya, these two girls are driving me nuts!

They are both huge and ready to pop! I am not sure of their due dates, because we were SUPER busy putting on a new metal roof, and I didn't write down when they got preggo.
('I'll remember later...' is such a lie!)

P1060584.jpg

This lovely chocolate-colored fatty is Pixie. She is about as wide as she is long now. I should have taken a frontal photo, but I had a brain-fart. She had twins last year and I'm sure she will again this year.

In the next photo you have Pixie's flashy daughter Ella. Ella is a champion milk-giver and definitely a keeper.

P1060586.jpg
Wide load ya'll! She has only ever had singles, but I'm thinking there may be twins in there this time!

My original goats were disbudded, (had the horn buds burned off), as per the breeder's policy.

This is why some of my goats have no horns. Any babies born here get to keep their horns, however, which is why Ella has this lovely set.

P1060588.jpg

So does Luna. She is also a super milker! She already had her baby this year though, and is not driving me nuts in anticipation. Instead, she is giving us lots of healthy, fresh, tasty milk!

P1060595.jpg

Here's hoping these two super round goats don't keep me waiting much longer! I'm excited to see what they have!


No matter how many births we witness, it just never gets old.


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for reading! ♥ I hope you are all having a lovely weekend!


page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png
Click the banner above to join a fun group of mamas over on Discord!

Sort:  

They sure look ready - I hope they pop soon for you :)

Thanks!! ♥ Me too!

Just loving the fact that you are talking about real life. When my family lived overseas some of our friends milked goats?

My girls loved going to see the goats. They were huge. Some taller than me when they got up on their hind legs.

Thanks! ♥
Kids love goats, and I think the goats love them back too. Mine like to run and play with my kids. :D
Goats are hands-down my favorite livestock.
Their milk is fantastic too! :D

HAhaha I actually thought you said squeeze a goat to make it poop. LOL

I would say you are a month out, but could be wrong.
My billy goat got out about two weeks ago and found our nanny goat. He then broke out two more time 😠
He is a good goat but is such an jack!

Haha! No, I have more than enough goat poop!!
Hopefully I dont have a whole month to wait! Ugh!

Those darn goats! I had one doe that was doing poorly and I was NOT going to have her bred until we had her health issues resolved. Well, she came into heat and they both broke the fence and did it anyway.
The stinkers!

LOL I just got the image of my billy goat doing goat lips. 😂

Yes, they are so funny when they do that! :D
By the way, Pixie Popped!!!!!

No matter how many births we witness, it just never gets old.

Such sweet girls. I'll bet they'd like these last days of preggo-itis to pass quickly too!

I bet they would! It feels like they are taking forever...

Really beautiful goats and such beautiful colors. Pixie really looks like it can popp out any second.. She's huge 😂 Aww... Heavy tummy for mummy! Then you might have a few twins running around soon.. Really cute!
Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful weekend. Cheers! 🤗

Thanks!! ♥
Hopefully they both pop soon and we can see what they have been holding onto! ;)

when I raised goats twins were the norm.
triplets weren't unusual either.
perhaps you're are going to have quads?

These are dwarf goats, so they are pretty small to begin with, and this is only Ella's third kidding. Last time I was sure she would have twins, but nope, just one big buckling. Hopefully she has twins this time! She sure is big enough, but sometimes they can be huge and only have one, and others wont even show and they will have twins or more.
My best girl Faline always has triplets or quads. :)

As long as I dont have to put my arm up their backside, its all good. ;)

Can't wait to see their babies!

If it's possible, I think Ella looks even more ready to burst than Pixie! Hope everything goes smoothly for them.

Yes! They are both huge, and I think Ella is hugest! I bet she has more in her than Pixie!
I hope it goes smoothly too, Id rather not have to stick my arm up their backsides... ;)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 190 (7/09/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79