Our Chickens' first day out on grass!

Chickens. They've been on my Want list since we moved to our casa in the country, but I didn't want to get any until I had a better idea of what I was getting myself into. Now, after nearly a year of reading articles and watching videos, we finally took the leap and picked up 8 chicks from a friend. They were a couple of weeks old when we got them, and we've successfully cared form them for another month, so they're about ready to leave the artificial warmth and safety of their brooder box. We have a coop pretty much ready for them, but it is out in the pasture, and I want them a little closer so I can move them back to the brooder if a storm rolls through. If we can get them into the coop full time without any casualties, I'd like to try a couple dozen more, and eventually raise enough at once to provide a year's worth of chicken for my family!

We're transitioning our chickens out of their brooder!



Sustainably Yours.jpg

Sort:  

Your little birds look good!

You don't have raccoons? They'd make short work of the plastic hinges or opening the door. Not sure, but suspect they might be able to get under the tractor, as they are pretty strong. We've had to deal with them for decades here....

If you replace the bucket, try to get a white one. This would be so that the water doesn't get too hot in summer. Also the black oil pan will heat the water. They won't drink if the water is too hot...in summer, not good...

I have everything weighted down with cinder blocks. We haven't had any issues with predators, so far. I see them hit on the road fairly often, but we haven't seen any around the house.

And, thanks for the advice on the water! That was not something that I had thought about. I plan on upgrading to larger pans when we move them to the coop, so I'll look for something a little lighter in color.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78