Harvesting my first tomato

in #homesteading6 years ago

So today was the day I harvested my first tomato of the season

It is only the first of many tomatoes of the year. But that Roma Tomato I been watching the first to fruit was calling my name today saying I am ready to be picked. Yes I only picked one today.
20180706_152932.jpg

It won't be but a few more days before some more are ready

I love these Roma tomatoes on salads and for tacos and or nachos. We eat a few of these a week. It will be nice not to have to buy them anymore at least through the season. Eventually I will have a greenhouse built and will have these year round.

20180706_153013.jpg

Now I am trying to figure out what I am making for dinner

I want to use this tomato in tonight's dinner. I haven't decided what I am going to make yet but having this diced up in it will make it that much more yummy.

20180706_153129.jpg

Grow a garden

Save money and grow a garden. Don't have a lot of space use a planter box or two. And grow a couple of your favorite foods or herbs. Your body and pocket book will thank you.

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I'm sure it will taste phenomenal!

Congrats on your firstfruit! Very nice. @ironshield

Nice tomatoe!! Hope your supper is yummy! #growingislife

Super cool harvesting your own food, I feel somewhere it gives so much more pride eating your own stuff. Beauties they are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87