Removing dead and invasive trees

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Spring is here

Which means working on our property to make our homestead the home we want it to be. If you follow me you know we have some dead trees that need to be removed and some invasive trees that has to go. We are going to be planting new trees that are native and that provide fruit and nuts so we have a food forest. But today is a nice 70 degree day so we are working on the small grove of getting cleared out. The big grove is what is going to require the most work. This small grove has taken us a while. But slowly but surely we will get it done.

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-20-25-1.png

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-20-21-1.png

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-20-19-1.png

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-20-16-1.png

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-20-13-1.png

The bigger grove of trees

Are filled with Japanese HoneySuckle and though it looks pretty it is invasive and we need to clear it out so the trees can thrive. My husband has to do pretty much all this hard work because of my back. If it is thicker than what I can use a pair of snips to cut it is all him. The good news is some of the honeysuckle I can snip with the snips. The sad part is most of it needs a chain saw and I can't operate that with my back. And with my husband work schedule and weather permitting it going a little slower than we had plan.

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-22-02-1.png

Screenshot_2019-04-08-17-21-48-1.png

Eventually we will get our land the way we want it

It will take years but we are determined to improve our land and our health by using our land to produce some of our own food. And prove a food forest for our future use and for wildlife.

social media done right updated (1).jpg

Sort:  

Working on the land and caring for it is a lot of work, but so worth it! You guys have done a great job. Take care of your back!

You have received an upvote from The InnerBlocks
Self reliance and Wellness. Join us on discord

Keep up the good work!

Posted using Partiko Android

Not where I live, it's not!
Look at my Smoke.io post!
Nice to see you here as well, btw..

Posted using Partiko Android

I voted , i support homesteading , I like to see people taking care of there surroundings . But that last bit , " social media done right " that ain't Steemit ,... it's an improvement at least . For social media done right and fair i give https://pocketnet.app/video a good change to become just that . I would like the homesteaders community to share there info on there to .

peace to all .

Better than facebook twitter instagram and every ad based social media site out there. And since all the blockchain sites are pretty much copying steemit.... We will have to agree to disagree and I am booked on social media between the three blockchain sites I am on I don't have time for others. I sold SBD and steem at the right time and steem and SBD earned through steemit made me $30k my first year that I cashed out. So yeah that will always be social media done right to me. Yes this past year cryptos like stocks has been down that is why it is a HODL time. But I still earned more through the blockchain that I have through anyplace else. I am a member of about 10.different blockchain communities but can only handle 3 sites and I am happy where I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77