Front Yard Progress

in #homesteading5 years ago



Lol I actually did get a blister.

So last weekend I went to war with Tribulus Terrestris or thanks to @mattclarke as I like to refer to them now as, the extra bastardy bastards :D
I really got the upper hand and removed the majority of them from the yard, they were quite heavy around one of the edges of the yard. This was no fun task as it was 39 degrees C last weekend, so I was pouring out with sweat after 5 mins. After an hour and a half I had to stop and do the rest in the late evening, which was still quite hot.

Here are some photos of the aftermath, as you can see from these photos the area I removed them from was basically over run with the extra bastardy bastards. There was barely a patch of grass left but that's ok as most of this area will be covered in mulch and then bark chips.


IMG_0203.JPG

As we pan to the center of that side of the yard you can see this section wasn't too heavily overrun with them.


IMG_0204.JPG

Now as we pan to the last section of the yard you can see it was quite bad through here too, I imaging that part of the yard never really got watered much and that's why it was growing all throughout there.


IMG_0205.JPG

Now that I have dug most of it out, tomorrow I will be removing any that I might of missed. I did rush this a little because it was hot as all hell.
Next weekend I will be getting out there with an old raggedy camping mat which has sure seen better days, and I will be laying it on the lawn and walking on it to pick up all the spikey prickles the extra bastardy bastards have dropped every where. Once that's out the way it's just a matter of letting and remaining spikes to sprout and pull them out as soon as I see them. So by the end of the year I should almost be rid of these damn things.

Here is a photo of the lawn which has really started to come back now, I took this photo last weekend so the lawn has come back some more I just couldn't be bothered going out the front :P. I haven't been watering it too much as I don't want a huge water bill, I'm opting to water every second or third night and not watering for too long. This way the lawn can slowly come back over time.


IMG_0206.JPG

Here is where I started from, as you can see the garden is progressing well and all my Australian natives I planted are really taking off. Some of them have literally almost doubled in size.


IMG_0179.JPG

Sort:  

Even their Latin name sounds pretty terribulous! Sounds like a good excuse for a thong party to clear up those seeds.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yeah from all the walking around in my shoes I have already removed at least a thousand of the little buggers.

Coming along real nice. We have a sloping yard, which makes it difficult. Short of ponying up $15K for a retaining wall, we're kind of limited in what we can do. I'm trying to tackle the weeds, so this groundcover can take over and I don't have to think about it anymore :)

It's really shaping up! I never thought of using an old carpet to pick up the spurs..that's a great idea!

Yeah I did a fair bit of reading up on these, u can also get these little bug thingys that only eat the plants but using them is more suitable for large properties and farms

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheVillan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10