One Year On Steemit

As of today, we've been on Steemit for a year. We're thankful for our 720 followers for helping us reach over 55 reputation! We started off mostly commenting and upvoting others until the hubbie finally let the wifey take the reins. Between the two of us, we've posted almost 500 times. We always have plant photos to share since I take an overabundance of them in the Summer while my mother's greenhouse is running.
20180511_090902.jpg
We are also a hobby farm so it means tons of randomness from gardens whether they are inside or outside our single greenhouse,
20180720_153017.jpg
to cute little animals as they grow,
2018May15Goats6.jpg
and even other wonders around the farm.
20180511_101640.jpg
We may not have a lot, but we make do with what we have. We grow, weed, and can our vegetables and by trial and error have found more and more ways for things to work for us.
What mighty plans does this next year hold for us? Well, an addition to our house, hopefully a rabbit house and new chicken barn, another large garden, and lots of berry tending with yard work thrown in. It is amazing the pure amount of 'stuff' that accumulates around the place. I'm hoping to get my permanent herb garden in, since many of my herbs are perennial.
While we punch in new gardens and experiment with new hay mixtures, we're slowly building the infrastructure needed to be able to sell produce at a farm stand. My mother's greenhouse nursery business is right next door. Hopefully we'll be able to produce enough to sell our stuff there.
She claims I'm her 'only hope for retirement' and I simply ask if she plans on doing it anytime soon. Thankfully not, but when she does I have big plans for the family business. Since our lands butt up against each other, I'll add another greenhouse or two and expand to better fit our growing plant need. Mom's low prices appeal to many a low income family and I'm proud to say she keeps her prices low just for them. Even those on a limited budget deserve the pleasure of growing something with their own hands whether it's a pretty flower or a juicy tomato.
20180608_090333.jpg
For now, we'll stick to providing enough food for us and our neighbors (My uncle lives next door too and he always has tons of squash and pumpkins!). We'd hoped to have a CSA running by now, but I think I'd need another greenhouse. I'm taking notes as we go so I see what does better in or out of them. The amount my three children seem to consume is growing so being able to keep up with them is my first priority. I just hope one day to be able to offer low priced, fresh garden produce to the locals as well.
20180928_153928.jpg
Thank you for a wonderful year and I hope this next one is even better!

Sort:  

Thanks for your 150SP delegation
Your publications will be resteemed, shared on twitter and upvoted by us!

Congratulations on completing your first year. That is awesome, I love seeing your posts, especially when the goats show up.

Thanks! Unfortunately my mom had to sell off all her goats when my stepfather died last March. We weren't in a position to buy them off her at the time, but she is giving us full reign of everything they bought and built for the goats. The people she sold them too are good friends so I can buy some of the babies off them once they're weened. For now we'll only raise our own meat goats, but as we get the fencing up for rotatable pastures, we'll be looking into our own breeding production.

That sounds like a wonderful plan. I am sure they will give you plenty of fun and business ventures too.

Happy first year on steemit

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations on sticking it out!

Thank you, it's been fun so far!

Congratulations @tillysfamilyfarm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85