Tapping my Maple Trees for Syrup

P2110973.JPG

Today I had a little time before work to get some of my Maple Trees tapped. I'll show you how easy it is to do, and go over a few facts about Syrup making. Here are the tools I would recommend using to get the job done.

  • Drill
  • 7/16" Drill bit
  • Spiles
  • Tape Measure

IMG_20190314_152346587_HDR.jpg

Get out your 7/16" drill bit and put a mark or some tape at the 2-2.5 inch mark.

IMG_20190314_152534793_HDR.jpg

Grab your Spiles and head out to find a tree to tap. Spiles can be ordered from TapMyTrees.com or found at your local Hardware store. Here is also a guide to how many taps for each tree.

IMG_20190314_152402865_HDR.jpg

Once you find a suitable tree you will need to figure out which way is South. This side of the tree will get the most sun and thaw first. If you look at the base of the tree, try to find a root coming out on the South side. Follow that up between 2-3 feet and get ready to make a hole with your drill.

It's kind of like hitting a vein on a person, but it's the vein of the tree where the sap is carried to the top. Find your spot on the tree and start drilling at a slight upward angle. This will allow gravity to help the sap flow down the Spile.

Once you have your hole drilled, stick your Spile in and give it a few good taps. Don't forget to put the hook on the Spile to hold you bucket/container. In the end it should look something like this.

IMG_20190314_152817624.jpg)

That's it! All you have to do now is wait. Depending on your container size you may have to check it every few hours. We have used gallon jugs in the past and they filled up pretty fast.

What to do with the sap?

This is the part that sucks. Once you start getting sap, collect it in a large container. It takes 40 gallons of sap to make 1 gallon of Syrup. Yep, you read that right....40 gallons to make 1 gallon of Syrup.

The syrup will then need to be cooked at 220 degrees. Too hot and it will burn, too cold and it will take forever. This part takes many hours. I use my outdoor turkey fryer to cook down the syrup and it helps speed things up.

That's it! Boil down sap and it will thicken into a nice golden brown syrup. You can cook it to your own preference. Less cooking for thinner syrup, longer cooking for thick syrup.

I hope you enjoyed this small tutorial. If you have any questions or I missed anything, let me know below. Happy Syruping!!!!


Proud member of #steemsilvergold!

DQmYeRXrmb4fhJ8e6pYYGjAx9SCZSrW7cfuYFH9TQP5NXYX.png

Sort:  

This is awesome. I love real maple syrup. My wife likes the fake stuff. Ha ha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fresh homemade Maple Syrup is delicious! It's really easy to make just takes forever. LOL

You've been visited by @riverflows from Homesteaders Co-op.

Wow! I wish we had maple trees in Australia. I can't even imagine how good this tastes - it must taste quite different from the store bought maple syrup? Thanks for sharing the process with us!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks @homesteaderscoop! It tastes so much better than the store bought syrup. It just takes a crazy amount of sap to make it and a long time to cook. Every 5 gallons takes around 3-4hrs to cook and you have to constantly stir it. It's long process, but worth ever minute. I'll post that part when I start cooking.

That’s fantastic VG, wish i had some maple trees to give it a try. I love fresh maple syrup. Used to get it from a guy when i visited my buddy in Maine. I miss fresh maple syrup there’s nothing like it.

You really can't beat fresh syrup. I'm hoping to get a couple dozen trees tapped over the next few days. If I get enough, I'll send you some.

You can’t beat it, the store bought isn’t even close. Dam that would be awesome man.👍

Let me see how much I can get cooked up and I'll let you know.

Yeah man, way to get outside and do stuff❗
When I was about 10 we lived in New Brunswick and one winter we tapped dozens of maple trees through some fairly uneven territory. Well mom set to cooking one day and our buckets and buckets and buckets turned into just a couple of spoonfuls 😯

Posted using Partiko Android

It's crazy how much it takes. I'm hoping to get around 50 gallons of sap. That should give me a little over a gallon of syrup. We cook it down 5 gallons at a time. Luckily it's all flat around here so that part is easy. I'm thinking about running hoses from tree to tree then to my buckets. We'll see what happens.

Carefull, you'll have a syrup factory right away...

Posted using Partiko Android

Look at you, Love That Stuff on My Waffles and Organic too !

Yes it is! Fresh from the tree. I'm a man of many talents. LOL

Very tasty @rmsbodybuilding! Thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vgholdingsllc from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you @minnowsupport for your vote!

Hi, @vgholdingsllc!

You just got a 0.65% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87