Corn Shucking & Self Reliance With Food @Walkerland

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8951.jpg

The pantry shelves are starting to look gorgeous with all the colourful jars of organic home grown food.

Seeing this bolsters my enthusiasm for another long day of work in the kitchen.

We haven't been able to eat at our dinner table for weeks. It is continually loaded up with food from the garden that needs to be attended to in one way or another. This is a good problem but right now it does seem like this is a bottomless pile of produce. I'll be glad when we are done.

It takes a lot of food to feed two people for a year, a lot, of food indeed. sometimes I wonder if we'll ever have enough to do it without needing a store.

Then there was sweet corn!

Yesterday I ventured into town for a few essential supplies and came home with a 70lb sack of lovely fresh corn. The smell of fresh sweet corn wafted in through my open truck window and I had to pull over. 70lbs of food for $30 Canadian dollars is a bargain right?

I feel like this purchase makes up for my own failure at growing corn. Here's my itty bitty corn beside proper corn.

IMG_8943.jpg

I also brought home a huge sack of cucumbers because they were cheap - all non gmo and naturally grown. It is rare for us to find produce grown to our standards so I really could not resist.

These two sacks of food look like a huge amount of food but when all is said and done, what does this provide us with?

IMG_8933_01.jpg

My husband @xwalkran helped shuck the corn, I washed it and cleaned up using a shop vacuum because corn is so messy!Then he got to work with the knife and I got to work with the canning side of the operation. Everything goes much faster with an extra set of hands.

IMG_8974.jpg

It was fun. We rocked out to old music because you might as well let the good times roll. All that good energy ends up in the food I am sure of it.

We don't have the luxury of being able to run multiple freezers so the simple act of freezing the corn was not an option. This means that to keep this corn for eating through the winter it needed to be pressure canned. Corn takes a while to process, from warming up the canner, the processing time and cool down you are looking at an hour and a half per load.

IMG_8992.jpg

We decided to keep it simple and can corn packed in water. No additives or preservatives, just pure organic corn. We also made one batch of corn salsa using all of our own garlic, onions and cilantro. I was able to make the salsa while the canned corn was processing - it's a lot faster to make!

IMG_8995.jpg

When you start growing and storing your own food, you are given a reality check on just how much food is required to feed yourself for a year.

A jar of tomatoes requires a whole lot of tomatoes and this sack of corn took about 9 hours from beginning to end to get into jars, safely processed and set on the counter to cool. You'd think that 66 cobs of corn would yield a lot but by the time you've shucked, cleaned, and cut the corn from the cob we ended up with 26 jars plus 5 cobs for grilling!

IMG_8999.jpg

The amount of material the head to the compost was quite notable as well. We would have normally done this messy work outside but it was sweltering hot outside so we did our best to keep things tidy .

IMG_8989.jpg

The recipes I used were as follows:

Canned corn - requires a pressure canner
spicy corn salsa - requires water batch canner.

Food is such a precious thing. It all starts with that tiny seed in the spring. All of this work is worth it to us for food security, food quality and even the growth of our skills.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch
Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca |
Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.


Host of Here Comes The News on MSP Waves Radio.

Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


I just put the last of my home grown corn into some relish. I was really pleased with the crop - sweet corn isn't always successful in the UK. I enjoyed it fresh, and I'm pleased to have preserved some ... but growing enoughto get through to next spring would be an undertaking!

it sure would be an undertaking. We'll keep trying and hopefully we'll find an heirloom variety that loves our climate. Frost came too early this year, we were so close to having a nice little crop.

I'm not processing corn this year. But we have done 3 of those sacks full each year in previous years. We had a source for GMO free corn then.

Your canned goods look so pretty!

Our cobs were divided between the pigs and the chickens.

I remember my mom once got a truck bed full of corn. The farmer got rid of it cheap because some worms got to them. Easy fix was to cut that part off.
I shucked corn for three days straight, my little 10 yr young hands were so sore.

This is such a great story, thanks so much for sharing it! :)

Thanks for reminding me 😊
You are very lucky to have such options, and the cucumbers! That’s jaw drop worthy! I have never heard of a sack full before.

It really is quite the luxury and new to us. I am really grateful.

Corn salsa?! OH that sounds perfect!

Yes another reason to get that pressure canner I want

IS it just me... or in the final image (all the food scraps) why am I envisioning feeding the chickens? lol- they would go crazy for that bucket!

Our chickens gets loads of garden scraps and veggies, they have a bit of a waddle right now with all the abundance! Our hens prefer the veggie peels and cobs boiled into a mash. Divas!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80