How to Can Maple Syrup (and why you would want to)

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5390.jpg

I recently bought a 4L jug of maple syrup from our Amish neighbours. Buying in bulk like this is a really great way to get a bargain on pantry staples! The problem is that once you open that big jug, you need to refrigerate, freeze or preserve it to prevent mold.

I was told that I could pour the syrup into individual glass jars and freeze it but I really didn't want all those jars taking up freezer space. I wondered: can you "can" maple syrup?

After some research on sugaring forums I found that you can indeed "can" maple syrup to make it shelf stable (home-made or store bought) but the process is a bit different than what you would normally follow when canning things like jams and jellies.

The best part about this local batch of maple syrup is that it was produced using horse and man power. No big machinery, no plastic tubing running through the forest from tree to tree, and it's done in small batches in a sustainable manner. I really appreciate that.

IMG_5394.jpg

What you need:

  • mason jars / lids / bands
  • stock pot
  • stock pot or water bath canner
  • ladle
  • maple syrup

Directions

  • Bring the maple syrup to a simmer you want it to reach 180-185F degrees. If it gets too hot the syrup can darken.
  • Wash the canning jars with hot soapy water and then put them in the stock pot (lined with a tea towel) or your canning pot for ten minutes to sterilize them.
  • When the maple syrup has reached temperature, ladle it into the canning jars, wipe the rims with a clean cloth and affix the lids and bands.
  • Do not put the filled jars in the water bath canner. Instead let them cool and settle for 24 hours.
  • Once the jars have cooled for 24 hours, check their seal. You should hear the occasional pinging sound as they are cooling that gives you an auditory confirmation that your jars have sealed. If you look at the lid of the jar, you should notice that there is a small bump in the lids. This bump depresses as the jars seal “sucking it down”. All of the lids should be sucked down. If you press on the center of the lid and that bump pops up, they are not sealed properly. If you should have an issue with a jar not sealing, refrigerate it.
  • Remove the metal rings and wipe the lids and jars with a damp clean cloth. Store the jars without the rings in a cool dark place.

These jars should stay shelf stable for 2-3 years if stored in a dark, cool & dry location.

Here are some facts about the nutrition of maple syrup

I was amazed to discover how maple syrup stacks up against my favourite sweeter honey. Maple syrup is actually quite impressive just be sure you are buying the real deal!

maple-nutritional-value.jpg
source


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Sort:  

Didn't know I could 'recan' my syrup. Good to know and something I'll be doing in the future when I buy a large container.

I was really pleased to discover this. I did a batch this morning and it worked like a charm, all the jars sealed nicely.

Huh, that's good to know! Great graphic on the nutritional values. My mom uses agave because she heard it's healthier than sugar. I hadn't looked into agave but it looks to be nothing but empty calories. I will have to pass that along. -Aimee

yeah, I hadn't realized that maple syrup has so much going for it until I researched it.

I jumped on the agave bandwagon years ago(when it first became a "thing") then learned from a nutritionist friend that it was not what it seems at all. I guess if you extract the agave directly from the plant - it is good but the stuff we buy has been processed and altered to a point where it really isn't good at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29