The Canning Guide: The Basics For Preserving Jams, Jellies & Pickles

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2980.jpg

As gardens begin to burst with gorgeous ripe berries, cucumbers and tomatoes canners from around the world eagerly pull our their equipment and get to work creating sumptuous home-made creations.

Here on the homestead we use a wide range of methods to preserve our harvest. We believe in sustainably grown, organic food which is why we put so much effort into producing and preserving as much of our own food as possible.

Canning is not a modern invention. It’s become easier over the years but we have 18th century France to thank for the development of home canning. Since then delicious sweet jams, jellies and juices along with pickled vegetables, salsa, relish, ketchup and so many other delightful things have been lovingly packed into jars and preserved for the winter.

Water bath canning is simply the process of heating, sterilizing and sealing your jars. You can use a water bath to can acidic foods safely making them shelf stable for a year or more.

This generally includes all vinegar based pickled items, including vegetables, salsa and relishes along with sugary items such as jams, jellies, juices and fruits packed in sugary syrups.

Water bath canning is really easy to learn and is often the gateway technique used when entering the big world of preserving food at home.

IMG_8647.jpg

Be safe & don’t take risks

You should never use the water bath process for low acid food such as meat, fish & plain vegetables. Improper home canning creates the perfect environment to grow botulism bacteria, which can give people serious food poisoning. Low acid food can be safely processed using a pressure canner.

Don’t be deterred by this warning. It might seem intimidating but home canning is perfectly safe when done correctly. Millions of people safely preserve their own food every year. Simply follow the instructions provided in your recipes and you’ll be set.

IMG_1551.jpg

Here are the essential supplies that we use often when canning our garden harvest.

Water bath canner

The water bath canner comes in a range of sizes. It is a large pot that includes a rack for your jars. You can also use a soup/stock pot and line the bottom with a dish cloth. Don't place jars directly on the bottom of the pot as they can crack.

Steam canner

The steam canner is a more recent creation and has become my favourite choice. A steam canner requires only a fraction of the water and as a result it heats up much faster. This uses a lot less energy/propane and time. Water bath and steam canners are interchangeable with one another when it comes to processing time in a recipe.

Non reactive pot with lid

You will need a non reactive pot such as stainless steel or enamelled cast iron. When selecting a pot it is very important that you avoid using reactive pots such as aluminium or untreated cast iron. Pots made from reactive metals will cause your preserves to have a metallic taste and possible discolouration.

Wooden spoon

A clean wooden spoon preferably one that is only used for making preserves. I keep one tucked away from the normal kitchen spoons just for my preserve making.

Jar lifter

This nifty gadget is really valuable. You are dealing with hot jars when canning and this give you a tight grip on the jars while keeping your hands and wrists well away from the pot

Jar funnel

This will help you fill the jars more easily and reduces spillage and cleaning around the outside of the jars. I have a stainless steel version but you can also get plastic.

Large Ladle

In a pinch you can also use a small measuring jug or anything with a pouring spout.

Food Mill/ Chinos

Used for separating liquids from solids. You can get a simple conical Chinois that is useful when extracting seeds for apple sauce and jellies or go fancier with a multi purpose food mill.

Cheese cloth or Jelly bag

For making jellies you’ll want some cheese cloth or a jelly bag to get a really get a clear liquid.

Most of the supplies used with water bath canning are items you might already have in your kitchen. The rest, don’t cost much and can often be found used on-line. As far as kitchen hobbies go water bath canning is quite economical.
With some helpful equipment and great produce you’ll be on your way to making beautiful jars of jams, jellies and pickles in no time. The next step of course is to learn pressure canning, then you really will be unstoppable.

Recipes

I love creative recipes that showcase the beautiful flavours of all of the fresh produce. It's really important to us that the food we put up is of the best quality. I have a collection of 18 delicious recipes for you to try - all of tested in our homestead kitchen!

IMG_7444_01.jpg

If you ever have any questions about canning, drop me a note and I'll be happy to help! Oh and my husband @xwalkran has started steemin' again now that all his summer homestead work is done. Yipee. You know what they say about couples that steem together ... (what is it that people say?) whatever it is I am sure it's good!

He just wrote about 5 great ways to preserve food for winter because there's so many other ways you can empower yourself with a well stocked pantry!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch
Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca |
Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

My_Post_1.jpg

Sort:  

I had no idea the invention of canning began back in the 18th century... in FRANCE, no less. VERY informative.

I have a question... I have been looking to buy a pressure canner so I can preserve MORE of my own harbest, but you mentioned a steam canner. Are those one and the same?
I used to have a pressure cooker (not canner) many years ago but lost it when I had moved. I would make things like corned beef in it, etc- but it was by no means large enough to accompany canning jars- well,maybe two pints at a time. But I'm curious if a steam canner and pressure canner are the same.

Before I buy my pressure canner I wanted to make sure.

no, a steam canner is not the same. It's just a water bath canner that uses less water.

In the photos of canners the left canner is a pressure canner and the right is my steam canner. I shouldn't have used this photo for the post but .... oops.

You need a canner that is specifically a pressure canner - there's no alternatives. If you end up buying a Presto model let me know - there's a few really helpful things I can tell you. I don't have experience with the fancier All American models of pressure canner but they look pretty sweet.

I believe the brand I am looking at is a Mirro - I'd have to double check when I get back to my laptop.

THANK YOU for the explanation... very helpful.

We have a Mirro brand pressure canner. It's been used heavily in the 10 years we've owned it, and never let us down. Seal is still good, weights, valve, etc. I'd recommend it.

That's GREAT! the one I was thinking about had a 5 - 10 and 15 Psi on it.
good to know that replacement parts are not needed much; even after ten years! You definitely got your money's worth from that one!

My dream, to have an All American pressure canner.....

it's a dream of mine too! I have two presto canners and they've been excellent but those All American's are so impressive looking.

Love this! I’ve always been a little too shy to try and make my own jam but you make it sound less intimidating. Canning salsas and jams are definitely on my todo list now. Thanks @walkerland !

Oh I am so pleased! I'm sure you'll love it. The first thing I ever made was strawberry jam and from there it's just become part of our lifestyle. I think you'll love it.

Neat, well I will keep this post in mind when I have a go at it. My husband loves jam so it would be good to know how to make it ourselves. Thanks @walkerland.

haha ...it's a slippery slope. Once you make your own jam your family won't be able to eat the store bought stuff anymore. :)

I bet! My husband is already quite spoiled with his daily menu. :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for the tips! We are still using canning back home.. my mom makes the best gherkins! :)

My uncle use canning for so many veggies and fruits as he has a huge land and he is growing a lot of plants..

That is so wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing.

Excellent information. I'll put it into practice. thanks for sharing

glad you got something from it! :)

'The couple who steems together is far too busy steeming to talk to each other' - probably!! But to be honest, I wish @beaker303 would steem....

We spend 24x7 together so we get a lot of each other as is! :)

His posts don't get much notice so it's quite discouraging. He is such a good writer so I hope he'll keep on with it for a while. I know he'll find that perfect group to engage with soon enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82