Welcoming Strangers To Our Homestead

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

walkerland.ca steemit.com@walkerland(1).jpg

We have a few aspiring homesteaders coming to visit us in just over a week.

They connected with me through our walkerland facebook page about six months ago.

They are city dwellers who live in another province. After several months of chatting, answering questions and getting to know them a little, they asked if they could come visit for a few days this summer. We said yes. We write and share our story to help other people gain insights and skills into this life. Why not go that extra step and welcome them into our home?

It can be easy to romanticize homesteading but it is not for everyone. If we can help someone see what it's really like then we are doing a good thing.

IMG_5659.JPG

When Strangers Become Friends

We've done this before with good results. We opened our home to two strangers last year.

I was really anxious throughout the week leading up to their arrival at our doorstep. Insecurities and self doubt washed over me. What do we really know? How are we qualified to be giving advice to other people? What if we give the wrong advice?

It turned out to be a great experience for them and for us. This lovely couple really picked our brains and asked questions that surprised us. It was a great exercise for us, testing our knowledge and giving us insights into what aspiring homesteaders want to know more about. I learned a lot about what we do know, and the experience boosted my confidence.

This couple decided to go ahead with their homestead dreams. They are moving to their homestead this summer. We are really excited for them and know they'll do well.

“If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.”
– Dalai Lama

walkerland.ca steemit.com@walkerland.jpg

Homestead Bloggers In The Public Eye

I had never realized what a responsibility our blogs and social media presence would become. We are often answering emails and private messages. People asking for help with using a pressure canner, their chickens, their gardens. We always do our best to help. When we don't know the answer we are able to guide them to someone who can help.

That's the amazing thing about modern day homesteading movement.

There is a wide and growing network of homesteaders across the globe. I've found that most are very supportive of other homesteaders and are very community minded. We help each other to help others.

This Is Our Home

Not all of our experiences have been good ones. I pride myself in having good instincts about people and sometimes we politely have to say no.

This is our home and honestly, if they aren't interested in homesteading and just want to pop by for "tours" as though we are a petting zoo we have to say no. We don't have an infinite amount of time to give. Some people get really rude which always stings. We offer so much of ourselves already and they demand more?

People who behave like this remind me of why we live in a private cabin nestled in a forest. It can make me feel like withdrawing and closing myself off. I just have to remind myself that not everyone is like this.

We need to stay open and welcoming because we want to build community around us. We want to do our part to help people empower themselves. I often say that living this lifestyle is my quiet rebellion against all the things I feel are wrong with society. Helping others on this path is another facet of my quiet, yet active protest.

Homestead Classes

We are in the habit of giving away all of our knowledge, experience and time for free. We never ask for anything in return and feel good about this. I think many homesteaders are the same. We want to help people succeeded. We want to do our part in making this world a better place.

Education is the key to unlock the golden door to freedom

~ George Washington Carver

That said, life ain't free, the tax man has a way of coming to call no matter how deep in the woods you try to hide.

As part of our income stream I have been considering offering small group classes. We both enjoy teaching & we know how to prepare courses and lessons. I think it would also help us to engage and meet some people interested in this lifestyle, that live nearby. These classes would also give people who are curious but not really committed to homesteading an opportunity to see what it's all about.

I would also like to do some video/on-line lessons. I see these courses all over the place on-line. I do wonder if anyone makes money at this? Video is not one of my strengths though so this is a big maybe!

There are people who are seeking more than a blog post to read. Some people year for a more personal hands on experience. We can offer this. We could teach small groups how to can and preserve food, how to bake bread, make soap, and all kinds of things really. They get to take something home for their efforts.

preserving.jpg

I am really curious. Do any of you open up your home to strangers that reach out? Do you offer classes at your homestead? Do you have any advice? What sort of classes would you be interested in?


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

OMGosh!!! WHAT an inspirational post!
I have found homesteaders are the most supportive and giving of knowledge of any community out there.

I have never opened my home to anyone in this manner and I applaud you and your husband for not only doing this, but sharing what happened the first time you did this.

Thank you @goldendawne.

I completely agree with your statement:

I have found homesteaders are the most supportive and giving of knowledge of any community out there.

It was strange at first because I think society has made us less open and trusting to that knock on the door. In the olden days it was pretty common to open your door and offer a meal to strangers. It was just done and nothing special. People used to have so much less to give as well.

Thank you for this inspirational post. I love what you are doing for the community. And I'm glad that people are looking to improve their homesteading skills. How brave of you to open your home to strangers!

Thanks @delishtreats. It feels sad to me that opening up our home is a brave thing. I wish it was more "normal". I think the world would be a better place.

I dont think its brave. Its normal. You gotta trust!!!!! Not everyones out to get us. People are far nicer than we think 💛

I have to agree with you. ♡

I have taught here on the farm and at a conferences in the area. I have done small tutorial classes also. Some are for free (kefir making) and some I charge for. I also do consults for people, either here on the farm or at their place. I've created CDs of my talks that I give when people attend. I've also created worksheets for various things I teach.

We often have people come out for one reason or another. If they have questions or are interested in what we do, we spend time teaching about it. It's, so far, never been because I am a "personality" they've seen online.

I have also been asked to do radio shows (I did that) and TV (I didn't). Been interviewed for newspaper articles also.

So pretty much I am all about getting the info out there.

I've never felt we didn't know enough, etc. But I do emphasize that what we do here, what we know here, may not work somewhere else.

That is really wonderful @goldenoakfarms. It sounds like you have a lot of experience in doing this. I am going to need to practice with my husband because I get so nervous!

yes, you're participating in the gift economy which will no doubt return to you 400%! you have an amazing experience to offer people who get through your filter (and rightly so- you have an incredible thing to offer)- so excited to see this post. i am also hoping to hear how all of this goes. you know so much and have created such a beautiful and abundant world... ! <3

I really love the term gift economy. I have never heard that used before. I think we need more of that in this world. Thanks so much for the positive feedback, I appreciate it. ♥

That's wonderful that you are opening your home for others to learn. I much prefer the idea of offering classes where folks if they are really interested can come learn and discuss with you further about homesteading (it would tend to screen out some of the riff raff.) Have you ever considered having work bees where people could come share in the work and learn at the same time. I know they do it with straw bale building and such but why not with gardening, etc.

heck, work bees sounds really great. I am such a ...control freak ... so I'll have to work on that because it would be nice to teach and also have extra hands to to the lifting. I'm not sure we'll find too many people locally who are interested, we live in a place where the mentality is to do little and expect a lot in return but it seem like people from afar are often asking if we have opportunities like this.

I hear yah1 Maybe letting go a little when you see the other gains you may get - it can be very rewarding helping and teaching others. There was also a movement where people travelled and worked on organic farms so that may be an idea to board someone for a while in exchange for them working on the homestead.

Absolutely. It is something worth refining within myself! :)

We would love to have someone board here. One day when we can build an small guest cabin or tee pee or something suitable for accommodation we will absolutely do that! It is a great suggestion.

I think its a great idea. Even in our local community people run classes... how to make kombucha, soap, sourdough. They are great community events and fantastic opportunities to learn. The video conference idea could be FANTASTIC as with youtube you cant ask real time questions. Do it!

I might have to squish the video conference idea, Our internet is really poor out here. I really need to start working on some courses and putting the word out. I think this could really work for us. I need to talk to the business licence people and find out about all the rules and regulations as well. It would seem my three years of hermitage might be coming to an end. :)

I think.its a great idea. Go for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77