Wild Tip - Plant Edibles Everywhere!

Are your edible plants planted in specific beds with ornamentals getting all the spots closer to the house?

Often I see people making specific beds for their berries, other beds for vegetables, and others for fruit trees. While you can get good harvests this approach keeps food separate from the areas you enjoy on a day to day basis.

I prefer to instead think of it more has planned foraging.

This is where I mix in edibles everywhere. This way as I'm walking around my wild homestead there is just food all over.

Just as if I was walking through a natural area foraging as I went.

The result is that I can fit in a lot more food plants and it is much more enjoyable. Taking a slow walk and eating berries on the way or picking a mix of a dozen greens plus some flowers for a salad is just fun!

I mix in ornamentals too (mostly native plants) amongst the edibles and the end result is that most people would not even know I was growing food in my front yard.

I still have a garden and I will be adding more garden areas in the future but by mixing in edibles all over I'm building a natural life that I truly love.

If this appeals to you then I reccomend checking out my blog post all about perennial vegetables. These vegetables can easily be mixed in around your other plants.

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The added bonus is the food plants PRODUCE much more prolifically when they are mixed in with other flowers and fragrant herbs - and natural pest control.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Very true! I really like mixing my plants together :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been visited by @nateonsteemit on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Awesome! Next time, use the #naturalmedicine tag so your post will appear on naturalmedicine.io. Foraging, permaculture, and wildcrafting posts are welcome there for sure, as we recognize that the actions of some folks (like yourself) are a natural medicine for the land and our human relationship to it!

Did you know that Natural Medicine now has it's own token, rewarding natural healing and health wisdoms? You can check out our front end, www.naturalmedicine.io! If you've been involved in our community over the last year, check your wallets for tokens and stake them on Steem Engine to start curating with Lotuscoin!

Oh, and you still have a chance to win Steem by entering this challenge!) - last posts due Sep 5! Sponsored by Curie!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Discord green_heart Delegate Here

Thank you! And good to know that foraging, wildcrafting and permaculture related posts are welcome under #naturalmedicine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10