Today has been a magical day!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I am so very blessed! Kiyo has given birth to a healthy little doeling. I was lucky to catch it as it happened, it wasn't until a couple weeks ago I noticed she had milk in her udder. Have been working on a heated shelter since and it's almost complete but not quite so now mom & baby have taken up temporary residence in my house (trailer) haha. These are the challenges you will be faced with when not knowing the due date and letting your buck run with the does. Next year I think I will have a separate pen for males. Though I've been doing well so far not knowing exact due dates I wouldn't want to push my luck! It's especially unnerving when they're due in winter which I have never dealt with before! I will make a post on the heated shelter once it's complete.

IMG_20171230_135748[1].jpg

IMG_20171230_135809[1].jpg

This is how much snow there is, picture me bounding through it with a baby goat wrapped in a hoodie haha. It's only -10 today but that's still enough to freeze a wet baby. The rest of the animals are all very anxious to meet the new addition but they will have to be patient. They always get so excited when there is a new life among them. How is it possible to contain all this beauty? My heart will explode with joy.

IMG_20171230_131118[1].jpg

Sleepy baby

IMG_20171230_133402[1].jpg

Their communicating sounds melt my heart. I think I am overdosing on cute

Sort:  

Congratulations. There is another goat. Nice sharing.

Oh ... your baby goat is so cute. It is nice to see both mom and baby interacting with each other in the video. By the way, it's funny for me when you said, 'It's only -10 today'. That was about the lowest temperature I had ever been and can't imagine being at any temperature below that.

Thankyou! I'm glad I found time to capture that video, they are not as talkative now. It's -17 tonight! I've experienced -30 but no colder than that. I'm actually in pretty much the warmest part of Canada. Next door Alberta is experiencing -40 and lower! Eeek!!

I can't image how cold that is, even colder than a freezer. I am so used to the +20C. Last night the same Arctic cold front pushed all the way down to our area. It was +5C and was a real torture for me. ;-)

I can understand oding on cuteness.

Looking healthy and great. Wonderful to see. Yes, we keep our billy away until November / December so that we don't have early kids. The moms should kid out here in April or May. Much nicer time. <3

That makes sense. Do you keep him on his own or with any other goats? I'm hesitant to separate mostly because I don't exactly want a 2nd buck. But we may get mini sheep in the future and thought it might be cool to have him in with a ram.

He is on his own, but right beside the girls. It drives them all nuts, but at least they are close by. But it is only during the rut. For the rest of the year, they are all together.

Omgosh!!!! I am in love! So beautiful and healthy! Congratulations!
Looking forward to seeing more pics!

That baby is sssoooo cute!!!!!

And damn, that's a gorgeous place.

I am so totally coming over tomorrow to see it melt

CONGRATS! Looks beautiful and healthy

Awwww!! Overdosing on cutness over here too!!! Thank you so much for adding the video as well, OMG...watching her clean her baby....just precious~!! I'm sooooo glad you're on Steem!!!!

I shall upload more cuteness tomorrow, she has already started jumping around and dancing ^_^ Awe thankyou I'm glad to be here!!! It's much more connected and quality content compared to facebook nevermind the fact we get paid for it! <3

the little wagging tail! I cant wait to go see em in person before she grows up <#33

Aw, so cute! I don't know about goats, but winter birth isn't so weird for sheep, at least - Imbolc, which is February 1, is otherwise known as "the lactation of the ewes," and is dedicated to the goddess Brighid and full of milk and birth symbology. Not only were the animals birthing, but there were lots of Celtic human babies born then in antiquity (it falls nine months after a fertility holiday on 1 May). You're just a month early. 😉

Cool I did not know that! ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09