Life Hack: Aldi Cart Lock

in #howto5 years ago

For those of you that are lucky enough to live near an Aldi grocery store...I have a hack for you. I can't remember where I learned this, but I would love to share it with you all.

At Aldi they use cart locks. This is a lock that is attached to the handle and connects the carts together via a chain. You deposit a quarter into the front of the lock and the chain that is attached to the next cart will disconnect, and now you can seperate the carts.

This is a genius idea, and works efficiently. This encourages customers to walk the cart all the way to the front of the building so they can get their quarter back.

This is where the hack comes in. If you are ever out and about and need to run to Aldi, but you don't have a quarter....use a house key! That's right, a common house key.

The key slips right in place of the quarter and releases the lock. The key is then held into place just like the quarter would be. Good thing....don't want to walk off without your key!

I hope you enjoyed this little hack and are enjoying our adventure as much as we are.

Be well.
~The Yeti

https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Haha there are no aldis where we live now, but as a kid, we ALWAYS shopped there! This would have come in handy, using an old key instead, or a key on the keychain! Good to know! Ill pass it on to my mom who still shops there.

Awesome! I am glad you found this useful! Hey, how is your knife holding up?

Lol, I grew up with these carts from ALDI in Germany. I didn't know you have them now as well in the States. Do they sell Flips (peanut puffs, my favorite snack in the world)?

They sell alot of wonderful things! I love sweets, and they have germany sweets! I dont know about flips though

6478_2014-01-23-13-17-47.jpg

70% Corn, 30% Peanuts, and a bit of salt and oil. Nothing else. None of these gross spices that contain tons of chemicals.

Those look awesome. I will keep my eye out for them. My favorite is a maple flavored cookie....i ...love....cookies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23