How to Fix Portrait Pics When they Come in Sideways

in #howto6 years ago

Tired of This?!?

sideways.JPG

Want this instead?

Well you have come to the right place LOL!

P1080521.JPG

Hiya Friends!!

Welcome To

How to Fix Sideways Portraits

I sure do not know what has happened as of the past few weeks, but on both Steemit and Busy photos that are portrait orientation have been rendering in landscape. It is annoying and I wish things would go back to how they were. However, there is a simple work around that I use. Now I use Gimp which is free and open source full featured photo editing software available at https://www.gimp.org/.


Here is a short and easy to follow video of how I fix the issue.

Basically all that needs to be done is the photo needs to be loaded into Gimp. It will ask if you want to rotate it. I hit rotate. Then one must just hit > file > overwrite > export and just that fast it is saved over the previous one BUT with the correct orientation :)


If you know of a better way, please let us all know!


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

If you don't know, Watch the video!!!

Sort:  

I have been encountering it for weeks on and off. I used Ribbit to solve the problem, in much the same way as Gimp does.

Thanks for this! It is always something!

Upped and will resteem later

Tip!

Ah very good. I have yet to check that out but I am going to.

You are always so generous. It is much appreciated.

Thanks for your wise instructions.
I wonder why it's a recent problem?
Is Steemit going to fixed their issue here?
It doesn't seem to have a problem with comments.
frostbitten-1600.png
I

Yeah it only seems like it is a problem with brand new photos.

Hurrah, thank you!

Nice fix. I use Gimp and never had the problem...

Through a beautiful video, I benefited from being able to explain it beautifully. Thanks a little for everything.

@khackett also discovered if she edited it in any way in a photo editor, like by adding text, it stayed oriented correctly! So photo editors seem to be the key.

When I have encountered the problem, I simply remove the photo and upload it again and it's fixed. But in case this should happen to me and I can't fix it but it's nice to know about Gimp. Also, I just kind of want to try out Gimp because you say it can edit photos also. Awesome tutorial, I love your voice!

Well thank you!

This has happened to me a few times.

So I'm not the only one with this problem! Shew. I thought it might be my laptop doing it. I have a macbook pro. I open my pictures in preview and then make sure it is the correct direction then hit save. Just resaving my pics on a macbook solves the problem for me. If I don't resave then my picture will end up sideways.

Its weird because for the past year I never had an issue until recently!

Hasn't happened to me yet. How dare they rotate your photos the wrong way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77