HOW TO PROPERLY PICK UP A SNAPPING TURTLE

in #howto4 years ago

It's best to keep everyone safe.

For much of my life, I did not know how to properly pick up a snapping turtle. Unfortunately, many people out there are just like I once was, and are unintentionally puttng these turtles in harm's way, even when they are trying to help them.

In this video I briefly share a number of options that yopu can use to pick up a Common Snapping Turtle instead of lifting them by the tail, which can actually put such a strain on their reproductive organs that it can sterilize them. I hope it helps.

HOW TO PROPERLY PICK UP A SNAPPING TURTLE VIDEO

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

Best way is to use a bathroom plunger.

Posted using Partiko Android

Even the small ones are ferocious.. I tried to get one off the road but it just tried to bite me... I got a stick it bit down on and I was able to just pick him up and carry to safety....

Picking them up to get them out of harm's way is good - I like @manorvillemike's suggestion. Teaching people to endlessly pick up animals for their own curiosity is not anything I'd encourage tho.... just allow things to be and observe them. Let them wander off the road in their own time and go around them? So often we disturb the natural world far more than we need to.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I hear you there, but I'm addressing those who pick creatures up anyway. Many do not do it safely and hurt the animals, so I wanted to educate them. I wouldn't really suggest that people pick up turtles or snakes or tarantulas anyway.... LOL

Excellent advice...I had only seen people do the tail method!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72