🍅 How to plant the 3 sisters... 🌽 Corn, beans and squash (and melons 🍉 ) - How To: Weekly contest - WizStead Post #14

in #howtoweekly6 years ago

Corn, beans & squash = synergy

Commonly called the three sisters.

  • An age old tradition dating back to Native Americans.
    • Some people add a 4th sister... the sunflower...

I loosely followed the instructions from this web page

  • Corn, beans & squash = synergy
    • Corn provides a "trellis" for the pole beans to grow up.
    • Beans provide needed nitrogen to the soil.
    • Squash provides a living mulch to keep weeds down and moisture up.
      Also, supposedly, will cut down on raccoons stealing your corn, since they are prickly leaved.
      • Companion planting at it's best!

Yup, yup, this is me...

There are no hard and fast rules here, so feel free to come up with your own design.

✔ Build hills for the corn & beans spaced 5 foot by 5 foot.
✔ Plant 8 corn seeds in a 6-inch square.
✘ 2 seeds at each corner. I opted to do 1 seed at each corner and the other 4 between those around the perimeter making a square...
✚ TTD When corn is 4" tall, thin to 4 plants per hill and plant beans
✚ ✔ ✘ Plant hills of squash between the other hills when you plant the beans. I went ahead and planted these. And I didn't use just squash. I planted some Sugar Baby watermelons, 2 kinds of big watermelons, Hale's best cantaloupe, Waltham butternut squash and cushaw squash.
✚ TTD Mulch with black plastic, grass clippings and straw.

Here's what I ended up with...
Total size is about 15' x 35' of garden space.
IMG_20180511_200326826.jpg

Corn

I used 3 varieties.

  • Planted 9 hills of the earliest variety. 63 days!!!
    Early Sunglow
    • It's supposed to have 2 ears / stalk, so 9 hills times 4 plants times 2 ears = 72 ears Woohoo.
      • I planted 6 hills each of:

I find it easier to plant all at once and use varieties that mature at different times. The other option is succession planting, but who knows what I'll be busy doing in a few weeks, and a guy can only remember so many things... I know, I know, I do write things down, but then have trouble finding the notes when I need them! haha

  • I won't quite make July 4th with my Early Sunglow, but it should be ready about July 12th.
    • Next will be the Golden Bantam around July 29th.
      • Last but not least Silver Queen should be ready around August 10th.
  • Want to find out when your veggies will be ready?
    Head on over to this handy web page.

Melons

3 varieties of watermelons

  • Sugar Baby
    • Only 8", so they fit nice in the frig and perfect for a meal or sharing with my beautiful wife.
      • 75 days. Smallish vines compared to some of the others.
  • Crimson Sweet
    • Large 25 pounders
  • Charleston Grey
    • 28-35 pounders!!!

Hale's Best Cantaloupe

  • I've had good luck with these, because they are drought tolerant. They have produced where others failed when we had a dry year.
    • And they are very good!

Squash

Waltham Butternut Squash

  • Excellent for storing!

Cushaw Squash aka cushaw pumpkin aka Tennessee sweet potato aka Cucurbita squash

  • I grew these a few years ago. Only got 1, but that thing was BIG! We used it for decoration on the front porch. This year I plan on actually eating them!

Pole Beans

I haven't picked these up yet. I might go with the tried and true Kentucky Blue variety or try something new like the yard long variety. Sylvia's nephew grew these and he said they were great and his kids thought they were awesome!

  • I might try growing some pole Lima beans, too.

How To

Here's a pic of all the corn/bean hills started spaced 5'x5'.
Don't worry about all those weeds they get pulled in our next step...
IMG_20180509_184036594.jpg

Making the hills...
Spade up about a 2 foot diameter circle of dirt. Piling it to the middle.
IMG_20180509_182929452.jpg

Sit down and use your hands to crumble up any large clods.
This is fun!
Pat the dirt into a round cone.
Use your fist to pound a 6" x 6" planting area on the top. Leaving a ridge around the perimeter to hold water.
Lay out your seeds. Use your finger to push them in the soil about 1-2"
Pat the soil again to fill in the planting holes.

  • Mix in 16-16-8 or 15-15-15 fertilizer before planting.

You should end up something that looks like this...
IMG_20180510_194013906.jpg

NOTE: When you water, pull up dirt as needed to the edge of the top. If water starts overflowing on one side before the entire basin is filled, you need to pull up some dirt. I used a watering can, since I had a bit of trouble controlling the velocity coming direct from the hose. You don't want to make holes with your watering...

After planting some melons in between and watering.
IMG_20180509_201939574.jpg

A 3 sisters video

A 3 sisters planting at the Oneida Native American farm

Some other 3 sisters web pages:

Reminders to me...

  • Fertilize corn with 46-0-0 at 6 inches tall and again when start producing silk.
  • Harvest corn 17-20 days after the silks appear.
  • Blanch and freeze corn you cannot eat fresh
  • Leave 2 inches of stem when harvesting squash.
  • 43 Cushaw Squash recipes on Pinterest

Up for discussion

Have you ever grown the 3 sisters?

  • If so, tell us what you thought...

Does anyone know how this should fit in with crop rotation plans?

Does anyone recognize that weed with the white flowers?

About the #howtoweekly Contest

How To: Weekly is created, sponsored and judged by @aoart and @roscoeh.

Follow @howtoweekly to keep updated.
See all #howtoweekly posts. (just click on #howtoweekly)

All pics are by @WizarDave
wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg
Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

The directions here will anyone who wants to establish their own 3or 4 sisters garden. I grew one about ten years ago with corn, squash, and beans, sound yields all round.

Thanks @rlewing!

  • Good to hear you were happy with the results...

I've never planted corn before, so I would have guessed there would be more ears per stalk. These might be shorter stalks than I'm envisioning, though, since I've mainly seen cornfields grown commercially.

I have to say, though, you made me tired this time just watching all of that area you dug up, planted and mounded. You outdid yourself.

Still, I love the idea of the three sisters planting. The only thing we've regularly tried is some squash. I'll have to remember to suggest it to my wife. I don't know if she'll want to do it this year, though. We've probably taken up the logical space to put them in with our tomato plants, but anyway, now that I know, maybe we can try next year. She was eyeing the beans when we went to the nursery.

Loading...

This is a good idea. I have not seen companion planting yet or just because I do not know a lot of gardening lol! We do crop rotation though. The only combination planting I know is potted plants put side by side haha!

I'm really hoping to learn more about companion planting and crop rotation this year.

Beep bop, this is @pushbot.
I just received a signal from the Mother Ship that you may require a push.
You just got a 10.95% upvote courtesy of @howtoweekly!


Message from the Mother Ship:

You can earn daily profit by delegating SP to make @pushbot stronger. Delegators receive a share in 95% of the earnings.

Click one of the links below and start earning :)

10 SP20 SP50 SP
100 SP200 SP500 SP
1000 SP2000 SP5000 SP
Any Other Amount

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 47.94% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39