Humor -

in #humor6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 00.18.45.png

Photo cred: from my friend James, the sound guy.

Laugh And The Whole World Laughs With You.

Cry and, fuck it... it's easier for me to laugh.


If It Wasn't For Humor....


Fuck Crying... That's not what gets me through my days.

wikipedia defines humor in part as a term derived from the humoral medicine of the ancient Greeks, which taught that the balance of fluids in the human body, known as humours (Latin: humor, "body fluid"), controlled human health and emotion.


So, my countrymen defined humor as laughing until you pee your pants, I think is what they are saying? The irony is, I am typically thought of as funny, and yet, this is one prompt, where I cannot for the life of me, come up with a post!
As I chatted tonight with many, it dawned on me, I am not funny on demand I am situationally funny.

I don't tell jokes. I respond to the moment. Oh, occasionally a humorous story, or two, and then the punch line is almost always at my expense. Because, disarming people, putting them at ease, is, well, what I do...

ironpagebreak.png

Ever made 12 U.S. Marshals twitch and charge you, with a laugh? I have.
Many of you know, I work in special events. Last fall, 6 of the 9 justices of the Supreme Court were at an event for Harvard University. As one of the leads on the event, I was tasked with managing the justices and getting them from the green room to onstage on time. Now, the Justices for most high profile events travel with Marshalls, as it is the U.S. Marshals Service, that is responsible for their security.

In the green room, we were to put their lavalier mics on. Since our assistant audio guy was new, it was decided he would be in the room, but, I would mic up the principals. He would handle the Dean, and President of the University and I would
mic the Justices. I am equally at ease on a loading dock with the janitor or with Justices of SCOTUS. So, time comes and I am calling the Justices over, one by one in to a little side room, and mic'ing them up.

Now in the room is me, 6 of the SCOTUS, two of their wives, a few Harvard folks, and their wives. Plus 12 members of the Marshal service... I do 4 of the Justices and then I call over Chief Justice Roberts. My usual, *Hi, I'm Greg, and I'm gonna put your mic on, but he's not really listening or looking at me. I have only two real questions does he want the mic cable run down inside his shirt and where does he want the mic pack? But he';s not listening, so... in my usual method, I crack a joke. it gets their attention and the I can get what I need... So I lean in to Chief Justice, and say in his ear, now, I'm going to put my hands down your pants, so, turn your head and cough ok? He whips his head around and says WHAT? really loudly... As soon as he sees my face, with my wry grin, he laughs...

Unfortunately for me, 12 Marshalls heard him say very loudly WHAT? and they spring into action. 6 go for their principal and the others converge on me and a laughing justice. It went form boring to tense and back to boring in maybe 1, maybe even 2 seconds... but still, funny, to me!

Be good. Do good
Don't let Life Pass You By...
... Laugh More!

ironpagebreak.png

And more painfully for those around me, when I am in person, my humor has been known to be, Dry
Like London Gin dry. Desert Dry even...... maybe Sahara Desert Dry

ironpagebreak.png

More of my Musings

thealliance_468x60.jpg

Sort:  

wicked sense of humour there @bluefinstudios ... poor guy may have thought he was getting the best offer of the day only to find he was the butt of humour :)

Butt humor is good humor!

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hahaha yes indeed I bet he woke up quick with that kind of offer :P You were lucky you weren't tackled and cuffed!!!

not the first time around Marshalls... or the Secret Service.

I can't even imagine!!!! you're a brave one. LOLOL you must have a death wish.... hehehehe

Everyone should have mics hooked up by you! Whether they need a lavelier or not!!

This one will go down in history, told for years to come round the dinner table at family gatherings! No? Well it should!

It already gets told!
This is a highlight of sorts!

Hilarious! I would never have the guts to say THAT to a Supreme Court Judge! OMG!!

If only you had a video.... Laughing my ass off!

Great story!
~T

...the best part of being backstage, is, there's no record of anything happening!

😂😂😂 yeah, I can see the benefit in that - what happens backstage stays backstage. 😂😂😂

right?
best kept secrets

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86