My family is full of crazy people (me included)

in #humor5 years ago

The other day I ate some tortillas. The tortillas are somewhat peculiar though, because they were made with rapeseed oil, the package says.

DSC_1743 2.jpg

I don't actually know what this rapeseed oil is, but I don't actually wanna know, because I feel it might take the amusement out of it. I know, it's probably some plant that has nothing to do with rape itself. Maybe it's a stupid thing to find funny. But you know, you could say the same about death.

For a lot of people death is a taboo, but let me tell you, that isn't the case with my family (especially the father's side of it). I've talked about this earlier, but my grandfather who has cancer – which will probably end up taking him – isn't sad about it. On the contrary, he reminded me and my dad with a twink in his eye: "Do not forget to attend my funeral." I mean, death, yeah, it's sad, but when you see an old man laughing after saying that, what else can you really do other than laugh back. People just don't talk like that! That's why it's funny. Or what do you think? Maybe we are just twisted fuckos, all of us, with a twisted sense of humor. I mean, even during my aunt's birthday dinner, her husband casually just says that he already has a grave stone waiting to be put onto his grave (well, he is 65 or something, I'll give him that). You might think that the whole room would go quiet after saying that but no, everyone in there just laughs at it. And honestly, I think it's hilarious. Call me heartless bastard all you want, but that's just what we seem to do in the family: laugh at death.

Sort:  

I love that. We HAVE to laugh about death, because it's the one thing we know will happen so better not be too sad about it - there's a 100% chance it will happen and it shouldn't be a sad thing, rather a way to appreciate life even more :-) Hugs for your granddad, he seems like an awesome person :-)

If modern science ever manages to reverse or stop aging, I wonder what kind of existential crisis it will cause for people. You know, because they don't die (unless because of an accident), they might not appreciate life as much. And they might become overly cautious about every little risk, because they could die, but then they would forget to live life to the fullest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Rapeseed oil? No thanks. Even surprised such a name can still stand in our politically correct World

Even surprised such a name can still stand in our politically correct World

Yeah, me too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.455 which ranks you at #2243 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 52 places in the last three days (old rank 2191).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 152 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Uff!!! Kyseessä on rypsiöljy ja toi yritys yrittää selkeästi leikata kuluja käyttämällä sitä eikä oliiviöljyä. Toisaalta jos ennen käyttivät palmuöljyä niin parannus, mutta eipä tuokaan nyt ole parasta mahdollista imho.

Aijaa, se olikin rypsiä. No on se ainakin parempi kuin palmu, niin kuin sanoit.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 22.31% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86