(IJCH) By Popular Demand, A Slightly Revised Re-Post - "THE Scariest Text I Ever Got" (Humor)

in #humor6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) By Popular Demand, A Slightly Revised Re-Post - "THE Scariest Text I Ever Got" (Humor)

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Macho Warrior Panics!

Source

Background:

I am a retired U.S. Military veteran.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, I free-fall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

I've been in way too many hazardous situations to mention.

And if it wasn't for my training, I could not have remained cool, calm and collected while others around me panicked.

BUT...

One morning I received this text from my 11 y/o daughter while she was at school:

"Dad, Please bring napkins, I'm bleeding."

Holy Sh*t!

With shaky fingers, I immediately replied with:

"Understand. Be there ASAP. Love, Dad."

"Damn, I wasn't trained for this one!" I thought, "Sweet Bhudda on a cracker, help me - please!"

Source

Throwing on a T-shirt and jeans, I ran out my front door and hopped on my motorcycle.

Then, breaking the speed limit, I raced to the supermarket.

The Supermarket Debacle

Source

I ran through the store and headed straight to the "women's needs" aisle.

But when I got to the shelves of feminine napkins, I had no idea which ones to buy? Wings, no wings, heavy days, light days, overnight ...WTF?!

In a panic, I grabbed two of the female store employees and pleaded with them for assistance.

One woman proceeded to ask me one rapid-fire question after another - questions that I had absolutely no answers for.

"Sir, do you need wings, no wings, heavy days, light days, overnight...?"

"Ma'am, if I knew what I needed, I wouldn't be asking for your help."

She acted as though I hadn't said a single word and went right back into her 50 questions routine.

Losing my patience, I interrupted her monologue with, "I don't f@ckin know! My 11 y/o daughter is at school experiencing her first f@ckin period!"

After my rude outburst, the second employee just walked off.

(I remember thinking, "Imagine that? That bitch just walked away, totally dissed me, simply gaffed me off? WTF?!")

To make matters worse, the one employee that hadn't ditched me - so far - began asking me her same damn questions again!

That's when I totally lost it.

Source

"Listen to me. My 11 y/o daughter is having her FIRST MENSTRUAL CYCLE. My little girl became a woman this f@ckin morning and you're wasting my time playing f@ckin jeopardy!"

Just when I was ready to blow my last gasket, someone behind me said, "Excuse me, Sir."

I swivelled to face the voice and was surprised to see the employee whom I thought had abandoned me earlier.

She was holding a shopping basket filled with feminine napkins, disposable wash cloths, hydrogen peroxide for blood stains, ibuprofen, a "Your First Period, Congratulations" pamphlet, and a small bottle of spray-on floral perfume.

In other words, instead of pulling a runner on me, she was gathering everything that my daughter needed.

And with a genuine smile, she handed me the basket of items.

"Sir, maybe you should calm down before you bring that to your daughter. Children tend to pick up on even the slightest panicky vibes from a parent."

Suddenly, I felt like a class "A", number one a$$hole.

Source

Profusely apologizing to both employees, I went to the checkout counter and joined the queue. Surprisingly, a manager took me by the hand to another cashier that was just opening her checkout station; meaning: I was now at the head of this new line.

It was very kind of them to help me, especially when I was so rude earlier.

As I left the supermarket, I made a mental note to remember those people during the holidays and reciprocate their kindness.

Racing to my daughter's school, I hurdled the student turnstile, and landed right in front of a startled security guard.

The guard put up his hand.

I had no time for this nonsense.

Looking squarely into the guard's eyes, I said, "Don't EVEN TRY. You don't make enough money..."

(Wisely, he acquiesced to my fatherly advice.)

Or maybe it was my frustrated, reflexive, and utterly primal, U.S. Marine Corps "AAAARGH!" that did it? Whatever.

Source

He quickly stifled any thoughts of delaying me and moved his chair aside.

With his silent mouth still wide open, he gave me wide berth, and pointed to the nearest stairwell leading to my daughters third floor classroom.

Taking the stair steps, two and three at a time, I arrived at my daughter's classroom, sweat soaked, with moto-head hair that resembled multiple chopsticks stuck into the top of my head, and clutching the plastic bag full of my daughter's supplies.

I'm sure I looked like a crazed suicide bomber.

Her classroom door was open and her friends saw me before she did.

In unison, the whole class started chanting, "Dad-dee, Dad-dee, Dad-dee..."

My daughter appeared in the doorway and I walked to her. I knelt down, hugged her and said, "You OK, kiddo? We can go home, if you want."

My daughter opened the bag of supplies and took a quick visual inventory.

Satisfied, she gave me a kiss and said, "I'm fine, Dad. Thanks a lot. Go home."

While she hugged me goodbye, she added, "And Dad, that little vein above your left eyebrow is pulsating again. That means that maybe you should chill out. I love you. See ya later."

And with that, she skipped back into her classroom.

Imagine that?

Try as I might, nobody would empathize with my manly, panicky plight.

No commiseration.

Zip, nada, nothing.

I almost feel cheated.

Oh the humanity!...

Source

By JaiChai

Really Appreciate You Stopping By.

Truly hope to see you again!

And if you liked my post, kindly Upvote, Comment, Follow, and ReSteem.

(The above post is a revised version of: https://steemit.com/life/@jaichai/ijch-the-scariest-text-i-ever-got-11-y-o-daughter-from-school-dad-please-bring-napkins-i-m-bleeding-omg-in-retrospect-freakin)

About the Author

Source

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Source

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

jc17.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 99.55% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

You acted better in that situation than I would have. Wow, what pressure! Funny story.

awww this is awesome @jaichai! We really do build shit up in our heads sometimes, don't we :)

I love your daughter. I love the people in the supermarket. I love most of all those fatherly instincts.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 195 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

You turn normal stuff into great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82