You've got mail...(And when I say "you" I mean me)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #humour5 years ago (edited)

As a kid I thought it was quite fun to receive mail. I mean surface mail as there was no email when I was a kid. Every so often I'd receive a letter or post card from a relative and it would make my day. These days mail doesn't inspire the same reaction which is probably due to the fact that if I get mail it's usually a bill of some description that needs paying.

However I got mail yesterday that put a smile on my face (not a bill obviously) which is interesting because it was sent in jest and the joke was on me!

The images below show the mail that came through to my office for me today. It's a post card from Adelaide, South Australia which, for those who don't know, is where I live and work. You can see the front and back pictured. I have blurred out my work address and the two senders' names however you should be able to read it.

Here's what the words say:

Dear Galen "G-Dawg!" Thinking of you on our glorious day off, Monday, whilst you're @ work and we're NOT! X marks the spot. Condolences, A and S

Assholes huh? 😂

(The "X marks the spot" comment relates to where they were sitting in the Arcade enjoying their coffee and day off. See the blue arrow in the left picture above)

What you're looking at is a post card sent to my office from about 4 kilometres away from my office by two of my female work colleagues (and friends) who have had the last 3 days off to stalk Jon Bon Jovi and attend his concert; It was last night, Tuesday 4th December, in Adelaide. Obviously they were just having a laugh and kicking a man whilst he's down (me). It was pretty funny I admit and I sent them both a message on WhatsApp that simply said, "You're a couple of pelicans." If you knew them you'd agree, but they are such good friends too.

Anyway, the post card is pinned on my board and I'll save it as a funny keepsake. They come back to work today, in fact by the time you read this I've probably called them worse things than pelicans but all good-natured of course. I think it's pretty cool that they think highly enough of me to play this little joke knowing I would see it as just that; A joke. They got a great deal of enjoyment from it and so did I...

I'll have to think up something to get them back although exactly what eludes me at this time. I need something similarly vindictive and annoying yet passive enough to be perceived as a humorous joke. I'll come up with something I'm sure although sometimes my practical jokes end up like Wile E Coyote's efforts to catch and subdue Road Runner... 😈

wilee.coyoteandtheroadrunnerwallpapers2632947322.jpg
source

Just for the record, this morning when they came back to work I was the lucky recipient of a loaf of home made zucchini bread using home grown zucchini. We're all heading out at lunch for sushi too. I think they feel guilty! 😂 Now... Back to the drawing board to plan my return-prank.

Sort:  

Hahaha, while you were working they had fun ... I lovedBon Jovi... especially his songs: "Bed of Rosas and Aaaalways" ... he was one of our favorite artists when my husband and I were boyfriends ... as well as Bryan Adams. 😉

They enjoyed the concert apparently, but not coming back to work today I think. :)

🤣 you need fun colleagues like that 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

I got them and value them greatly. ♥️

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 27.36% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14