Story time..........by a 3 year old.

in #humour5 years ago

Sally came to stay with us, her Nana and Papa, regularly but at 3 years old she needed to be near me, her grandmother, most of the time. She adored the games we played, the gardening we did together and the stories I told her.

The day was progressing happily but I seemed to be far too busy for Sally’s liking and suddenly she put down her crayons and dragged at my hand as I tried to pass her by to fetch in the laundry.

This golden red headed child fixed me on the points of her blazing blue eyes and said in her most authoritative voice,
“SIT Nana.”
And I did!
Amused and somewhat impressed by this usually quiet child, I sank into a small sofa in the sun room.

“I’m going to tell YOU a stowy,” she said with her baby lisp intruding slightly into her speech.
“It’s a stowy about a BIG…………WRAT!


Pixabay

Now where has that wrat gone? I have to find him,” and she began peeping under the cane furniture and she flung some cushions from the chairs onto the floor.
She was in a flurry of activity, her little hands busy and her royal blue skirt flying as she really searched for the missing rat.
Suddenly she whirled around to face me, and raising her small dimpled hands flat palmed in a negative gesture, she announced,
“NOT to be fwightened Nana,
NOT to be scared.”

It took my breath away as this little girl supposedly ‘found’ the offensive rat under the one remaining cushion and used it to scurry the rat from the room through the open doorway into the garden.
She slammed the door triumphantly.

She came back to me, pink in the face from all her exertion, her shoulder length hair awry, patting her skirt into place as she flopped onto the small sofa alongside me.

“There you are………it’s gone now.
Whew!” she wiped her moist brow with the back of her hand, “just in time before tea,” she hinted broadly.
With milky tea in my fine porcelain cups that she loved so much, she dipped a home made biscuit and said,
“Your turn my Nana, you tell ME a stowy now.”

My heart melted then, 16 years ago and now this stowy teller of note is driving me around the city streets with great aplomb still entertaining me with the ‘stowies’ of her life and activities.

She is forever making sure that I’m safe from any ‘wrat’ that might come to scare me.

Copyright justjoy - all rights reserved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17