The day my new husband slpit his trousers!

in #humour5 years ago

On our honeymoon my brand new husband, from now on called ‘Himself’, was so blinded by love that he even sat on a horse on an out-ride for a painful hour and a half to please me. I had deliberately chosen a 'Beginners' Ride' to accommodate his inexperience.

In fact the horse he was on was SO idle that we lagged far behind the group.

pixabay.

As soon as they were out of sight he sighed with relief and dismounted and sat on a ‘comfortable’ rock easing his aching muscles. (You should have seen him staggering around the next day.)

In those early days I cared about appearances and what they looked like so when I heard the group of riders returning I begged him to get back on his horse. Still eager to please me he climbed back onto his horse and I sighed with relief!

To my horror the gentle reluctant to move horses had turned around and become a posse of bandits. They were galloping home to their stables and obviously some nice oats awaited them.
Before we could blink we were swept up in the bunch of, impossible to stop, mass of horseflesh.

One panic stricken woman who was a first time rider, as most of the others were, was screaming ‘help…oh help………..puleeeze help me!’ I am at home on a horse as I began riding at a very young age, so I was able to help keep her from tumbling from the saddle.

Himself’s face was grim and the stirrup leathers were doing horrible damage to his tender inner thighs as I had forgotten to tell him to wear long trousers. I felt terrible.

As we passed the hotel visitors all having afternoon tea and scones on the open lawn all I could see was their mouths hanging open in astonishment as the ‘beginners’ ride came barreling past in a cloud of dust. Some, who had obviously suffered the same fate, were openly guffawing with laughter.

Himself bailed off his mount like Hop a long Cassidy and landed on his back. He had simply had ENOUGH!

To this day whenever horses come up in conversation he mutters, ‘dangerous at both ends and uncomfortable in the middle.’

When he recovered from his injuries, his pride having suffered the most, he took me down to the hotel’s trampoline to show me his prowess. A few years prior to our marriage he had been an expert and part of the trampoline gymnastic team in the South African Air Force.

He warmed up carefully, reminding his body of tricks and twirls that it had forgotten about.

I was at first his sole admirer but as he got going other people stopped to enjoy the spectacle he was making of himself. He was pretty good and when he did a backward leap and bounced and did a double somersault going forward someone actually ‘oohed’ and clapped.

Naturally that spurred him on and upwards. His final leap was up into the air and he came down a little awkwardly and did the splits somewhat unexpectedly when his long legs his the trampoline. He might have covered up his error if it hadn’t been for his casual trousers that he was wearing. They were totally unsuitable for all these acrobatics and as he hit the canvas there was a loud rrrrripping sound as they spit from the waistband at the back to the zip in front. He revealed his tighty whitey Jockey scants to all and sundry and there was a burst of laughter from his audience.

Being a show off he did another somersault and took a bow before leaping off the trampoline still trying to recover his equilibrium.

Guess who had to borrow a needle and cotton from the housekeeper and perform an emergency repair to his favourite pair of pants?

Tomorrow I will tell you about the time he split another pair of trousers.
On that occasion he was trying to escape a desperate situation!

Sort:  

Funny memories. I keep on meeting many new words. Yet I think I understand why I meet some many of them in your writing. You are South African and I bet the word usage over there is slightly different than in the US. Don't you think?

Absolutely Mgaft1.
I am of British descent so I speak what we think is the King's English........not that it is superior in any way, just more formal/proper. I'm intrigued by the grammar that people in the US use. The word 'gotten' is not a word in my opinion but it is also being used more and more by kids and even in the written word.
Everything must change and even I enjoy some slang expressions. Good for fun but not for serious writing.
All the best with your writing and photographs.

Ah... That's what it is. For a non-native speaker, as I am, all English is a novelty: King's English or peasant's English. Though since I live in the US I am more accustomed to Americanisms. There's also a proper American English and a folksy way to say things. And I ain't no all of it, too. )

I do feel certain propriety in your writing as if you sit on a chair with a very straight back and drink tea, holding the china cup with two fingers. )

hahahahaha! Yes, I do try to sit with a very straight back. I see so many retired people looking 10 years older than they are because they slouch....noses drooping onto their concave chests!
When I catch sight of myself in a shop window for instance I want to look sprightly and on my toes, not as though I'm about to keel over into my grave.
Thank you for the laugh! You have assessed my quite accurately.
I have however, a very naughty streak in my personality and love funny jokes, even when they are played on me.
Your English is pretty good. My second and third languages are ok but I cannot write in them as you do in English.
Well done.

You definitely have a funny bone in you! Though it is very dry humor as British humor supposed to be. My favorite is Winston S. Churchill's quote
“My tastes are simple: I am easily satisfied with the best.”

I wish I could give you good advice, but I am puzzled myself. It's as if some users are only allowed a certain number of views and that's that.

I am here from 2016 and it used to be a nice place to accumulate cryptocurrency. My short stories used to make (+/-)$20 each. Right now it's a hit and miss. Although misseses happen much more often than hits. A couple of weeks ago I wrote a quite silly story for a prompt and it unexpectedly made me $15 bucks or so and lots of views. By now I cannot understand why? So, I don't know. If I ever figure it out I will undoubtedly tell you.

Cheer!

Lighthearted fun walk down memory lane, neither trampolines nor riding horses come high up on my hit parade.

Laughter is always the best medicine, especially when reflecting on embarrassing moments, normally when it is not our own.

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

Hey Joan, what welcome news. I'm flattered to by nominated. Is there anything I should be doing to know more about the discord group?
Thank you for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23