Happy Independence Day Nigeria.

in #i-rise6 years ago

Preface

For the love of community, for the love of my country, for the love I have for @i-rise network and the i-rise whatsapp community, that's why doing this, seriously, I've promised myself never, I mean NEVER to watch the dirty linen of my country in an open place, not to talk of the unforgettable, unforgivable blockchain. But, since we have another side to it, which is the aspect of providing solutions, I think I might want to buy into the contest.


Source

The Beginning

October 1st, 1960. That day wasn't an ordinary day, a lot has been it to make it what it is, the freedom fighters for a new independent republic were heroic to have made us all free from the shackles of the British Empire. Years after that, we all found out we were wrong. I mean, really wrong. We aren't ready yet, to make it worse, we never strive for a unified growth.

The first and second republic exhibit a stable economy and the advent of the military starts bringing in some cancers into the system. A cancer that will later tear the country into pieces, the east, west, north and south, for before that, Nigeria was one, though each tribe strive to be known, we still have this togetherness that cut across border. The civil war made it worse. Culture wise, this was the last straw that broke the camel's back.

The Cancer Crept In.

The underlining problem that shows forth in this is division which also degenerate into the "I and me" syndrome as I will like to call it. The north thinks the power belongs to them and them alone, I. The south believes they have the share of the government, me, the east thinks they are the ones been left out at all time in the government, me.

And when one single thing happened to some people in the part of the country, the president thinks, so far it doesn't or hasn't affect my people, then we can go on and act as if nothing happened, the Government thinks so far the death of one single Nigerian either home or abroad didn't affect the oil price, then we are all good to go. This is a very wrong ideology that has crept into every nook and cranny of the government, even to our homes, that's the reason we left so many infrastructure unkept and dilapidated, so far it doesn't affect my salary, so far it doesn't affect me, it's the government.

How I wish I could dig deep into this clearly to tell you how this cancerous idea has destroyed a lot of life, the crash airlines of past years was due to negligence, they thought so far it doesn't affect our income or cut our budget, let's manage it, and poof, they all died. The road untarred, the government saw it, but they thought so far my (the governors, ministers, president) children aren't plying this road nor is the head of state coming, it doesn't concern me.

So, we have chaos everywhere, nations toiled within us as they like, we lost our pride and place at the Commonwealth and AU, no respect anymore as other nations keeps on striving higher both economically and infrastructure, while we are still here embezzling. Our only pride now is the Nigerian jollof and our music artiste who everyday sings pure rubbish.

The Solution.

Until we start to see that the next person to me is Nigeria both as a single entity and as a whole, be you Hausa, Igbo, or Yorùbá, we must know that whatever happens to each and everyone of them happens to the whole Nigeria at large.

If we put this in mind and throw away our oil doom money innitiatiave, we will be better as a nation, no First World country has ever progress with her mindset set on her natural resources, every nations today that has been on the forefront of global leadership has always put her people as her primary responsibility. There utmost concern. I hope Nigeria will learn from this, I hope we all.

Only unity can solve the problem of Nigeria. I'll end it with the words in the first Republic anthem.

"Though tribe and tongue may differ,
In brotherhood we stand."

..
Happy Independence Nigeria
..

The above is my entry into @i-rise network contest ::--https://steemit.com/i-rise/@irise-network/happy-independence-day-nigeria-contest-d8b3cdb2d0df1

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Am amazed as to how many talented people we Have in this country, who are under performers due to environment. Bigups bro

#bigwaves

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85