MyPictureDay: Oh the Things I Did For Photos... ๐Ÿ˜‚ (IFC Finals - First Round tie breaker)

in #ifc โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

Well... Who said scavenger hunting would be a walk in the park? ๐Ÿ˜‚

Went out twice, today and yesterday for this IFC Finals competition! Oh wait, it's past midnight so the other day and yesterday. ๐Ÿ˜…

The other day there were no clouds in sight at all. Booo. So yeah I prayed for some lightning but of course how can it happen with a clear blue sky? Yesterday was different though.

Early in the afternoon my phone showed the weather forecast and it said we had a thunderstorm. Oh wow. The icon even had a tiny lightning. Haha. So I was happy enough to go out and hunt.

Here are the items we had to shoot for the tie-breaker scavenger hunt:

โ€ข Flowers 1 point
โ€ข Swimming pool 1 point
โ€Œโ€ข Cave 1 point
โ€Œโ€ข Twin pillars 2 points
โ€ข โ€ŒSpider 2 points
โ€ข โ€ŒShield 3 points
โ€Œโ€ข Dream catcher 3 points
โ€ข โ€ŒGraffiti 3 points
โ€ข โ€Œโ€ŒMayan/Aztec calendar 4 points
โ€ข โ€ŒLightning 5 points
โ€ข Bonus: Power Spot

And of course I was able to photograph everything. Wasn't easy but I did what I could with the items I really couldn't find physically. Started a bit late in the week too. ๐Ÿ˜‚

I have backups for each item actually, meaning pictures of images of the items. At least just in case I couldn't find the real ones I had the next best thing. Lol. So imma post two pics for each entry.

I will call one Sub for Substitute and the real items will be Real. All Subs are from the mall. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Some photos have super blurred photo tags though so I might post three photos per item. Uhm... But I did learn how to make better readable photo tags in the end. Haha.

Without further ado, here are the items I found. Drumroll


Flowers

Sub
These are plastic flowers from the decor area at the department store. :D I took a lot of photos actually. Hehehe. But this one will do.

image



Real
This one is called Santan locally... Or Ixora coccinea Linn./ Jungle Flame We used to sip the nectar from the flowers as kids. Haha.
image




Swimming Pool & Power Spot

Sub
Here's something from a travel magazine at the mall.

image



Real
You pool you. Tried to go somewhere else aside from Marikina Sports Center (MSC) but alas, the online information on the time it closes was (possibly) not true.

Online it said the Ateneo Grade School swimming pool was open until 6pm I even found something that said 10 pm! Turns out it was already closed at 3pm. Bummer. They opened it to the public as far as I know but when I got there I was turned away. Not funny.

And then while I was talking to the guard and trying to ask a favor to just take a picture, the sky lit up several times which distracted me. Oh some lightning!!!

Heck I should have left asap instead of asking for pool pics when they clearly do not allow it. Weird. I will get to the bottom of this Ateneo Grade School Pool. ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ’ช (Yeah, I will make a separate post abt it.)

In short, I went to MSC (after I hunted some lightning) and it was already closed because night swimming are only allowed during summer. At least they were not super strict like the Ateneo policies. Well, because it is a public property. ๐Ÿ˜…

Eherm so here's the Olympic size pool. (Oh look at that lovely lighting. Errr, if I edit the pic you will probably say so too. Lol.)

image

Bodies of water seems to be my power spots so even pools make me feel better. So sad I could not swim even if I was ready to swim hours before I got there!

Next best thing to bodies of water would be anything in nature. ๐Ÿ˜œ Parks, trees, cats, gardens, etc.



Cave

Sub
The nearest cave to Quezon City seems to be in Rizal. I didn't go there because it's not practical. I would lose a significant amount of money for my future plane tickets (oh moolah come to mamah!) if I went to anywhere with caves. So of course in the mall and elsewhere in the city we go. :P

You know what I discovered too? Travel magazines do not have photos of caves at all!!! Lol. It's all lifestyle and high end shizz. No wonder the rich people only go to the places for the rich. Haha.

Here's a pic of a book photo instead.

image


Real
Good thing tunnels are allowed, I originally thought of the underpass going to QC Circle but then when I was on the way to the pool I rode the LRT 2.

Usually I ride jeepneys going to Marikina. On the way there, suddenly I saw and noticed the LRT 2 line goes deep underground going to Katipunan station. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Whoa. So when those lightnings kept peppering the sky at the school, that was the first place I thought of.

I needed a good view for the lightnings too because all the buildings were obstructing the sky!!! Ugh I almost ran all the way just to find a better place but then again I just walked to the LRT station since everywhere I looked, structures were blocking the dark cloudy sky.

But then, it was underground remember? ๐Ÿ˜‚ (Instead of the usual high up there.) Couldn't get a good view from outside the station so I went up the elevated steps. Well at least it was high enough than the roads and I could see more of the sky.

Wait I will post the cave/tunnel and others first. ๐Ÿ˜‚

This is the underground passageway going to the station.

image



And look, a dark tunnel far away. ๐Ÿ˜ Where the train comes and goes.

image




Twin pillars

I originally planned to go to UP Diliman for this the other day but look what I found on the way!!!

image

I didn't realize they are twin pillars until I saw them with fresh eyes. ๐Ÿ˜‚

No Sub photo for this one. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Here's a much brighter one from yesterday.

image




Spider

No Sub for this too. Easy peasy.

image

image

Good thing I took a shot before the house got cleaned. Hahaha!




Shield

Sub
Look, Wonder Woman's shield!

image



Real
At the LRT after I shot me some lightning, I remembered @eaglespirit's shield was from the police... I did see the Ateneo guard had a shield but meh didn't want to ask a pic after how he was not letting me take pool pics. Boo.

So here's the badge/shield from a lady guard at the LRT instead. She asked me to cover the bottom part because it had her number. I'm not sure but maybe it's like a guard number? I learned something new today! Shiny guard badges had their guard numbers on it! Hah!

image

image

Actually it was not too noticeable even with my glasses on since it was shiny, but of course we must respect their request. ๐Ÿ˜




Dreamcatcher

Sub
Couldn't find the small one I had so went out to shoot it. Saw a shirt the other day so here you go.

image



Real
Was losing hope on the way home yesterday because I didn't find any anywhere! And then before I got to the tricycle station, I checked the accessories store I always pass by. Lo and behold, a big dreamcatcher was hanging! Omg!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

And there were more inside! Lookit.

image

image

There were also colored dreamcatcher earrings supposedly from Korea but I spent my money on fruits so will drop by next time.




Graffiti

Real
No Sub because oh we have some around everywhere. Vandalism ftw. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Here's several graffiti on walls.

image

image

image

image




Mayan/Aztec Calendar

Sub
This one, I only have a Sub. Tried to find anywhere it could be available but to no avail. Even found someone online who had one in their office in 2015! Sent an email and an FB message the other day but got no reply. Probably because it was evening already and yesterday was a Sat. Oh well.

Here's one I found from a book sale store. I wasn't expecting to find one in it but look at that!!!

image

From this book.

image

Was so amazed to have found it that I just had to include the book where it's from.



Lightning

Sub
And of course, the star of this post. Wahaha. The most difficult photo ever to capture! Yeah the pool one had some issues but this one was technically challenging!!!

But first, the Sub photo from a student Science book the other day.

image

Real
Ah yes, now for the moment you've all been waiting for. Don't expect too much please because I only got one lightning out of waiting for 30 minutes, or was it an hour? It felt like forever!!!

I don't know if you will see it but here's a tiny lightning in the cloudy sky. Look to the upper left. It's really tiny.

image

And here's when it lit up the sky.

image

It was just a split second and it was gone! Good thing I had a video of it or else I would never have captured it at all!

D.Tube video here! Such a shame it can't be embedded like a YouTube vid. Pffft. So maybe I will upload in YT.

Edit: Okay here's the YT vid.

The vid has been slowed at half it's original speed and yet it took more than a few split seconds before it was gone! It's that quick!)

Whew. What a day. Hahaha.

So, what do you think? ๐Ÿ˜‚

XOXO,
@artgirl

All photos taken using my Xiaomi Red4A.


For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.


Images are mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
ยฉ Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also an online seller. For art and writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
You can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

โ™ฅ Thanks! โ™ฅ

Sort: ย 

Yay! You got your lightning! I was wondering if you were going to get it reading through your post...the suspense was killing me :)

Hahaha, my gosh so hard to take a pic of it but I finally got it! Yay!!!

Grabe sobrang effort nito fren. Hahahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha!

Hahahahahaaaa!!!

Juskolord. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Napaisip nga ako dahil s issue ng pool tengene kairita pero sige lang habol n lng ng kidlat tas pool. Boom. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol!!! Hahhahaa iba ka talaga tol lahat susuungin. Hahahha

Posted using Partiko Android

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

D lahat, yung keribels lng. Wag mxado effortan kc wla nmn bayad. hwehehe. S dulo p ung prize if manalo.

Chelemets... haha.

Ano yong nasa hotwheels na laruan? akin na hahaha dagdag sa collection, di kac ako maka apord ng hotwheels wawang bata.

Huhu bakit d mo ginawa sa esteem ito, di ko tuloy ma summon c haring kalikasan.. try mo daw edit s esteem.

Ginawa ko sa esteem yan luh. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Bkit d automatic yang si esteem? ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

D ko po binili yan e, picture lang lahat. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Dati automatic sya ngaun manual na cla gawa ng may mga ibang post na hindi ba quality may iba kac isang pic lang tas masayang ung boto ni pareng mabaet na karma na dapat sana sa ganitong post sa iyo hehe.

hhmm baka na edit mo sa steemit, kac steemit na nakalagay eh.
k6rrrkp4pg.png

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Shempre inedit ko s steemit. Pero ung link nawala n b ung s title s dulo?

Pag gawa s esteem lagi may numbers letters s dulo ng post link. D p pwede un? ๐Ÿ˜…

Posted using Partiko Android

Kaya pala, oo nawawala sya nagiging via steemit na sya.

Bsta ginawa ko s esteem yan. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ try modaw update s esteem. subukan natin. hehe

Bat wla nmn ako nkkta s esteem nakalagay steemit? San nyo chineck?

Posted using Partiko Android

Ang hassle ng esteem huh.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pakitanong din if s nxt time bsta may number letters s dulo ng post link indicating n pinost s esteem if pwede n un nxt time pls.

Naedit ko na pohwz. Tenkyuberimats.

Posted using Partiko Android

Bakit yung kay @pinay binoboto ng walang sabi sabi? Huhuhu itchampeyr!

Posted using Partiko Android

hehe yaan mo na yan c @pinay RICH KID kac yan.. huhuhu ampeyr nga eh.

Onga e.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yehey andyan na sya.. hehehe

Yehey tenkyuuu

Posted using Partiko Android

Galing mo talaga hehe.

Luh, how to be u po? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

haluh, haha sshhhhh

wow pati badge ng guard hahaha effort kung effort!

Luh mdali lang ung s guard e. Sisiw. Haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

wahaha di ba nila tinanong kung para saan?

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Shempre tinanong. E d sinabi ko. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha buti at ok sa kanila

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Bkit? May problema ka b s guards? Hahahaha

Sa Ateneo guard ako may issue e. ๐Ÿ˜œ

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha uy wala no. Anong meron sa ateneo guard? hahaha

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Luh d pala binasa post ko. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

Binasa ko pero lumipad na hahaha ๐Ÿ˜‚

LOL, I'm surprised the police guard let you take a photo of their badge! It also looks like you have taken a boob shot with it as well!!! HAHAHA!

Congrats on the lightning shot, that was a tough one!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Hahahaha... wait it's not a boob shot! Don't look at it that way. It's a badge shot! hahahaaa. Yeah she was nice enough to let me take a pic. :D

And thanks! It really was challenging! Whew!

Awesome job!! I'll be rooting for you all the way to the finals!! :)

Thanks! But... I haven't checked the points and all that... Lol.

Apolymask put the points up in discord, they are getting another judge to count to make it official, but you had me bet by 20 points!! Great work! :)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Oh I see. haha, thanks for letting me know. :D

I'm thinking if the cave had more weight you might have had more points? Lol. But it's all good it's been a great and challenging round! :)

wow, that was crazy! especially after waiting up to the day before it was due ... i am def not posting until the last day from now on! LOL

It was unintentional I swear! Lol. Just had the time later in the week. :D

@artgirl yeah yeah ... well it looks like you may have won and we may be up against each other this time, so i am definitely NOT posting until the last day. :p

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Posted using Partiko Android

@artgirl those are three boxes on fast reply heehee

Oh it's a smiley. The loling one.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 205 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow amazing. Thanks! Wonder who will be the generous big curator/upvoter. Lol.

Hindi ka pa masaya nyan ha ako masayang masaya na sa $1 ๐Ÿ˜…

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Shempre masaya, d lang ako natutuwa na kelangan p sabihan palagi bago ako iboto. At least ikaw binoboto kusa d n kelangan sabihin.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ewan ko kahit yung nsfw ko kusa naman nyang binoboto dati kaso wala ako maisip ipost ๐Ÿ˜…

Weh? Meron ka nsfw n post? Bat d ko nkita? ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Nka-on pla filter ko. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77