IFC Finals - First Round tie breaker entry

in #ifc6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the First Round tie breaker for the Information Finding Championships (@ifc) by @apolymask.

Phew, this was a tricky one! I was really working on trying to get the lightning, but I had mixed results! Of course, it turned out to be a week of perfect sunny weather in The Netherlands...

Flowers 1 point


Well, I left this one for last... Flowers are not a problem in Netherlands!

Swimming pool 1 point


Did I mention that I'm a super proud father with a daughter that just passed her SwemDiploma A?. She's pretty chuffed too!

Cave 1 point


Well... there is a man-cave...


Or our food and wine cellar?

Twin pillars 2 points

I had a perfect idea for this. We have two 6 year old identical twins at our neighbours. I was going to get them to hold up a plank or something, and the I would have TWIN Pillars! My wife thought it was too weird, and she stopped me from doing it...


So, I had to make do with the pillars that are on this gate in ChinaTown.

Spider 2 points

I was going to make a spider (Coke and ice-cream), but I left it too late to write this post. I'm not going to drink a spider right before bedtime! And so I have to go with my backup...


Shield 3 points

This is the Nvidia Shield Tablet. A powerhouse tablet for it's time, and still running strong!



Sadly, it has been replaced in it's duties by a much more powerful smartphone and a Nintendo Switch combo!

Dream catcher 3 points

Caught them!


Graffiti 3 points

Contrary to what @plushzilla thinks, we actually have no graffiti on our walls due to the girls!

They live in fear!!!!!!!

However, we did get some nice graffiti on the motorway!


Mayan or Aztec calendar 4 points

Sadly, I had just thrown out last year's Mayan calendar in the big spring clean, and so I was going to have to make do with something else. So I made one, using the instructions from www.mayaarchaeologist.co.uk . Where I learnt a surprising amount of information about the calandar! I haven't really figured out how to use it though....


Lightning 5 points

I'm going to say this right off the bat! This was a complete bastard of a shot to take!!!!!


First, we tried to make lightning from static electricity in a glass bottle. This might have worked in winter when the air was super dry, but in this week, it was too humid and the charge just dissipated too quickly... So onto plan B, which was finding known sparking appliances!

I have a drill which makes a spark if I hit the brake hard... so I was playing around with that for a few minutes and got this shot!


YYYYYYEEEEEEEESSSSSSSS!!!!!!

Then my girl said, aren't you supposed to have the paper in the photo?

FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF............

I must have took over a hundred more photos trying to get that shot again with the #@%^$@YW^@$^@%^@$ paper. But it never came, even with burst mode. I must have just completely lucked out in the first 5 minutes for that first photo...

Anyway, so I switched to videos and slow motion... and then got screenshots after doing a frame-by-frame inspection of the video... and I got the following shots, but nothing getting the lighting spark in clear detail, only the flash and afterglow...





So, that was the best I was able to do with the drill... If only I had that paper in the first shot... I feel like Ralphie the Weatherman from the Magic School Bus....


POWER SPOT!


This is home. It is my power spot. I am rested, I feel secure, I am surrounded by loved ones. Here, I feel like myself, completely centred and grounded. When I am away for work or on tour, I just don't feel right...




The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/07/06/ifc-finals-first-round-tie-breaker-entry/

Sort:  

Very nice work @bengy. I was chuffed reading this. I had to look that word up btw. I like the creativity you had getting the lightning shot.

Ha ha, hope you like the new word!

I'm chuffed over it.

Ha ha! Good one!

I am impressed with your legit Mayan calendar!
Also, the homemade lightning. Kudos!

Thanks! I really learnt a fair bit about Mayan calendars while I was doing it... the Internet is worse than encyclopedias for getting distracted into a bit of off topic learning!

Interesting post haha 👍

Thanks, it is a great game that @ifc and @apolymask have got going here!

Oh you threw away your Mayan calendar? But why??? Maybe you could sell some next time? 😁 But that's amazing you made one for yourself too!

Actually I like how you made most of them. 👍 And congratulations to your daughter! With a pool like that I'd swim everyday! Haha. Didn't know one can get a swimming diploma. That's cool. We only get certificates for swim classes here. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, you know... going digital means the Mayan calendar was getting hard to keep up to date each day!

The swimming diploma here is a pretty big deal... it means I can throw her in the water fully clothed now, and have time to finish sandwich before panicking!

😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Trust the little ones to mix up the fun. At least they saved you from posting without the paper. ;-}.

Yes, but it was a moment of loud internal cursing!

Ah yes, I can hear it now in my head, like on the day I did most of my huntings, and knew the only place that had a little graffiti only to get home and then realize I forgot, I bet it sounded similar to my head. nasty things those internal voices, so mean at times.

LOL! I like you, @bengy - your humor is the best. I had many backup plans for that lightning, too - that's why I knew what you meant by 'lightning in a bottle', then I switched to desperately trying to find a Tesla coil (I could probably drive to a storm in the distance I would have had to drive for the coil), then it was a plasma ball (this was my final plan). That was a hard one for sure! Your description of the process was hilarious.

Home truly is the best power spot of all

Plasma Ball was my next alternative. However, I didn't manage to find time to visit the science museum...

Yes, home is the best!

TIER UPVOTES ARE IN EFFECT!!!
NEW TIER UPVOTES user guide



Current price is 0.12 or 0.121 SBD for 200%, 250%, or 300% upvote based on tier level.

200% ($0.24) - Bronze Level - No requirements
250% ($0.30) - Silver Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 (whichever is possible)
300% ($0.36) - Gold Level - SteemAuto Upvote of 100% or $0.02 AND 50SP delegation

All delegators make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82