IFC S1: R33 - Entry For Random Act Of Kindness ---> Helping Chief Kenny

in #ifc6 years ago (edited)

Random Act of Kindness


Source


A very interesting topic has come up for the one of the current contest subjects for @ifc. I missed the "freedom," topic but here I am with "kindness." When we all think about kindness we may have different meanings.

The act and words of kindness I learned innately from a child, little did I know that I was a high sensitive person and an empath. With that came responsibility and I knew it from a very young age. I was always asked to help the family by giving "massages" or rubbing feet.

At the time, I just thought I was rubbing but in actuality I was imparting energy. Healing energy.

Most of the time I do not even think what I say, do, or share with others is an act of kindness. It's ingrained in who I am.


image
Source

When I became an ordained minister, of course reading the Bible was a daily activity so the scripture taken from Luke 6:35 comes to my mind and it reads:

On the contrary, continue to love your enemies and to do good and to lend without hoping for anything back; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, for he is kind toward the unthankful and wicked.


So, not only is it an act of kindness to love our enemies but to give without a hope of getting anything back. This scripture takes us a further step in that being kind towards those that are even unthankful and wicked are seen by God. Our soul understands this too even if our human brain doesn't acknowledge kind deeds.


Source


Some people may not fully prescribe to the teachings of the Bible and that is okay. Personally, I have found many of the writings to be inspirational. Another scripture found in Ephesians 4:32 teaches us:

But become kind to one another, tenderly compassionate, freely forgiving one another just as God also by Christ freely forgave you.


If we believe that Jesus came to earth and died for humankind then these words may ring true. If we do not believe in the Bible, but maybe we believe in Creator or a Higher Power that forgives us our mistakes on a daily basis then these words may be more palatable. Forgiveness is an act of kindness.

These were the foundations of how I grew to understand the word kindness. Through examples of my family I started volunteering at the age of five years old for many non-profit organizations, feeding the hungry, helping the poor, and assisting the homeless. Of course, many of my family members were present but a consistent giving was an every day part of life.

As I grew older it became natural to be a public servant and help not only in my career but also as a volunteer in the community. This is almost becoming an account of who I am in regards to the word kindness, and for that I apologize. The bottom line is that I help people every day, it is difficult to point out a "random act," since I actually live to help others.


Source


On a regular basis I volunteer at my local hospital to assist impoverished or imprisoned women give birth in a Doula role. Additionally, I give 12 complimentary sessions of Reiki energy work to those diagnosed with cancer.

If I have extra food I am usually taking it to the local homeless and give it to them. This post is not to give myself accolades, I guess I am writing this out because it's not uncommon for me to do a "random act of kindness." For me, it is not "random" it is how I live my life.

Fortunately, I was raised during a time when you could still rely on your neighbor for help, if someone was in trouble people stood up for each other in an act of justice, or if a man was harming a woman or child then someone went to their aid. These are just examples of kindness that was common and things I have personally seen.


My Act Of Kindness


Source


The most recent act of kindness that I did was a couple of days ago, and it had to do with my Native American culture.

One of my good friends and Chief was suffering terribly from a tremendously painful outbreak of poison oak. Unfortunately, he let it set too long without treatment and it spread all over his body. After seeing him two weeks ago I offered him energy work and he accepted.

The next day he was able to walk after two weeks of not being able to move at all. After that energy work treatment he was able to go to the doctor and received antibiotics. The round of antibiotics caused more outbreak and a horrible allergic reaction.

The allergic reaction could be seen on the remaining places of his body that was not covered by the poison oak. He could hardly move because at his joints it was so painful from the swelling of his skin that it would crack and bleed. Then the puss would come out and not go away. Sorry for the graphic.

I will refrain from showing photos but the doctor stated that "if it got worse they may have to cut his leg off." His legs, hands, and arms were black with how horrible the outbreak was and took on the appearance of gangrene. So, how did I help him? Luckily, in Colorado marijuana is legal and with that comes many medicines that are not always available to everyone.

That said, the Chief is totally against "drugs," and many debate that marijuana is a drug at all. So, someone had suggested hemp butter, which as a healer I know this was not enough for this particular situation. I hinted (since he's Native and can' be told) that I could go across the street and get some cream that would help him. To my surprise he agreed!

Without hesitation I ran across the street (don't ask me how I know where to go or what to get), and I bought the cream that would help the Chief. The cream had amazing ingredients of CBD, THC, and CBN. After spending $65.00 on the cream, applying a thin layer on the Chief, along with more energy work -- by the next morning much of the scabbing had come right off. The puss had dried up on the open and bloody spots on his body and he was on the mend.

Would I have done this anyway? Of course! Was this really a "random act of kindness?" I would say so, in only that I had to sort of push the "drugs" on a Chief for his mental, physical, and spiritual well being. There had to be an unexpected but quick decision that had to be made and I moved fast. Otherwise, the moment would have been lost.

During our sweat the next day he stated how grateful he was because he did not think he would have made it without my help and getting him that medicine. The mention of my name during a sweat was quite the honor by a Chief and the next day he gifted me with a new pouch.


unnamed.jpg
Hand stitched and blessed pouch given to me by Chief Kenny. Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Throughout my life I have not given in to the hopes of receiving anything in return for what I give, but when I do receive something it means a lot to me. I leave you with this Native American quote that speaks of how I feel about my life purpose. Peace.


Source

This is a contest hosted by @ifc and @apolymask, you can check out this amazing initiative here.

Green Border.png

giphy-1.gif

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine Woman in training, first time blogger since November 2017, right here on Steemit, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the Spirit World. If that’s you, please say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

Green Border.png

image

Image credit @yeszuzia & modified by @charisma777

Sort:  

You are a good person don't let nobody tell you different. There shouldn't be anything called random act of kindness, we should all be each other even if you ain't the same race or tribe or religion. The world is be than all those. The world needs more people like you, I'm sure the chief thanked you already, I'm thanking you on his behalf again. Thank you for your act of kindness.

You have my vote for this round.

@addempsea you are so sweet to me such a lovely message. i am very honored by your response and screaming with joy that you voted for me. i greatly appreciate your kind words and will always uphold to this standard of life. i am thankful that you see me. hugs.

You are a beautiful soul. May your blessings always be many. <3

awwww you are so very kind UW! thank you so much for stopping by and sending me such sweet words. i love it! :)

What a beautiful and thoughtful post, Eagle.

I can vouch for your kindness and generosity of spirit. What you did for Chief Kenny is wonderful.

I can't understand why people get so stuck on the idea that Marijuana is wrong. It's a natural and wonderful plant with great healing properties. I use it for pain sometimes and well the side effects aren't so bad either :P My uncle had terminal cancer and cannabinoids actually reversed this!

Anyway, keep up the good works.

Love

SIGNATURE.png

anj! my girl came back! :)
you're gonna make me cry too!! thank you so much for your kind words. i felt your love right there and thank you.
yeah they sure do get stuck on it, not sure why a native american would tho. lol
oh good that you can get it for pain ... and side effects welllll ahahahahaahh :p
yes i totally agree with the cancer thing ... its great stuffffff

thanks for the support.
love
eagle

You're very welcome, Eagle. It's always a joy to read your positivity <3

SIGNATURE.png

i appreciate that, coming from you. :)

Wow that is some powerful healing. It's also wonderful that you do so much to help others, what an inspiration. Also I hear marijuana isn't really a drug :P. It's magic.

yes sir! if you or anyone you ever know need it, come on over to colorado for an amazing experience. :)
thank you E for your kind support and encouragement. it is greatly appreciated.
mauahahahahhahah re:

Also I hear marijuana isn't really a drug :P. It's magic.

hot mess!! :p

Wow, eagle!!! I know I have said it many times when I read your post that you are an inspiration, but let me say this again that you are an influential inspiration. I too wrote something about kindness recently to random strangers and felt a bit discouraged but your post has sent so much courage back to me. I get quite frustrated with Luke 6:35 quite often especially when I feel I am helpless to be kind when people get on my nerves. At times, I feel like I'm forcing myself too to ALWAYS be nice and kind, because this verse says so.

However, I still believe in kindness and want to let it come out of me naturally for I wanna try as much as I can to lean to the innate nature of humankind - kindness. I think I have to let God enable me. Thank you. You did an awesome job for your Chief. I always love your heart and spirit! 💓

I am resteeming this for my own personal reminder. Your conviction is very strong and I need to hear this again and again.

Happy!!! thank you so very much for your sweet ways and sharing in such a lovely thought on how you feel re the scripture. i am honored that you feel this way about me as i do about you. :)
i'm so glad that i was able to bring courage back to you, that made me tear up a bit.
my suggestion is to be yourself, if you are not feeling nice then do not force yourself. i am quite sure
you are a very gentle and kind person, i just feel it. sometimes we are not kind and thats okay too.
you are so kind happy, it really touched my heart reading your comment. i am tearing up as i type this. i felt it and you are my angel, always.
thank you again for your resteem and support.

As I grew older it became natural to be a public servant and help not only in my career but also as a volunteer in the community

They always say with age comes wisdom... helping others is just one way we grow as a person.

Goldie!! where ya been girl! all over the place i presume? mauahahahah
miss you !!
hopefully, i have a few aunts and uncles that are not so kind or wise. just sayin. sometimes people who age dont learn a D thing. XD

I am so glad you could help him out, to lose a leg would have been devastating. I like to pay it forward where I can and have paid for people fuel more than once when they have forgotten their wallets etc.

i couldn't believe the dr told him that! i mean who says that? lol
the chief told me and i thought he was joking. smh
glad you are doing your part!

What a great deed to do ES! You always have the heart of helping others. ^^ Glad that the chief is okay now and is out of danger.

ah thank you DS! :)
really appreciate your support and kindness. i was finally able to get to your post to give it some love back.
i followed two curation trails and it jacked up my account! eeeekkkkk

Don't worry ES! We've been busy up and about. :) I'm following a curation trail as well and I know you'll drop by when you can! hugs xxx

okay gotcha. what curation trail? do you notice a dropping in your vp and are you getting much of a return?

I'm following the Hive! I'm there to give moral support and try out other communities. :) As far as return, that I'm not sure. My VP is way too low because I upvote loads.

ah gotcha yeah thats a lot slower in suckimg vp than curie or crytopus

I subscribe to Ephesians 4:32 as well, but it can be difficult especially in the midst of anger or having a bad day in this case. That being said, I love your story. What is a sweat if you don't mind me asking?

oh nice! :)
yes it can be totally difficult at times, its just about doing what our path leads us to do. i so appreciate your kind support!
a sweat is a ceremony for healing. there are four rounds in the one i attend. many cultures have sweats and are done differently.
the intention of the native american sweat is to heal the self, earth, universe, and others. it is a way of purification. typically there is a teepee like structure and steem with coal and fire are entered and fasting.
the one i attend is held in ancient caves and we all sing healing songs.
then if someone from the tribe is in need of healing then they are blessed with a healer by using water, steam and a healing fan. its amazing. the belief is that we all have the ability to heal our self. :)
thank you for the good question.

All these shares come to learn a lot of us.

i'm sorry i do not understand your sentence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87