IFC S1 R40 ---> How To "Help Steem," By @EagleSpirit

in #ifc6 years ago (edited)

Help Steem


image
Source


This is the last contest for Season One in the Information Finding initiative. As usual, Eagle Spirit came late to the party but that does not mean she lost. For those of you who are not familiar with this amazing contest, that I call the Olympics of contests, there were 40 different contests without a particular theme or order and created by the @ifc team.

The team consisted of @ifc, @apolymask, @charisma777 with the support of artwork created by @yeszuzia and then came the support team that included @ats-david, @timcliff, @krnel, @steemcommunity, @nxtblg, and @soundlegion. In addition, @davemccoy has lent a helping hand. All of this took a team and the work that has been produced has been amazing.

In my short time on board I have seen the creativity of @charisma777, @irvinesimages, @jimramones, @iexplore, @artemisnorth, @jbreheny, and many more. I quite literally have found my creative group that is beyond words, and reaches out to help anyone in need. For this, this group has my undying loyalty.

Since we are on our last contest challenge of the season, this one had me stumped. It has been quite the challenge indeed. To help Steem.

The exact wording from @apolymask are:

What you think the biggest challenge(s) for Steem are, and also please include any potential solutions as well.

As I was trying to come up with a way to help Steem, I almost gave up thinking that might just take a genius and that wasn't me. Then as I read over some blogs these past few days there has been something that we all know is going on and that are the whales continuously monopolizing Steem, and we may go even further and realize well it could also be those taking advantage on this platform each and every day by over-botting.

Let me clarify by stating over-botting not botting in general. There are those that bot as a tool, me being one and then there are those that continuously over-bot anywhere from $25 to $200 USD.


The Challenges With Steem



Source


Whether we want to admit it or not many of us see that the game is tilted in the early creators of Steem's favor. They pretty much run the value of Steem, upvote their blogs or comments and the list goes on. We also see ro(bots) that were either created by them or community groups. The flagging wars have seemed to have died down some, but I still get planktons and minnows telling me they are getting down voted by a whale or fatty dolphin. This type of behavior is disturbing to say the least.

Many on the Steemit platform call this type of behavior greed or a form of me-ism, masked by the excuse of "keeping the platform clean or tipped too far" in favor of those already with the most power. So many of us who do not feel this type of thinking is healthy have stated their perspectives. Some stay quiet and pray it will all pass, some are calm, and others cry out for justice. There are those like myself who have made comments to the point of getting someone upset, maybe never to be heard from again, or they make decisions based on our voiced opinion in the background.

The arguments exist yet there may be not much we can do, it is easy to feel discouraged by this type of behavior and I have seen many give up and leave. For this challenge, I fall back on a couple of suggestions by some of the people I look up to, and here they are.


Possible Solutions


image
Source


If there is anything I have learned from many years working in the legal field and that is we must work as a team. What type of team you might ask? According to Forbes the type of team we would need to have is a solution orientated team with the following qualifications:

  • Hire The Best

  • Set A Good Example

  • Coach In Real Time

Therefore, those that wish to make a change we all must keep these three factors in mind when trying to instill a solution. As a community we as a whole need to be the best, set a good example, and coach others or mentor in real time or as it happens.

Touching on the definition of greed or me-ism, I will give credit to @TaskMaster from his post As A Microcosm Of The World: Self Focused Versus Community Focused, the basic explanation of the solution from Task is to be more in line with community instead of self-absorbed. Think of the many instead of self and inner circle few.

Further, @TaskMaster gives us a blog that breaks down reports given to us daily by Witness @arcange in his post Whales Are Losing Their Power....The System Is Not Broken...Report through 5/31/2018, wherein he states that the Steemit platform is actually working and the power is in actuality moving towards the smaller fish on the platform.

Another group I recently joined is @TheAlliance with @EngineWitty and it's groups like these that work together in a teamwork atmosphere seeking quality content and people to be a "family." His new bot initiative @alliedforces assists with helping many groups with the the main three characteristics stated above; seeking the best, setting a good example, and coaching or mentoring in real time. As mentioned earlier these three factors create success not only with Steem but in every day life.

Are we all a Task Master or Engine Witty? Maybe not, but that does not mean we should not try. Many times a day I hear the woe is me of resigning one self to being the outcast or poor person in the group. Why not meditate on the positive and assist in making this change happen? Take up the main three factors above, take action by being a part of the community, and get to work.

For the majority, I meet go getters or those that want to see how I have gotten to where I have on this platform, and maybe that is because ever since I arrived in November 2017, I have worked my tuchus off. Simply, I do not kiss up so that was out, I had never written a blog before so I had a lot of catching up to do, and I needed to relay my own creativity into comprehensible writing. Long story short, nothing has been handed to me, I worked for it.

The solution part of this blog post started with law, and I'd like to share how Native American tribes handle legal situations. As taken from the Indigenous Justice System:

The indigenous justice paradigm is based on a holistic philosophy and the world view of the aboriginal inhabitants of North America. These systems are guided by the unwritten customary laws, traditions, and practices that are learned primarily by example and through the oral teachings of tribal elders. The holistic philosophy is a circle of justice that connects everyone involved with a problem or conflict on a continuum, with everyone focused on the same center. The center of the circle represents the underlying issues that need to be resolved to attain peace and harmony for the individuals and the community. The continuum represents the entire process, from disclosure of problems, to discussion and resolution, to making amends and restoring relationships. The methods used are based on concepts of restorative and reparative justice and the principles of healing and living in harmony with all beings and with nature.

I share this with the Steemit community, since so many countries and peoples are represented on this platform, we all have our own ideas of how things might be run. There is quite a bit of turmoil in the political climate worldwide, it's how we have all been raised. Teamwork is sometimes considered political, it's almost in everything we do. Philosophies of how we should think, speak, and act.

The main point I would like to leave with is, overcoming greed or the me-ism is "attaining peace and harmony for individuals and community." Thinking of others before ourself, taking others into consideration, having kindness, and giving instead of taking. Following the three characteristics of a solution oriented team, and taking responsibility for our own actions is how we can Help Steem.

The question I leave you with is will you be a part of the solution orientated team? Peace.

ES logo.png

Greetings,
Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a First Nation member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Medicine woman in-training, first time blogger since November 2017, (right here on Steemit), paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the Mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, energy work, and the spirit world. Additionally, I'm the creator of #medicinecardmonday, so if you are interested in receiving a Native American blessing stop by my blog every Monday, or just say hello!
See you soon, @eaglespirit

image
Original by @yeszuzia and modified by @charisma777

Sort:  

You have definitely shared some great ways to help Steem! Being apart of Steemit for almost 2 years now, I know for sure that the best way to be a team player IS to think about Community before ourselves. You hit it right on the money. In order for this plattform to succeed that’s what it’s gonna take...but everyone has to do their part.

Thanks for this post!

@crosheille thank you so much !!! your comment means a lot to me, especially because you have been around that long? really ?? i thought the platform was only up since jan 2017? wow. hehe
i am so so happy you confirmed this for me. yes for sure everyone has to do their part, its wont happen if we do not. blessings!

You’re so welcome! Yes the Steemit plattform was first launched in March of 2016...I joined fouur months later in July ;)

@crosheille wow!! are you a whale?? i haven't even looked but i've been sending more business your way with your monday initiative. :)

Oh no, I wish but not even close. I didn’t become very active until 2017 so a lot of time went by that I wish I could get back. I hope someday to become a whale! 😄

Thanks so much I appreciate that. Our little community has grown quite a bit ;)

@crosheille woulda been sweet right? i wonder if you had what you would be now? they say everyone knew each other back then and thats how they are all so close now. bad to dwell in the past but i wonder if you would be a whale had you stayed active. glad your initiative is growing, as is mine. i wish i knitted and like i said jan and others from the marketplace in two groups of mine have asked for names and i gave them yours and artemisnorths. glad you have your thing! :)

Yes it would have been so sweet. But I am experiencing that too. I am very close to the Steemians I grew with and we have watched each other improve and get better with our blogging techniques. I do wonder sometimes but I am glad I am here now and am pleased with where I am at and who I am connected with. 😊

I’m glad your initiative is growing too~

thats super nice to hear, its always good to be happy with what we have. you look super glowy and adorable btw with baby girl coming! i wish you much happiness.

Darn. Excellent entry. I'm about half way through and I don't wanna read the whole thing till I go back and finish the other rounds, especially as my eyes have been tired the last few days and I need to try to be careful with how much I stare at screens reading.. But just reading like half of what you had to say and I'm vibing with it a lot! This entry feels like a round winner, though admittedly I haven't read most if not all of the other entries for this round so I dunno what to expect.. But just wanted to leave a little feedback now and then I'll leave another comment later when I finish reading it.. Thanks for the awesome entry! It's been a pleasure having you around and some of the things you said about the IFC in this post were really humbling, and awesome to hear. I'm glad you feel like you've found a good community with us, I'm sure I'm not alone when I say that we're similarly happy to have you with us. :) <3

@apolymask did you say darn? hehe
thank you for telling me "excellent entry" but i wont hold my breath since you didnt read it all and yes we do not know if that is your final conclusion. hehe
so sorry you have been tired, are you getting rest? i hope so, remember the message!
thank you for the feedback since i am happy to always hear what others feel.
yes IFC is awesome, and its growing fast too. it's going to be amazing. one of my most fav places really. :)

This is an awesome entry. I think you addressed the problems most honestly and effectively and also kindly as well. I like how you asked the question to the reader if they would be a part of the solution at the end! I think that's super important and one of the main reasons I decided that I'm voting for you for this round. The end really caught me, and I think that is the solution.. For everyone to look in the mirror, unfortunately some of these people who are benefiting too much, don't wanna do that. Though truly, what we have here is an opportunity to create a new better system for people that could help the state of the world a lot, yet unfortunately we're still plagued by a lot of the same greed and problems as in the old system.
I think in time though.. Perhaps the odds will shift like the link you included mentioned.
Oh and also, I really appreciated what you said about the IFC peoples. Very grateful to have you as a part of our community and looking forward to growing into the future together. :)
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Excellent entry! :D

thank you so much dear poly,
i really appreciate your feedback ... and that you liked the questions at the end.
yes to be part of the solution instead of the problem, you got it!
i agree about those that are benefitting arent looking in the mirror for sure, and just harming others.
yes in time, many of us will hopefully assist in making the change.
thank you again and blessings!

You have my vote for round 40😄

It truly is up to each one of us to ensure a healthy platform, off we disagree on a talking point offer your solution and allow the ego to dissipate. There are plenty of issues on and off the platform and your points here are not only to help steem but to help people as a whole! Thank you for your entry👽 good luck👽

wooo hooooo thank you so much!!

Great post, @eaglespirit.
I especially like the part of setting a good example. I like to think that a lot of the people who are minnows today are doing just that: setting a good example (at least, that’s what I want to do), so we’ll be raising a whole new generation of Steemians who will value positive things over negztive things. The bigger we all grow, the more influence we’ll be getting, and maybe, just maybe, we’ll be able to shift things around some day.
Call me a dreamer, but what does one have without hopes ;0)

@simplymike very happy you stopped by and read this, i appreciate your support very much. setting a good example is very important, i see many that talk but behind the scenes do something entirely different. so being true in action, deed, etc. is essential. i also agree that if there are more like us then yes we will be able to "raise" the new generation to be true too. i love that "shift" things around some and no i feel the exact same way so if you are dreaming i am too! :) here's to hope. blessings, eagle

Well written post Eaglespirit, you got to put the effort in if you want to succeed at anything. This platform is no different.

@silverd510 yay! so glad you read this and lend your support. it means a lot to me and i thank you very much. i am in total agreement that this platform is no different.

Not sure how I missed this, you are amazing yourself Miss Eagle. Think I'm jealous because you're putting out so many fantastic posts😋🤗😘😎

no jelly, no jellyyyyy!!

that means its thursday! :)

you have my vote for this round.

thanks so much! :)

Some great ideas here for getting Steemit back on an more level playing field. You've definitely put some thought into it.

PS: Love the new logo!

@musicapoetica thanks so much for your confirmation! i appreciate the positive feedback so much. yay the logo, yeah he did a great job! :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78