There's so much energy in us! - IFC S2R1 - A tribute to Cloud Cult

in #ifc5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to the Information Finding Contest Season 2 Round 1. I have no idea what I am doing so keep that in mind. The story goes that after capturing the ship of some invading grey aliens, we are now exploring the universe! This post is a musical tribute to one of my favorite bands, Cloud Cult, and includes 5 songs from their inspiring 2010 album, Light Chasers. I include the lyrics of the songs in italics, non-italics is me.


PART 1:

Constantly searching out into the unknown, boldly facing frozen emptiness is a compelling and confident crew of travelers eager to learn about the universe. Immediately I set to work seeing how we can grow food in space to sustain ourselves for our long voyage. Surely we have sufficient supplies in the meantime while the implementation of the investigation is ongoing.

Eager to find other expressions of life across the vast expanse, and perhaps entire empty worlds to reforest! My head is filling up with ideas already.


We've been searching for our whole lives.
And we have traveled through unexplainable stories.
Swear to God I fought the good fight,
always waiting for the coming of morning.
And I heard the Captain say, I heard the Captain say,
"The more I know, the less I'm knowing."
And I heard the Captain say, I heard the Captain say,
"Activate your force-fields and just keep going..."


PART 2:

The Oort cloud is our first obstacle:

It is filled with sharp and icy objects, comets and other flying metallic minerals travelling thousands of miles per hour. It could be a dangerous place, but for us outward bound voyagers it is just a phase through which we shall travel.

WE ARE EXPERIENCING INTERFERENCE!


PART 3:

magellanic-clouds.png

On the journey to the center
They asked what I was looking for.
I said, "It's not that easy to explain.
I'm kind of wondering why we have to play the guessing game."

On the journey to the center,
I asked what I was looking for.
They said, "It's far too easy too explain:
It is what it is. You are what you are. Just try to enjoy your day"


PART 4:

The key to it all is energy.

It is unknown 'how long' we have been travelling, if time has any meaning at all out here. Back on Digita, hundreds of years may have passed, but we have been traveling at such velocities where time is harder to measure. And at the end of the day, which we don't have either, it's really energy that matters, not time.

The issue isn't good vs. evil nor life vs. death, its really life vs. entropy. Life traps energy in a loop, a life loop in this case instead of a time loop. The energy passes from living thing to living thing, never succumbing to entropy all the while it is being torn apart by entropy! It is said that no combination of forces can put humpty dumpty back together again, but life has provided us with living, egg making machines.

spacerooster.jpg

We said, "There's nothing wrong."
We put a strong face on.
And go right through it.

Please say it can't be done.
Cuz that's just fuel for me to just prove this yeah, you'll see.
That's just fuel for me to just do this, yeah, you'll see.
We have so much energy that you can't see.

We'll blow right through it.
Please say you can't help me.
Cuz that's just fuel for me to just prove this, yeah, you'll see.
That's just fuel for me to just do this, yeah, you'll see.

I'm gonna make it through, you'll see.
I swear I'll prove you wrong.
You haven't seen the last of me.
I am way too strong.
It's not impossible, you'll see.
You've never been inside my head.
Ten billion burning suns and belief in a strength that can raise the dead.

It's the warmth when you're next to me.
It's the bright white light of a fevered dream.
It's the storm in your eyes.
It's in the roots of the tree.
The underestimated power of the forces of the unseen.


Part 5

And thus we continue to search, into the vastness of the blackness of the unknown. There is energy in the space between atomic particles.

We live in the space between atomic particles. We are energy.

A million years it's been, since the search began.
Still can't find it. Still can't find it.
The fuel is nearly spent. Check the maps again.
Can't let go of it. Can't let go of it.
Now the crew is cold and drunk on chemicals.
Can't believe in it. Can't believe in it.
And I heard the captain say, I heard the captain say,
"We' re so close to it, so very close to it.

We still have energy in us."

We feel our hearts break as the engines fade.
Still need to find it. Still need to find it.
So we took the written words of our philosophers,
and built a fire from it. Let's get those engines lit.
We took the church's veil and built a mighty sail.
to carry forth this ship. but we're still losing it.
And I heard the captain say, I heard the captain say,
"We' re so close to it, so very close to it.

We still have energy in us."

The mission's over now, and my breath is running out.
Can't let go of it, can't let go of it.
I didn't mean what I said, I didn't mean what I said.
I love you more than this. I love you more than this.
Then lights they fill the air, or were they always there?
I finally see it. I finally see it.
And I heard the captain say, I heard the captain say,
"You're always close to it, so very close to it."

There's so much energy in us.

Sort:  

Hi @ecoinstant, just stopping by on my PassionSeven77 curation plan to upvote and check out your amazing post.

I've just drank a pint of coffee so my mind was a little jangly to take in the awesome story you painted in the 5 parts of this story. But, one passage struck me profoundly:

The issue isn't good vs. evil nor life vs. death, its really life vs. entropy. Life traps energy in a loop, a life loop in this case instead of a time loop. The energy passes from living thing to living thing, never succumbing to entropy all the while it is being torn apart by entropy!

There is a beautiful duality in that passage of prose that spun my mind into a myriad of different paths in regards to ideas for sci fi stories.

Thanks for the inspiration buddy and also I listened to the first song by Cloud Cult while reading, great music accompaniment.


If you want to read more about what I’m doing with PassionSeven77 curation plan, and why, check out this post:

https://steemit.com/dtube/@raj808/hcu2nbo9

P.s. this isn’t spam, I’m not after votes on that post, it just explains why I’m doing the rounds to vote people who created Znap7 posts for NathanMars project every day 🙂

That was really awesome.. I didn't know what to expect at first.. And I was surprised in a good way. The music is great, it really hit me deep. The last song even made me a lil emotional, really vibed with the lyrics and all of the songs have an excellent spacey futuristic feel to them.

I also really appreciated your own storyline that you added.. This part really made me think..

The issue isn't good vs. evil nor life vs. death, its really life vs. entropy. Life traps energy in a loop, a life loop in this case instead of a time loop. The energy passes from living thing to living thing, never succumbing to entropy all the while it is being torn apart by entropy! It is said that no combination of forces can put humpty dumpty back together again, but life has provided us with living, egg making machines.

Deeeeep.. Still pondering it, though I think I sorta get it.. Reminds me of that quote or scientific idea that.. "Nothing is destroyed it just changes form" whether true or not and how anyone can prove that 100% I don't know, but that saying has meant a lot to me for a long time and I'd like to think it's true.

My only real critique is this part.

It is unknown 'how long' we have been travelling, if time has any meaning at all out here. Back on Earth, hundreds of years may have passed, but we have been traveling at such velocities where time is harder to measure.

I assume you were creating a sort of short story about our IFC world? If so, our old planet was called Digita, not Earth. But.. You're new and I didn't mention that in the first season post so the only way you could have known is if you were around for the first season and remembered it.

Major props.. You just made my voting for this round much for difficult to pick, lol. Thanks though, this entry was very meaningful and powerful for me in a way I can explain or properly describe because of personal stuff going on in my life. Excellent first entry into the contest and I'm glad you joined us. :) Even if for just one round, but I hope to see you around more in the future! Cheers! <3

Thank you for this detailed response! I have edited our planet name to Digita!

I think you'll see me again :)

You're welcome! And glad to hear that we'll hopefully see you again. :) Your entry was superb and also the surprise you told me about on discord the other day was awesome to hear as well! Cheers man!

I loved everything about this entry! It surely is an adventure!!!! The music is beautiful and I absolutely loved the journey you took me through today!Thank you and good luck!!!

huh?
old fart

i think we need to talk

Hi @ecoinstant!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.539 which ranks you at #1905 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #197.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16