A Curation For Kindness - IFC S1: R33 - Entry

in #ifc6 years ago (edited)

When I first saw the subject of the IFC S1: R33 - Catch Up round - Kindness I thought back to a few acts of kindness I had done in my life and thought about posting those but the challenge was to go out and do an act of kindess and then post about it. I wracked my brain for several minutes to come up with something creative and yet undeniably kind. Then it occurred to me that I had recently witnessed an incredible act of kindness recently on Steemit and Discord. This incredible act of kindness, nay ACTS of kindness as there were many who came to the call, is what I have chosen to write about.

pixabaydotcom.jpg

I will be linking to posts by other authors in this post and I have (3) simple rules for curating on this post. These rules will be listed at the bottom of the post.

Eighteen days ago @lynncoyle1 posted a profound and heart wrenching post to her husband @briancourteau which gave us a brief glimpse into their struggle. Tonight I Gave The Love Of My Life Permission To Die.

Three days later in an incredible act of kindness @davemccoy wrote the following post after discovering that Brian was looking to sell some SBD to get money for his much needed medication Does Anyone Want To Help. Dave saw an alternative way for Brian to receive the money he needed for his medication.

Just two days later Dave did a follow up post Did Anyone Want To Help: A Resounding Yes. This post shows the incredible members of a community and how they came together in the time of Brians need.

Today (May 5th, 2018) Brian once again showed incredible bravery by sharing this post... The Cancer And Too Much Pain.

My hope in writing this is that we can all create a little more kindness by following @davemccoys lead.

Thank you Brian and Lynn for being brave enough to share your story with such incredible candor!

Thank you Dave for being a shining example of kindess!

So with all of that being said here are my (3) simple rules for curating this post.

  1. Feel free to comment but do not upvote this post. I am asking that all upvotes go to the following post instead... The Cancer and Too Much Pain
  2. Please share this post in other Discord channels where there are others who may be looking to do a random act of kindness.
  3. Most importantly, send thoughts of comfort and joy to @briancourteau and @lynncoyle1.

I would personally like to thank everyone who responded to Daves call as it is always great to see humanity in action.

Image provided by pixabay.com

Sort:  

I think this is great!!! @lynncoyle1 is one of My favorite steemians i hate that get and Brian have to go through this and wish i could take all their pain away and turn it into time! That way they never had to let go. I have learned so much not only about the story of their lives and their love they share, but I've learned that this community no matter what happens there are connections being made that I've never seen before online! Thank you for this act of kindness!!! You are awesome!

Aww thank you so much @charisma777; that is such a sweet thing to say! I think you're pretty awesome yourself :)

Thank you!! It's true😊i admire your strength

Hey @, great post! GOOD
I enjoy your content Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see nice content on Steemit! :)

What a wonderful thing to do @jbreheny! I'm honored that you mentioned me as an example of kindness, and I agree that in helping both Brian and Lynn is something that makes me happy to say that I'm a member of this community called steemit! :)

You are the epitome of kindness based on what you've accomplished for Brian and Lynn @davemccoy. Don't worry, your bad boy rep is still intact. Some bad boys do the greatest deeds.

haha @jbreheny! Way to jump to Dave's rescue! @beeyou, the boys are gangin' up here now :)

Us bad boys gotta have each others back.

hahaha yes you do!!

I saw that you have been feeling a little under the weather Lynn, I hope you're feeling better now.

Oh that's nice @jbreheny! Thank you. It was a 24 hour thing and I'm back up and running in tip top shape again :)

Glad to hear you are feeling better Lynn. Take care and stay away from the drinking water down there.

that gets an upvote for sure!!! Thank you for the assist, I was getting teamed up on! :)

And that deserves an upvote right back at ya. Unfortunately mine are total dust. I've got to figure out how to get those things worth something.

check out my latest post... it covers that exact topic! ;)

Perfect, I will definitely check that out. Plus, I'll give it an upvote and maybe it'll actually be a semi powerful one.

Lookit you two girls conniving in the corner together!! :) @jbreheny, that includes you buddy ;)

I think so too Dave! You are a perfect example of what kindness looks like :)

awe... that is very sweet of you... thank you Lynn!

You're welcome! I mean it :)

:) ...I better be careful, that bad boy image might get shattered

haha it's long gone I'm afraid Dave :)

I don’t know why he tries so hard to be that Bad Boy McCoy. Nowhere close

haha I agree! He's too button-down cute for that :)

Well this is certainly something you never had to ask my permission to do :)

What a beautifully kind thing you are doing here @jbreheny!! Brian and I appreciate it so very much. It has been another tough day in our life, but again the outpouring of love and support by people such as yourself has been unbelievably awesome!

Thank you again!

Well I wish I could say it would get Brians post a million upvotes but I hope it helps and it certainly felt right to put down in words.

Even if it doesn't go past you and I commenting here, it will be worth that million upvotes in my eyes :)

Very kind of you to say. I'm glad I was able to bring a smidgen of comfort.

You brought more than a smidgen :) Thank you so much again!

The ophumanangels tag may bring added exposure.

Thank you @novacadian, I will look into that.

Feel free to comment but do not upvote this post. I am asking that all upvotes go to the following post instead...

You both deserve more than votes for your kindness @jbreheny
@lynncoyle1

And @briancourteau

You show a great deal of kindness here @jbreheny. A great example of how our community should behave.

I am afraid though i have to half-break the first rule, but i hope keeping the second and third makes up for that!

Thank you @mirrors, I appreciate that and I'm certain both Brian and Lynn do as well.

I know. Just know we all have them at heart.

An admirable entry indeed. Thank you. By the way I wanna give you a full upvote really bad and I already gave them one, but I'll respect your request.

I appreciate the sentiment @apolymask and thank you for giving the upvote to Brian!

aww thank you @apolymask! I even wanted to upvote this post really badly too ;)

You got a 42.11% upvote from @cabbage-dealer courtesy of @cryptkeeper17!
100% of earnings are paid out to delegators daily! Delegate today!

I think all other comments here already show why im voting for you so i need not to explain why i voted all i want to say is thank you for bringing people to help brian and i give everyone here who helped my best thanks and i wish this community well anyways great work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23