For The Love Of A Good Woman! IFC S2R9

in #ifc5 years ago

Ah, love! One of my favorite things. Love can mean so many different things and comes in a variety of sizes and flavors. Love provides us comfort and it provides us joy. The love we feel for a family member or the love we feel for a dear friend. No two loves are the same. The way I love my children is different than the love I feel for my wife. Not to mention, I LOVE me a good burrito.

But I digress, this is a post about love or more specifically, the love of a good woman.

Back in 1998 when I first started courting my wife (aka dating for all you young'uns), I started writing her poems. That's how I reeled her in. She's such a sucker. A few years ago I self-published the poems I wrote to her and put it up on Amazon.com.

The Heart Sings Love

The Heart Sings.jpg

Eventually, she finally got around to marrying my sorry ass. This was back in 2005. About 2 months before we got married I wrote a song called "I Do" and with the help of two great co-workers, I was able to record the song and package it up as a CD which we gave out to our guests at the wedding (I'm such a cheap bastard!)

Upon seeing the IFC's Round 9 post I decided to post the song on Youtube and post it for your listening pleasure.

A special thanks to Mike Polito for recording the song and providing the drum tracks and to Susan Griepp for the incredible artwork.

And, oh yeah, I almost forgot... Thank you to my lovely wife Julia for providing the inspiration and being such a good woman!

Sort:  

Ah, love! One of my favorite things. Love can mean so many different things and comes in a variety of sizes and flavors. Love provides us comfort and it provides us joy. The love we feel for a family member or the love we feel for a dear friend. No two loves are the same. The way I love my children is different than the love I feel for my wife. Not to mention, I LOVE me a good burrito.

Well said.. I highly concur. And.. I also love me a good burrito as well. :)

Eventually, she finally got around to marrying my sorry ass. This was back in 2005. About 2 months before we got married I wrote a song called "I Do" and with the help of two great co-workers, I was able to record the song and package it up as a CD which we gave out to our guests at the wedding (I'm such a cheap bastard!)
Upon seeing the IFC's Round 9 post I decided to post the song on Youtube and post it for your listening pleasure.

That's awesome. I love your story and I love the song you shared. It's a great tune and it gave me the feels and brought back some powerful memories in my life.

It's inspiring to see how things work out for you, and seeing your chemistry in the YouTube video I watched from the last challenge was great. That must be a very loving experience to have and I wish you both all the best forever into the future!

Excellent entry. It hit me on a very deep level and made me think a lot. Love is such an important thing and I think if you're lucky enough to meet someone who you can spend the rest of your life with like that then that is one of the greatest gifts you can experience. Cheers friend. <3

Congratulations @jbreheny! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

How did you know that poetry was going to do the trick? And I didn't think recording and producing CDs is a cheap exercise at all - good on you for making your wedding such a personal celebration!

I had absolutely no idea it would do the trick. I know for sure it wasn't my fashion sense that did it. Thank you for the kind comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19